Mega Thread Senior Coach Discussion - Neeld v the alternatives

I'd give Neeld to the end of the year as well. If there's improvement by the end of the year, then keep him. If we go further backwards, then dump him.
Right, just to sidetrack a little. Not sure if it'll actually happen, but Eddie McGuire may be leaving Collingwood after Harry O's statements, and other external pressures over his remarks.

GET HIM TO MELBOURNE IF HE DOES!

End.
I'd rather get rid of Harry personally. I'd be stoked if he came to the Dees, but he's a passionate Collingwood supporter and I can't see him going to another club.

The media in isolated articles can be just printing crap.. But when every news outlet is reporting it, then there is certain some credibility to the 'noise' and how could there not be.. We have lost all respect from our peers and have stagnated something shocking.

Neeld will more than likely be cut loose at the end of the Hawthorn match and hopefully we move in the right direction from here.. Not sure we can do anymore 'rebuilds of a rebuild'.

We all love the dees and want to see a brighter future. I really want my kids to follow and support them and there is not a day goes by where i don't dream of seeing a competitive outfit, capable of beating any side on its day. No need to get personal guys, it is a tough time for all at the moment..

I've changed opinion - maybe we don't sack Neeld.

Maybe we surround him with the best possible FD Manager (cya later Josh Mahoney), List Manager (bye Haro!) and Coaches (Royal, Browny... see ya, although maybe Brown goes to a forward line development gig)

Get some experience around him, because as much as he's head coach he needs to learn as well.

I think we could get Watts, Sylvia and Frawley to stay.

Maybe we surround him with the best possible FD Manager (cya later Josh Mahoney), List Manager (bye Haro!) and Coaches (Royal, Rawlings, Browny... see ya, although maybe Brown goes to a forward line development gig)

Get some experience around him, because as much as he's head coach he needs to learn as well.

I'd certainly support this course of action mate. Obviously I've been talking about that for a long while now as being the most immediate and obvious problem within our coaching staff.

And of course, it's also an issue much easier to address than replacing our head coach.

I'd reckon we''ve got a substantially better chance of finding good strong candidates to replace Rawlings and Royal (and perhaps Brown also) without necessarily having to wait until the end of the season to get them.

i don't think neeld should be sacked, i believe he needs the time that we said we would give him. give him his chance he said this is were we are at, if nothing changes at the end of his contract then by all means he will move on. but were melbourne we owe it to stick to our word if the board knows this is were we are ment to be at then lets all give mark neeld his fair go, just let him see it out then the board can do as it pleases.

I still don't see the point sacking Neeld and having one of the assistants caretaker.

Either Monday:

Sack him and make a caretaker take over
or
Don't sak him and say that you will stick by him until the end of the year and if it's still shithouse he is arsed!!

Have to give you large amounts of respect for your staunch support for Neeld big fella. Even I've been having trouble supporting him but your commitment to the cause hasn't wavered. :thumbsu:

The media in isolated articles can be just printing crap.. But when every news outlet is reporting it, then there is certain some credibility to the 'noise' and how could there not be.. We have lost all respect from our peers and have stagnated something shocking.

Neeld will more than likely be cut loose at the end of the Hawthorn match and hopefully we move in the right direction from here.. Not sure we can do anymore 'rebuilds of a rebuild'.

We all love the dees and want to see a brighter future. I really want my kids to follow and support them and there is not a day goes by where i don't dream of seeing a competitive outfit, capable of beating any side on its day. No need to get personal guys, it is a tough time for all at the moment..
You're going to be disappointed.

Have to give you large amounts of respect for your staunch support for Neeld big fella. Even I've been having trouble supporting him but your commitment to the cause hasn't wavered. :thumbsu:
I still advocate footy department changes, just not him.

I am also a crazy person.

I still advocate footy department changes, just not him.

I am also a crazy person.

And you aren't far wrong... on both counts... :thumbsu:

I a g

Maybe we surround him with the best possible FD Manager (cya later Josh Mahoney), List Manager (bye Haro!) and Coaches (Royal, Browny... see ya, although maybe Brown goes to a forward line development gig)

I think we could get Watts, Sylvia and Frawley to stay.
i agree we need experience in the football department to back the coach up, but it is clear that Neeld isn't the right coach.

Neeld let's Moloney leave the club without a fight, trades Gysberts for average key forward and leaves Magner on the rookie list. Then comes out after round 2 and says "we don't have the ball winners, we have jones and his only back up is Viney, we simply don't have the players on our list." Fast forward to round 10 and Magner is dropped. Neeld hasn't learnt a thing from the things he talks about. The guy has to go.

I still don't see the point sacking Neeld and having one of the assistants caretaker.

Either Monday:

Sack him and make a caretaker take over
or
Don't sak him and say that you will stick by him until the end of the year and if it's still shithouse he is arsed!!

You've got to appreciate SYL that some think if he stays on the damage will be far greater than if a move is made sooner rather than later. I have no idea about the inner circle or what really goes on so my opinions are based only on how i feel about what i hear/read in the papers.

*Good senior players leaving, long serving players moved on. (we have no clubs champions leading the way) This started with Bailey, but seemed to continue with Neeld.

*Horrible, horrible trades. ($550K a year for Dawes? Why can't Watts be developed as a forward? Has more skills than Dawes surely.)

*Questionable development of players. (was Toumpas ready to play? Has had no impact, looks scared and confused)

*Questionable list management. (see blackas87 post)

*Questionable game plan. (rubbish zoning)

*21yo Captains. This is one of the most perplexing decisions I've ever seen in sport.

It goes on and on. But really, you know if CFH has lost faith then there is no hope! ;)

Wouldn't say I've totally lost hope... but I'm quickly running out of ways to justify what is going on down at the club.

Nothing wrong with trying to find the positives... ;)

I would rather send him out the door now and try to convince our out of contract players to re sign under the impressions that we are going to rebuild the football department between now and the end of the year to make sure we don't rush our decisions and get the best people in place to take us forward next year. If we wait to the end of the year we will rush our decisions trying to get people in place before other teams do and end up right back where we are at. I say Viney as caretaker, the boys seem to get along well with him! He needs to instill MFC price into the boys!

$550K a year for Dawes?

How many times does it have to be said? 95% minimum cap spend! Who the f*ck else should they be giving the money to? Rohan Bail!?

If you want to whinge about something, whinge about the pick we gave up for him (though, if you do any kind of statistical analysis of drafting you'll likely come to the conclusion that Pick 20 or whatever it was for a premiership tall forward with 6-8 years of service left in him is a good deal).

Whinging about the money is like complaining about where your poo goes when you flush the toilet. It doesn't matter. It has to go, so it goes. If you want to blame someone, blame the AFLPA, not Dawes, and not Neeld. There was no-one else to spend the money on, so we made an attractive offer to the best player available (no doubt his contract is frontloaded to the hilt so the first million is already gone, leaving plenty of space for next years recruits).

I would rather send him out the door now and try to convince our out of contract players to re sign under the impressions that we are going to rebuild the football department between now and the end of the year to make sure we don't rush our decisions and get the best people in place to take us forward next year. If we wait to the end of the year we will rush our decisions trying to get people in place before other teams do and end up right back where we are at. I say Viney as caretaker, the boys seem to get along well with him! He needs to instill MFC price into the boys!
From the outside it seems like we're quickly getting to the point where we have more to lose keeping him & his minions on than any benefits on keeping him on

I would rather send him out the door now and try to convince our out of contract players to re sign

What, those same out of contract players that turn up every week and waddle around the field counting their undeserved match payments while barely breaking a sweat? I say keep Neeld if only so it makes certain that those soft, culture-killing downhill skiers sod off to some club that can teach them a lesson in the reality of professional sport.

Trade Frawley, trade Watts, get two or three good midfielders instead. Sylvia's gone no matter what, I'd say, and frankly who gives a shit?

How many times does it have to be said? 95% minimum cap spend! Who the f*ck else should they be giving the money to? Rohan Bail!?
How about Jared Rivers?

What, those same out of contract players that turn up every week and waddle around the field counting their undeserved match payments while barely breaking a sweat? I say keep Neeld if only so it makes certain that those soft, culture-killing downhill skiers sod off to some club that can teach them a lesson in the reality of professional sport.

Trade Frawley, trade Watts, get two or three good midfielders instead. Sylvia's gone no matter what, I'd say, and frankly who gives a shit?

Well I'd much prefer Frawley and Watts over Neeld...What midfielders and going to want to come to us?

And Mark Neeld teaching the realities of professional sport? He made to comment 'I don't think the effort was too bad' After we got smashed by 90 points....If that's his idea of an ok effort then he is a liability!

Hence the rest of my previous statement was getting the right coaching team built between now and the end of the year and have Viney caretaker to coach to try and instill some pride in the jumper, maybe those mediocre players might just turn their effort around over the remaining rounds.

Lyon saying Gerard Healy had a direct link to the current board long before Greg came on board. Also saying if (hint hint) one of them has been leaking about Neeld to Gerard Healy then its a disgrace.

Interesting, I haven't seen Lyon make a cutting statement like that about the club before. I think he genuinely smells something and I agree it is a disgrace if one of the board members has been blabbing to outsiders. Regardless of his performance to date Neeld doesn't deserve that rubbish.

I a g
i agree we need experience in the football department to back the coach up, but it is clear that Neeld isn't the right coach.

Neeld let's Moloney leave the club without a fight, trades Gysberts for average key forward and leaves Magner on the rookie list. Then comes out after round 2 and says "we don't have the ball winners, we have jones and his only back up is Viney, we simply don't have the players on our list." Fast forward to round 10 and Magner is dropped. Neeld hasn't learnt a thing from the things he talks about. The guy has to go.
I must admit that this pattern of behavior is concerning, not to mention infuriating.

Current MFC % is 53.5% & GWS is 52.9%. Last year GWS finished on the bottom of the ladder with 46.2% and Gold Coast finished on the bottom with 56.3% in 2011.

Can't find any teams with lower % over the past 10 years. I accept that you can't use one stat to tell a story, but surely this indicates MFC has to make changes. Neeld might be a great guy, but this is about our club. Unfortunately some tough decisions have to be made. Do you think if Carlton, Coll, Ess or Rich were substituted for MFC above that they would be wondering whether to let the coach see out the year. They would act - and although there are no guarantees and we can say they eat their own - something has to change. I fear that if things keep going the way they are - how do we know the AFL isn't thinking about trying to take complete control of MFC from the Board down.

Lyon saying Gerard Healy had a direct link to the current board long before Greg came on board. Also saying if (hint hint) one of them has been leaking about Neeld to Gerard Healy then its a disgrace.

Interesting, I haven't seen Lyon make a cutting statement like that about the club before. I think he genuinely smells something and I agree it is a disgrace if one of the board members has been blabbing to outsiders. Regardless of his performance to date Neeld doesn't deserve that rubbish.

Surprising the board hasn't come under as much scrutiny as Neeld has.

If that is the case, then it is pathetic. The board should be doing it's best to keep that sort of information in-house. The club is unstable enough without idiots blabbing to the media.