Snoops 2016 List Management, Trade and Draft thoughts

His kicking is top first 5 worst on the list imo - I'd even take Williams over him because at least he has some penetration. And 178cm and 77kg is not well built for a guy who does his best work around stoppages - the better inside mids these days are in the 90kg+ - that's a lot to give up. I don't question his courage.

I don't think credit should be handed out for one or two good games over a career. It's a while ago but if I remember he stagnated and was disappointing in his last season. Very lucky to still be on the list imo
Penetrating kick and marley williams are two combinations of words that should never be put together. Josh's kicking is inconsistent, but he is not a player known for elite kicking skills, hes an inside mid. Josh kennedy is a poor kick with no penetration.
Keep looking at the figures, im not bothered by his height and weight, i judge him by his strength in the contest.

Hes had more then 'one or two' good games mate, you saying that just shows you haven't really payed enough attention to him.

Penetrating kick and marley williams are two combinations of words that should never be put together. Josh's kicking is inconsistent, but he is not a player known for elite kicking skills, hes an inside mid. Josh kennedy is a poor kick with no penetration.
Keep looking at the figures, im not bothered by his height and weight, i judge him by his strength in the contest.

Hes had more then 'one or two' good games mate, you saying that just shows you haven't really payed enough attention to him.
Look son, he averages under 20 possessions per game, low tackles (3 per game), small in height and stature, inconsistent kicking (at it's best - I reckon it's very bad tbh, he can't even drop the thing properly) and whilst playing a couple of good games, for the most part has produced a modest return. We are also forgetting his extensive injury history + the fact he's just had 2 years off for having a prohibited substance in his system.

I mean pretty much every objective fact indicates that he's fighting against the odds to get into our best 22. All you've produced is this intangible 'courage' factor and one good game that he's played against a bunch of teenagers. Don't get all hot and bothered when people are not skeptical of what he offers us.

Look son, he averages under 20 possessions per game, low tackles (3 per game), small in height and stature, inconsistent kicking (at it's best - I reckon it's very bad tbh, he can't even drop the thing properly) and whilst playing a couple of good games, for the most part has produced a modest return. We are also forgetting his extensive injury history + the fact he's just had 2 years off for having a prohibited substance in his system.

I mean pretty much every objective fact indicates that he's fighting against the odds to get into our best 22. All you've produced is this intangible 'courage' factor and one good game that he's played against a bunch of teenagers. Don't get all hot and bothered when people are not skeptical of what he offers us.
Its more then one game, hes shown a bit. Stop going off stats, i use my eyes. I've seen Judd-like breaks from packs.

Hes no judd, don't take that as me saying he is, just saying at times hes shown a bit. Enough to think hes worth working with

To be fair basically the entire team had stagnated by the end of 2014.
Yeh that it, Adams hasn't improved, Fasolo hasn't improved, Grundy hasn't improved,
Crisp hasn't improved, Moore hasn't improved....
Not sure you've quite nailed your notion

Yeh that it, Adams hasn't improved, Fasolo hasn't improved, Grundy hasn't improved,
Crisp hasn't improved, Moore hasn't improved....
Not sure you've quite nailed your notion

I think you need to think about the 2014 season and how it ended just for a moment before commenting further.

If I thought too much before commenting, then social media wouldn't be too suitable then ;)

ps in no way was I having a go, I just think it's not all that bad. This season will be telling.
And I'm happy enough with that.

ps in no way was I having a go, I just think it's not all that bad. This season will be telling.
And I'm happy enough with that.

This went entirely over your head I suspect - I was pointing out that noting Thomas has stagnated in 2014 was a bit harsh when the entire team basically went down the toilet towards the end of the season (it wasn't a commentary on where we are at now).

Fair enough too.
Good point.

When we last saw him, he had some obvious strengths and some obvious weaknesses. Despite being around for a long time, he really hasn't played enough footy for us to have a true indication of his potential. Two or three years missed with injury. Two missed due to to PEDS. God knows where he is at.

He is arguably the 44th player on the list and maybe on that basis its worth persisting with. But he had real skill issues for mine and he is coming from a very long way back and competing for a role we have a lot of depth in. Hope he makes it.

Josh Thomas has a bit of ability but right now, there has never been a player in the history of the AFL who was luckier to be on a list.

He was drafted in 2009, has only 32 career games and is coming off a two year drugs ban. He has talent and is a much better footballer than Keefe in my opinion who I don't rate at all, but at least Keefe plays a position in which we are lacking. If he makes it from here it will be novel worthy.

I am no particular fan of Josh, but I do remember in his first year one of the coaches saying he had absolute elite ability (like the best he had ever seen) to anticipate the drop of the ball in packs.

Josh Thomas has a bit of ability but right now, there has never been a player in the history of the AFL who was luckier to be on a list.

He was drafted in 2009, has only 32 career games and is coming off a two year drugs ban. He has talent and is a much better footballer than Keefe in my opinion who I don't rate at all, but at least Keefe plays a position in which we are lacking. If he makes it from here it will be novel worthy.
I always thought keefe was a good tall, 2 years ago now but can recall being pretty disappointed when he was banned? why don't you rate him?

I am no particular fan of Josh, but I do remember in his first year one of the coaches saying he had absolute elite ability (like the best he had ever seen) to anticipate the drop of the ball in packs.

I seem to remember him kicking some handy goals from time to time when he played in 2013-14. If he's a bit small and back in the queue as far as inside mids go, could we turn him into a crumbing forward?

Joshy thomas gets a bad wrap around here, he is quite handy. I remember a certain 3 goal 20 odd possesion game against GWS, practically dragged a struggling team over the line single handedly
3 goal 28 possessions IIRC

I always thought keefe was a good tall, 2 years ago now but can recall being pretty disappointed when he was banned? why don't you rate him?

No footy smarts. His defensive positioning is amongst the worst I've seen.

He is an accurate, though non-penetrative kick which is his strength. People forget that we were trialling him as a ruck/forward before his ban because he wasn't cutting it as a defender.

just before the ban many on here thought that josh was going to take the next step
in being best 22 for us. now he nearly is the worst player on the list.
l actually think he will go better than keeffe first up.

Snoops 2016 List Management, Trade and Draft thoughts