Snoop Dog List Management Analysis inc FA / Draft / Trade

Always like your addition in terms of input Snoop or shall we call you Snoke? Haha

Anyhow, a couple of questions if I may. Not to troll but more so still cutting my teeth with players, club, draft, trade etc.

Firstly, Cox and consider trade. Wasn't there some minor problem with visa if he swapped clubs?

Your recommendation on taking a mid at pick 6 over a KPP, do we need another mid? Or you value this commodity and there can never be enough?

Your position on Mayne? Or proposed solution if any. Given we have to account for all or portion of his salary in our cap even if we move him on.

Lastly, whilst I am not an avocate but understand clubs are bigger than the player especially these days. Would you see any merit in trading Pendles? If so, who would you target?

Other side to this is if we keep Pendles, do you find his best is also as our Captain? If you think he's our best man for the role, why? If not, why so and who would be a formidable successor?
On the Pendles trade its something I think most would consider. The only trade I'd want to do would be pendles+3rd rounder for Lynch+4th rounder (probably over rating pendles there) GCS need experienced mids and quality leaders so its a reasonable trade. I think Brisbane would consider bringing him in for the same reason.
Its difficult to comment on his ability as a leader unless youre within the club but I'd imagine its either him or Steele thats the best fit

I cant see him playing much footy this year.
Maybe. I hope they persist with him in the midfield. Hocking in his first interview with the club stated that he liked to give the players a bit of freedom to play their natural games, so my hope is that will allow Aish to play that role as a receiver behind the stoppage pack that he seemed to excel in at the end of 2016. He has talent, so I can’t find a good reason to let him go for a pack of chips. If we need a salary dump there are other players to throw away for nothing.

So with a total lack of action from a trading POV, where do we seriously improve enough to force our way into the 8?

Still lacking quality KPP, midfield gets smashed regularly, and we're tactically poor.

Assume we've obviously got someone in mind with pick 6, but the young lad isn't exactly going to come in and transform our fortunes overnight.

So, where/how do we improve?

So with a total lack of action from a trading POV, where do we seriously improve enough to force our way into the 8?

Still lacking quality KPP, midfield gets smashed regularly, and we're tactically poor.

Assume we've obviously got someone in mind with pick 6, but the young lad isn't exactly going to come in and transform our fortunes overnight.

The club seem to think with in the list itself, especially from the younger group of players

Still lacking quality KPP
You’d assume something is in the works given we just dumped almost all our KPP depth.
midfield gets smashed regularly
Hopefully a specialist stoppages coach can improve that. On talent our midfield should ba as good as any in the league. Better than most tbh.
and we're tactically poor.
Major area of concern. Unless Buckley can simplify his message to the players and becomes more flexible on game day, I don’t see us making significant improvements in this area under him.

Another year of playing together and becoming a more cohesive unit is the theory, but I’m having difficulty seeing major improvements outside maybe a few individuals in Moore, Maynard and De Goey, and that’s only based on potential.

Who is this Murray that you don't like as a recruit?

Aaarrrggghhh not sure where you got I dont like him from.

Sam Murray who is a Swans rookie and I think will land at Collingwood. Country kid from Swans zone who came as a forward but ended up playing back. Saw some of his run off HB and it was v good. I think Pies might be looking at him for that and its not likely he will get a game in that role with Swans.

Issue for me is when I have seen him his kicking is so-so.

Thanks for that , great info as always

Schache seems a real risk reward option and hard to value. Cox ahead of him currently but who knows going forward. Rolling the dice on him at a reasonble price seems an option

Langdon and Shaz are neck and neck and either could be used in the trade setting. I like langdons better pace and intensity at the ball overall but at this point not much seperates them going forward. I know you have always been pretty bullish on Shaz but how do you see the comparison between the two currently and do you still have Shaz as your clear prefernece.

Yeah you know me well - I am a Schaz man. I think he is a better decision maker and kick. They are the two areas he is stronger than Langdon in. Langdons decisions are often slow and conservative. Tried to pull the trigger a few times last year (e.g. vs Port) and it failed badly at a crucial time. He doesn't have it in him. His kicks are also loopy - they dont cut through lines or space.

Langdon advantage is think he is a better intercept mark and is probably willing to put his body into spaces Shaz doesn't and hence why I think coach plays him. Having said that I saw huge improvement in Matt late in year so think he is bridging the gap.

The other area I think is interesting is that Matt can go into the middle for sure. Tom cant. Been there and didn't work at all.

Re Schache one of the ways I look at is (putting aside Lynch) would you rather Mason or Josh S at FF. I'd vote Josh Schache but you cant have both Mason and he for mine as its a waste of salary cap space so if you cant get a deal done with Lions around Mason and something else then that would be my pathway. They clearly rate him as they offered a 3 or 4 year deal.

Great job snoop, just on your draft choices I'd much rather Claravino at 36 than Petty as I feel hes smarter and stronger. I'd also love if we picked up Hamish Brayshaw with our last pick or in the rookie

Be just has happy with that bud. Interesting on Claravino re decision making. He had some ordinary moments through the TAC finals deep in the back half with his decision making hence why i have Petty a little ahead but maybe thats an area he is trying to improve on. Having said that I was watching for Oscar in the all star game and he made some v good choices i think in the back half of that game. V good interceptor. Skills need some work. Petty better all around for mine.

Just on Wigg, the Crows aren’t offering him a contract. Reckon he could be picked up for next to nothing. Would prefer we try to make something of Aish rather than trade him for a player who’s unwanted by Adelaide anyway.

Is he out of contract. If so we should jump. I'd be happy to give them Aish just to clear space.

I agree with Snoop, Petty is the man, I just have a feeling he won't be there at #36. Paton seems like our typical late selection based on his VFL with us and being ready to play asap. As I've said I'd like Coff with #6 but I think Tyler will cost us our other pick in the 50s.

If we go Coff we might not go Paton. I'll throw a bit of a surprise and say Kane Farrell.

Coff, Petty, Farrell, Brown probably the four. Need to remember Cox is a rookie upgrade too.

I think I had Cox and JT upgraded in my numbers but will check.

I am leaning to Coffield or Stephenson. I really like Nick but think he will be used as a HB so need to be mindful of Scharenberg, Langdon, Maynard, Howe got those spots so is he going to displace one. For mine I think Stephenson. I know people query his ball use but I dont see it. He is an attacking beast and his form in the middle and more importantly inside the contest was fantastic late in the year. He relished it. He has a bit of Will Hoskin-Elliott about him but harder.

Still happy to take Nick as think he could go middle as well. Where do you rate Fogarty and Brander?

I don't think taking Coffield precludes us from taking Paton also. We have a need for both a half back and back pocket. I see Coffield more at half back and Paton in a pocket. I reckon there may also be a transition of Coffield into midfield. So there is scope for both in my view. If we take Petty also we've really built our future defence in a draft.

That said I expect Petty to go earlier than our 30's pick. And given Patons combine testing our 50's pick may also be a challenge.

If we could snare Coffield/Petty/Paton, and then Lynch next year, i'd be really bullish about our chances!

The fact Paton is a 19yo is why i think he might still be there. That game in ballarat though will be looming large in scouts mind.

Pie 4 Life

Any footage of Farrell?

Knightmare has Petty a fair bit higher than other phantoms. But I tend to agree with his assessment. The other phantoms have me hopeful he'll fall though.

I think Petty will be around that mark and given that anything could happen. Remember there are a lot of talls in the mix from 10-30 so might come down to one slipping a little further. Brennan Cox was expected to go before #30 last year and didn't. Went at #41.

Hey Snoop, with the players already delisted, plus your recommendations, that would make a list change of 12-14 players, a staggering number. Given Pendlebury's comments about list stability, it seems you will be disappointed.
Do you really think our list warrants such a major change?

I get where he is coming from and I think it probably means we won't as he wouldn't have said it without some intel but personally they have significant problems with their salary cap. They also have a huge issue with the balance of that list. It isn't Gubby's fault it has been coming for some time and has been bourne out of the fact they recruited so many mids.

Overall we have far to many players on the list either injured or playing VFL who are getting anywhere between $300k and 500k. Its just bad list management.

For mine a list structure should be having 30 players on your list who are ready to play seniors at any time. They should be 10 A graders, 10 B graders, 10 C graders which can include kids that are ready to go. The rest should be kids or cheap depth players.

Always like your addition in terms of input Snoop or shall we call you Snoke? Haha

Anyhow, a couple of questions if I may. Not to troll but more so still cutting my teeth with players, club, draft, trade etc.

Firstly, Cox and consider trade. Wasn't there some minor problem with visa if he swapped clubs?

Your recommendation on taking a mid at pick 6 over a KPP, do we need another mid? Or you value this commodity and there can never be enough?

Your position on Mayne? Or proposed solution if any. Given we have to account for all or portion of his salary in our cap even if we move him on.

Lastly, whilst I am not an avocate but understand clubs are bigger than the player especially these days. Would you see any merit in trading Pendles? If so, who would you target?

Other side to this is if we keep Pendles, do you find his best is also as our Captain? If you think he's our best man for the role, why? If not, why so and who would be a formidable successor?

At pick 6 for me we just need the best and i have some reservations around Brander. I also think there are some really good tall types deeper and think we could land one or two of them. Wooller, Petty, Claaravino, Taylor, McLean etc.

No dont think they move Pendlebury. He is a Capt and if you move on him when he doesn't want to go would have a huge cultural issue.

I think I had Cox and JT upgraded in my numbers but will check.

I am leaning to Coffield or Stephenson. I really like Nick but think he will be used as a HB so need to be mindful of Scharenberg, Langdon, Maynard, Howe got those spots so is he going to displace one. For mine I think Stephenson. I know people query his ball use but I dont see it. He is an attacking beast and his form in the middle and more importantly inside the contest was fantastic late in the year. He relished it. He has a bit of Will Hoskin-Elliott about him but harder.

Still happy to take Nick as think he could go middle as well. Where do you rate Fogarty and Brander?
If we take Coffield, it points to maynard moving to the midfield, which l think is a more natural spot for him

Yeah he looked good there. As a kid he didn't spend much time there though. He actually spent time as much time forward as he did back. Be interesting to see what his endurance base is like.

Had a few comments on where I rate players so have outlined my top 50 below. Its done in terms of rankings and not needs.

1 Cameron Rayner
2 Luke Davies-Uniacke
3 Paddy Dow
4 Adam Cerra
5 Nick Coffield
6 Jayden Stephenson
7 Charlie Constable
8 Darcy Fogarty
9 Jarrod Brander
10 Aidan Bonar
11 Connor Ballenden
12 Andrew Brayshaw
13 Hunter Clark
14 Jack Higgins
15 Aaron Naughton
16 Noah Balta
17 Oscar Allen
18 Nathan Murphy
19 Lochie Obrien
20 Patrick Naish
21 Same Hayes
22 Gryan Miers
23 Ed Richards
24 Zac Bailey
25 JaCK Petrucelle
26 Lachlan Fogarty
27 Ryley Stoddart
28 Will Walker
29 Charlie Spargo
30 Charlie Ballard
31 Nathan Krueger
32 Jackson Ross
33 Matthew Ling
34 Dylan Moore
35 Joel Garner
36 James Worpel
37 Jordan Houlahan
38 Harrison Petty
39 Jake Patmore
40 Toby Wooller
41 Jackson Edwards
42 Oscar Claravino
43 Brandon Starvevich
44 Brent Daniels
45 Andrew McPherson
46 Joel Amartey
47 Jordan Johnston
48 Alex Martini
49 Ben Paton
50 Hayden McLean

Pie 4 Life, Quicky, Lefthanded, Scodog10, Jafo, sr36, Schachattak, TradeDraft, Apex36, jmac70, Carringbush2010, Gone Critical, jackcass, Langers is Life

Had a few comments on where I rate players so have outlined my top 50 below. Its done in terms of rankings and not needs.

1 Cameron Rayner
2 Luke Davies-Uniacke
3 Paddy Dow
4 Adam Cerra
5 Nick Coffield
6 Jayden Stephenson
7 Charlie Constable
8 Darcy Fogarty
9 Jarrod Brander
10 Aidan Bonar
11 Connor Ballenden
12 Andrew Brayshaw
13 Hunter Clark
14 Jack Higgins
15 Aaron Naughton
16 Noah Balta
17 Oscar Allen
18 Nathan Murphy
19 Lochie Obrien
20 Patrick Naish
21 Same Hayes
22 Gryan Miers
23 Ed Richards
24 Zac Bailey
25 Jack Petrucelle
26 Lachlan Fogarty
27 Ryley Stoddart
28 Will Walker
29 Charlie Spargo
30 Charlie Ballard
31 Nathan Krueger
32 Jackson Ross
33 Matthew Ling
34 Dylan Moore
35 Joel Garner
36 James Worpel
37 Jordan Houlahan
38 Harrison Petty
39 Jake Patmore
40 Toby Wooller
41 Jackson Edwards
42 Oscar Claravino
43 Brandon Starvevich
44 Brent Daniels
45 Andrew McPherson
46 Joel Amartey
47 Jordan Johnston
48 Alex Martini
49 Ben Paton
50 Hayden McLean

Balta is always around that downgrade mark, so tempting to get 2 players for 1 pick

Looks like we can afford Petty at 37 (ripper) but not Paton at 55

Reckon Kane Farrell goes top 50, off the chart speed results at the combine

Snoop Dog just wondering your thoughts on McLartys progression?

Do you suspect he plays seniors this coming season?
How many games range?

From all reports a ripper kid, great attitude etc.

Will he be our natural key position successor down back?

Balta is always around that downgrade mark, so tempting to get 2 players for 1 pick

Looks like we can afford Petty at 37 (ripper) but not Paton at 55

Reckon Kane Farrell goes top 50, off the chart speed results at the combine

Snoop Dog's 15,16 and 17 are all interesting from a Pies perspective. The club would have to be tempted to have 2 bites at a kpp, but it depends on how highly we rate the top 6.

1 Cameron Rayner
2 Luke Davies-Uniacke
3 Paddy Dow
4 Adam Cerra
5 Nick Coffield
6 Jayden Stephenson
7 Charlie Constable
8 Darcy Fogarty
9 Jarrod Brander
10 Aidan Bonar
11 Connor Ballenden
12 Andrew Brayshaw
13 Hunter Clark
14 Jack Higgins
15 Aaron Naughton
16 Noah Balta
17 Oscar Allen
18 Nathan Murphy
19 Lochie Obrien
20 Patrick Naish
21 Same Hayes
22 Gryan Miers
23 Ed Richards
24 Zac Bailey
25 JaCK Petrucelle
26 Lachlan Fogarty
27 Ryley Stoddart
28 Will Walker
29 Charlie Spargo
30 Charlie Ballard
31 Nathan Krueger
32 Jackson Ross
33 Matthew Ling
34 Dylan Moore
35 Joel Garner
36 James Worpel
37 Jordan Houlahan
38 Harrison Petty
39 Jake Patmore
40 Toby Wooller
41 Jackson Edwards
42 Oscar Claravino
43 Brandon Starvevich
44 Brent Daniels
45 Andrew McPherson
46 Joel Amartey
47 Jordan Johnston
48 Alex Martini
49 Ben Paton
50 Hayden McLean

Love to see us orchestrate a way to get 2 of Coffield, Stephenson, Fogarty, Brander, Bonar, or Balta. Would offset to some degree the trade of early picks over the last couple of years and really set up our developing group longer term.

Snoop Dog List Management Analysis inc FA / Draft / Trade