Opinion Should The Adelaide Scoreboard Be Moved

Do You want the Adelaide Scoreboard relocated to erect another stand

• Yes - Add another Stand, make the ground complete, relocate Scoreboard - rip those bloody trees out

Votes: 32 36.8%
  • No - We retain the Scoreboard, and not erect another stand - retain those Moreton Bay Fig Trees

Votes: 55 63.2%

Further to my comment above ...there's a concerted push also to pull down Etihad Stadium and start again .....why??

Because, like a new car ....people want a new version more often than ever B4

The Adelaide Oval prior to the last revamp and B4 that the Southern Stand ....remained unchanged for 50-60 years ....never a peep from the public that it needed a modernization

In fact the opposite was the case .....any thoughts of spoiling the Internationally admired Adelaide Oval was met with disdain ......my haven't the times changed

Everyone marvelled at the new Adelaide Oval .....ripping atmosphere, picturesque .....many saying best stadium in the country

Few short years later, Optus is built .....and "keeping up with the jones" mentality kicks in ......it's Football Park all over again

You can't keep building new stadiums every 5 years, because the shiny new toy starts to tarnish a little

Well Optus is a fantastic stadium - easy to get into, easy to get out of. It actually is a magnificent design and reminds me very much of the Roman Colosseum from the movie, Gladiator. I asked the locals what was there before and they advised a public golf course - well they did well to build it, the magnificent precinct around it and it is a very short walk to the city in one direction and casino in the other. If we play in WA next year, I’ll be going back again.

Adelaide Oval has approx 53k capacity, Optus has 60k capacity. Adelaide Oval has 3 entry points and exit points. Optus has more than 6 entry and exit points.

Adelaide Oval from the air looks like a giant dunny seat - these comments have been made by numerous people.

The scoreboard can be moved - it will be eventually. It is just a matter of time. Like most things in Adelaide, it takes awhile for the locals to see the need to modernise.

You can still keep the scoreboard but not where it is now.

Well Optus is a fantastic stadium - easy to get into, easy to get out of. It actually is a magnificent design and reminds me very much of the Roman Colosseum from the movie, Gladiator. I asked the locals what was there before and they advised a public golf course - well they did well to build it, the magnificent precinct around it and it is a very short walk to the city in one direction and casino in the other. If we play in WA next year, I’ll be going back again.

Adelaide Oval has approx 53k capacity, Optus has 60k capacity. Adelaide Oval has 3 entry points and exit points. Optus has more than 6 entry and exit points.

Adelaide Oval from the air looks like a giant dunny seat - these comments have been made by numerous people.

The scoreboard can be moved - it will be eventually. It is just a matter of time. Like most things in Adelaide, it takes awhile for the locals to see the need to modernise.

You can still keep the scoreboard but not where it is now.
Access to and from to ground, entry points aren’t going to change by building on the hill. We are stuck with what we’ve got.
Who cares what it looks like from the air?

Doesn't Adelaide Oval only get a few sellout crowds a year? Both Showdowns, maybe a final, and that's it?

You'd be lucky to get over 50k to any cricket match there except the Ashes

I think it depends a little on how the Crows are travelling and also time slots/teams played. In the last couple of years our "sell outs" have probably dropped because of poor performance, if the Crows pick up, this will improve. However I do believe we're much more stable in this regard than most other clubs.

Our crowds are also impacted by the AFL using us as a "Mr Fixit". If there's a timeslot that clubs typically struggle to get crowds to, the AFL will give it to us, because we do generally get solid crowds no matter the time slot, but it does impact our "sell out" capacity.

Even though the matchday tickets are not always being sold out, the club still has an extensive waiting list for reserve seat memberships.

This has been a problem since Footy Park and sadly was never addressed when Adelaide Oval was redeveloped.

I've been arguing for 65k since day dot and the reason I've been arguing for it is because being stuck at a 50k capacity ground has financially disadvantaged the club in terms of lost membership sales for decades and also restricts the club from being able to grow.

I was always big on a new stadium that could push the 70k mark, in the hope that we could push the AFL on the MCG monopoly of the GF, there was also the issue, as you say Relapse, of increasing our 11 game membership sales.

However, the ⱯFL have clearly nailed their colours to the mast on the MCG/GF issue. Short of a Global pandemic, it ain't going anywhere. We could increase the capacity to 120k and they still wouldn't change it. Its "tradition" (Read: too much of an advantage for the powerhouse Vic clubs for them to let it go... how would Richmond win the 2017 premiership playing an Adelaide Home game at Adelaide's home ground, rather than Richmond's?... :think:)

Whilst I was for a new stadium, I do think they've done a great job with the Adelaide Oval upgrade and it retains a great character and is easily recognisable. That character's not going anywhere and I think adds a lot to the experience of Adelaide Oval. It certainly still shits on anything the eastern seaboard has to offer. As such I'd be very loathe to change any significant.

Optus Stadium may be all slick and shiny at present, but give it a couple of years wear and tear and suddenly it will likely lose some of its big appeal and will be just another concrete stadium.

The Adelaide Oval is the new Southern Express Way. Didn’t have the budget to do it properly at the time. The scoreboard, the hill and the trees are just excuses for not going all in again. Then while we were at it, we built half the footbridge that should have been built. One day we’ll get around to completing the stadium and build the other part of the bridge to the rotunda and a short cut to the East End.

The development would have been in conjunction with the SACA ....so maybe some compromises were made, but I prefer to think the architects sought to retain elements of what made AO unique Internationally

Certainly none of these comments were expressed at the time ......but also why do we need to have every stadium as a replica of others .....I'm a big believer in having a POD ....and that's what we have

If we wanted an Optus Stadium .....that could easily have been done on the existing Football Park location

I’d look at redeveloping the Western Grandstand before the hill / scoreboard.
Access in and around that grandstand is terrible for a modern stadium and protection from the rain in winter is non existent especially at the bottom of the stairs on each end.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Exactly... the Western grandstand can be built to the same height as the Eastern stand & widened to give more capacity.

I know I am going to be shot down for this but...

Yes, time is up.

Its contribution to the game:

It doesn't. The multiple big score boards around the ground with video replays and live action attract the interest of the the supporter, whether cricket or football. I am not saying it can't be part of the ground though. The score board could be moved too between the riverbank stand and the eastern stand, and utilised as part of a SA sports history area.

We could replicate the riverbank stand at the northern end and push over the 60,000 capacity.

As for the cathedral, well if you are paying to look at the parklands then you are wasting your money to begin with.

Not yet.

Adelaide (And Sydney for that matter) have the advantage of separate stands. We can rebuild a lot easier and stay ahead of the curve. You're not going to get that as easily in Melbourne/Perth/Brisbane where it'd just be easier to knockdown and rebuild.

The Western Stand is quite a tad smaller, and tbh, considerably worse facilities.

1st step should be to get rid of that stand and rebuild. Should easily push 60k, maybe even higher.

Once that's done, then I'll listen to doing something at the northern end. But until we're selling it out with a new Western Stand I wont even consider anything at the northern end.

Meh, may have had the GF if we had a stadium with a bigger capacity

People do realise that the reason Perth got the GF was because Adelaide Oval was operating at 50% capacity at the time while Optus Stadium was operating at 100% capacity.

Nothing to do with the scoreboard.

Yes, time is up.

It doesn't. The multiple big score boards around the ground with video replays and live action attract the interest of the the supporter, whether cricket or football. I am not saying it can't be part of the ground though. The score board could be moved too between the riverbank stand and the eastern stand, and utilised as part of a SA sports history area.

We could replicate the riverbank stand at the northern end and push over the 60,000 capacity.

As for the cathedral, well if you are paying to look at the parklands then you are wasting your money to begin with.

The old scoreboard shows the score. Especially during the cricket where it shows a complete snapshot of the game.

This season the scores on the video scoreboard were removed and replaced with advertising, with the score only being reinstated on the big screens mid season after spectator backlash (and even then it was squashed at the top).

Yes, time is up.

I look at it heaps when I’m watching the cricket, and I reckon there’s plenty of actual cricket supporters who do.

I think the first stage should be to replace the Western stand with something that matches the Southern and Eastern.

Then after that you can remove the old scoreboard and close in the stadium properly nudging the capacity over 60k.

Meh old scoreboard. Who gives a rats. Put it somewhere in the precinct to showcase it but it doesn't have a place inside a modern stadium.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Further to my comment above ...there's a concerted push also to pull down Etihad Stadium and start again .....why??

Because, like a new car ....people want a new version more often than ever B4

The Adelaide Oval prior to the last revamp and B4 that the Southern Stand ....remained unchanged for 50-60 years ....never a peep from the public that it needed a modernization

In fact the opposite was the case .....any thoughts of spoiling the Internationally admired Adelaide Oval was met with disdain ......my haven't the times changed

But I think that’s the point. It’s already been spoiled. Might as well finish the job.

People might not like what you’ve written here, but it is simply the truth.

If you go back to when the AO redevelopment was proposed and finalized, budgetary constraints were almost all of the reasons given for everything that was happening.

The state government offered a budgetary ultimatum and the redevelopment was planned in accordance with that.

It is an incomplete stadium with a laughable foot bridge.

All of it is half-assed, and now that Perth has shown it up, people are finally realizing this fact.

I could be wrong, but I feel like the divide here is partly between those who are also cricket fans, and those who aren’t.

As a cricket fan, I think that Adelaide Oval meets the balance between a modern stadium with a great atmosphere, while still retaining some of the old charm and heritage.

Realistically what is the benefit to adding 10-15k to the capacity? Don’t say the GF because we’re not going to get that regardless.

People need to remember that this is something extremely important to the cricket side of the ground, and that Adelaide Oval is still a cricket ground. Cricket has allowed a drop in pitch to support the footy, footy needs to let cricket have this.

The budget had nothing to do with it. SACA had complete control over the vote to redevelop Adelaide Oval. The plan of what adelaide oval looked like was specifically tailored to gain that vote. Especially since many were against removing the turf. Every element of the design was formulated to cater to cricket first. The prestigious SACA membership wanted to see the cathedral during their long lunches in an enclosed board room and between overs, they love the hill and the old score board and the SACA corporates in the Riverbank stand all look over the bowlers arm.

Don't get me wrong, as it is, it serves a purpose, its a great modern and large boutique stadium. Brilliant, I love watching football there. It also has a great atmosphere. Arguably its perfect the way it is for the purpose it was built for.

But....

This is the harsh truth for cricket lovers.

The Adelaide Oval has been refused to be guaranteed test matches in big series over the coming years, not saying it will happen but it might. Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and Perth have been indicated as the preferred options by Cricket Australia leaving us to potentially battle it out with Hobart. Why is this happening for a virtually brand new modern stadium? The open end of the stadium has been inferred to as the issue and the reduced crowd capacity as a result. What's the point in catering everything for cricket when it makes up probably 10% of the entire ground revenue and probably costs the most in maintenance to run? I don't think the SACA and cricket fans can blame people for asking the question as to why we can't and shouldn't rework the ground to attract more events. As it stands, I have no idea why the SACA are playing its 4 day matches at Karen Rolten Oval. Like what the hell is that.

Opinion Should The Adelaide Scoreboard Be Moved