Snoop Dog List Management Analysis inc FA / Draft / Trade

add him to the list and we'll push for 3 of the group.

I wouldn't mind Petrucelle at the pies either.
Because he might 'solve' some of our problems?

Barry_Newman_Petrocelli_1974.JPG

On that basis Snoop Dog I'd be shattered if Hayes is on the board at 6 and we pull the trigger. I'm just not feeling it. What stands out to me is the number of taller types that will be available within the top 40 because i think we'll go tall at least twice early.

Had a few comments on where I rate players so have outlined my top 50 below. Its done in terms of rankings and not needs.

1 Cameron Rayner
2 Luke Davies-Uniacke
3 Paddy Dow
4 Adam Cerra
5 Nick Coffield
6 Jayden Stephenson
7 Charlie Constable
8 Darcy Fogarty
9 Jarrod Brander
10 Aidan Bonar
11 Connor Ballenden
12 Andrew Brayshaw
13 Hunter Clark
14 Jack Higgins
15 Aaron Naughton
16 Noah Balta
17 Oscar Allen
18 Nathan Murphy
19 Lochie Obrien
20 Patrick Naish
21 Same Hayes
22 Gryan Miers
23 Ed Richards
24 Zac Bailey
25 JaCK Petrucelle
26 Lachlan Fogarty
27 Ryley Stoddart
28 Will Walker
29 Charlie Spargo
30 Charlie Ballard
31 Nathan Krueger
32 Jackson Ross
33 Matthew Ling
34 Dylan Moore
35 Joel Garner
36 James Worpel
37 Jordan Houlahan
38 Harrison Petty
39 Jake Patmore
40 Toby Wooller
41 Jackson Edwards
42 Oscar Claravino
43 Brandon Starvevich
44 Brent Daniels
45 Andrew McPherson
46 Joel Amartey
47 Jordan Johnston
48 Alex Martini
49 Ben Paton
50 Hayden McLean

Pie 4 Life, Quicky, Lefthanded, Scodog10, Jafo, sr36, Schachattak, TradeDraft, Apex36, jmac70, Carringbush2010, Gone Critical, jackcass, Langers is Life
Interesting that you rate Ballenden at 11. What are the chances he gets bid on before Brisbanes pick 12? And would that make them more open to a trade of Schache and 12 for 6 and 36?

I think I had Cox and JT upgraded in my numbers but will check.

I am leaning to Coffield or Stephenson. I really like Nick but think he will be used as a HB so need to be mindful of Scharenberg, Langdon, Maynard, Howe got those spots so is he going to displace one. For mine I think Stephenson. I know people query his ball use but I dont see it. He is an attacking beast and his form in the middle and more importantly inside the contest was fantastic late in the year. He relished it. He has a bit of Will Hoskin-Elliott about him but harder.

Still happy to take Nick as think he could go middle as well. Where do you rate Fogarty and Brander?

Fogarty I rated top 10 pre-season but have serious ??? This year. I'd have him 10-15 now As mentioned if you can't play with injury then you have to question either the a) mental durability of a player or b) the selfishness to go out there if you're seriously injured. Understand you want to impress but if you're that bad you are ineffective you shouldn't be out there. Talented but just I have an iffy feeling.

Brander I think I'd have in a similar boat. Freo were keen on him but not sure if they still go there. He seems good when in a good team (or having a player like Dow delivering to him) but can hardly get near it otherwise. Probably ends up in defence but again , Lukosius towelled him up so still questions there.

I'd rather take a known quantity that is guaranteed to be a safe bet in this draft, one of the medium talls and hope a Petty drops (or we obtain a R2 pick somehow).

Yeah you know me well - I am a Schaz man. I think he is a better decision maker and kick. They are the two areas he is stronger than Langdon in. Langdons decisions are often slow and conservative. Tried to pull the trigger a few times last year (e.g. vs Port) and it failed badly at a crucial time. He doesn't have it in him. His kicks are also loopy - they dont cut through lines or space.

Langdon advantage is think he is a better intercept mark and is probably willing to put his body into spaces Shaz doesn't and hence why I think coach plays him. Having said that I saw huge improvement in Matt late in year so think he is bridging the gap.

The other area I think is interesting is that Matt can go into the middle for sure. Tom cant. Been there and didn't work at all.

Re Schache one of the ways I look at is (putting aside Lynch) would you rather Mason or Josh S at FF. I'd vote Josh Schache but you cant have both Mason and he for mine as its a waste of salary cap space so if you cant get a deal done with Lions around Mason and something else then that would be my pathway. They clearly rate him as they offered a 3 or 4 year deal.

Have to agree Shaz was coming on well at the end of 2017. Started to do a few things that stood out more rather than collect and distribute. You would think he still has significant development in him. Likewise Langdon was showing more and if that continues I can see a place for both of them in the side.

Schache is a bit intriguing if we can pick him up at a lw cost but I also think Cox remains an unknown as to how far he develops and probably fits that 2nd tall 2nd ruck role really well. Schache probably doesnt have a place fn that set up works so if it works he becomes extra to our needs. Cant risk spending too much on him if we were to go after him.

Yeah he looked good there. As a kid he didn't spend much time there though. He actually spent time as much time forward as he did back. Be interesting to see what his endurance base is like.
Yes his endurance would not be that great at the moment, but it will improve as he gets more minutes there. Degoey and maynard in the middle would be hard to stop

Had a few comments on where I rate players so have outlined my top 50 below. Its done in terms of rankings and not needs.

1 Cameron Rayner
2 Luke Davies-Uniacke
3 Paddy Dow
4 Adam Cerra
5 Nick Coffield
6 Jayden Stephenson
7 Charlie Constable
8 Darcy Fogarty
9 Jarrod Brander
10 Aidan Bonar
11 Connor Ballenden
12 Andrew Brayshaw
13 Hunter Clark
14 Jack Higgins
15 Aaron Naughton
16 Noah Balta
17 Oscar Allen
18 Nathan Murphy
19 Lochie Obrien
20 Patrick Naish
21 Same Hayes
22 Gryan Miers
23 Ed Richards
24 Zac Bailey
25 JaCK Petrucelle
26 Lachlan Fogarty
27 Ryley Stoddart
28 Will Walker
29 Charlie Spargo
30 Charlie Ballard
31 Nathan Krueger
32 Jackson Ross
33 Matthew Ling
34 Dylan Moore
35 Joel Garner
36 James Worpel
37 Jordan Houlahan
38 Harrison Petty
39 Jake Patmore
40 Toby Wooller
41 Jackson Edwards
42 Oscar Claravino
43 Brandon Starvevich
44 Brent Daniels
45 Andrew McPherson
46 Joel Amartey
47 Jordan Johnston
48 Alex Martini
49 Ben Paton
50 Hayden McLean

Pie 4 Life, Quicky, Lefthanded, Scodog10, Jafo, sr36, Schachattak, TradeDraft, Apex36, jmac70, Carringbush2010, Gone Critical, jackcass, Langers is Life
Just hope and pray the club lands a Brander or Balta eg KPF or KP utility after the clean out we've just done.? What's your knowledge / opinion of the development of McClarty so far, do you think he'll debut next year?

Snoop Dog just wondering your thoughts on McLartys progression?

Do you suspect he plays seniors this coming season?
How many games range?

From all reports a ripper kid, great attitude etc.

Will he be our natural key position successor down back?

Yeah I asked around about him recently and told he really came on late in year and footy dept rapt with him. He needs a good pre season (didn't have much of one last yr) and has the body that's ready to play so think he can for sure. I'd like to see him back himself more. Did it late and that was what I saw him do at U18 level. I think he's a player.

Interesting that you rate Ballenden at 11. What are the chances he gets bid on before Brisbanes pick 12? And would that make them more open to a trade of Schache and 12 for 6 and 36?

I really rate Connor. Big chance for mine albeit probably gets thru as clubs tend to back off.....at least most do

Yeah I asked around about him recently and told he really came on late in year and footy dept rapt with him. He needs a good pre season (didn't have much of one last yr) and has the body that's ready to play so think he can for sure. I'd like to see him back himself more. Did it late and that was what I saw him do at U18 level. I think he's a player.
Thanks snoop. Love your work.

I'm glad Sam is coming on. As an added benefit he comes across and from reports a ripper kid too- it's a credit to him.

Who you liking sounds of ?

I reckon context is always king.

There's a few contexts we could use. If I was going by your rankings on who I think will be the best player at 6 I would take Fogarty.

If we consider the overall look of the draft and go smaller later I can't overlook Balta.

If we go taller later it's hard to overlook Stephenson.

The sweet spot for me though is Coffield lasting to 6 and we trade in a pick in that 20-30 range then hit up a tall with that pick and 38.

I reckon context is always king.

There's a few contexts we could use. If I was going by your rankings on who I think will be the best player at 6 I would take Fogarty.

If we consider the overall look of the draft and go smaller later I can't overlook Balta.

If we go taller later it's hard to overlook Stephenson.

The sweet spot for me though is Coffield lasting to 6 and we trade in a pick in that 20-30 range then hit up a tall with that pick and 38.

Certainly Coffield is one they've tracked and think they have Balta as well but he's a stretch for me at 6. He could be boom or bust.

I think your point around context is good though. If the industry goes towards playing more smaller to medium sized forwards then that has an implication for what you recruit and probably more importantly how many key defenders do you actually need.

Richmond are interesting they played Rance as a key tall down back but Astbury and Grimes still have size but maybe Moreno importantly mobility.

I just wonder if that isn't in recruiters minds ie Is game is coming to kids like Stephenson, Fogarty and Coffield?

I'd be inclined to take one of those theee and hope Petty is their later.

Fingers crossed. Don't think bodes well for one of Ramsay or Sinclair. Who would you pick.
Sinclair alas looks injury riddled, and concussion these days.
So I'd move him if it was a choice.

Snoop Dog List Management Analysis inc FA / Draft / Trade