No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

He had a year to go. But there was serious interest from Melbourne that he knew about.

The club/Nettlefold weren’t interested in talking about a new deal for a coach who has taken us to back to back grannies.

Freo kept pushing and pushing. Eventually Ross said yes - then the following morning his agent had a new deal from us after Ross had said he was leaving the night before.

Yep.

Then the board appointed Scott Watters. Even leased him a new car as part of his contract.

They didn't tell him that though, so the car just sat in the lot being paid for but never used.

He had a year to go. But there was serious interest from Melbourne that he knew about.

The club/Nettlefold weren’t interested in talking about a new deal for a coach who has taken us to back to back grannies.

Freo kept pushing and pushing. Eventually Ross said yes - then the following morning his agent had a new deal from us after Ross had said he was leaving the night before.
Yeah just read it. We were a shambles off the field back then.

Ross Lyon was stabbed in the back! I love Ross! All aboard the Boss Train!!
Paul Rudd Movie GIF

I downgraded my membership two weeks ago on Friday, I was despondent not at the Saints, after 32 years as a member would have bailed long before now if that was the case. Just felt things conspired against us at the AFL and with Ratts resigned, I felt that we were going to be stuck in limbo, even with the best intentions of all involved. I just couldn't see light at the end of the tunnel.

The past week has been such a shock, the hiring of Lenny, and Walsh, the sacking of Ratts, the hiring of RTB, a whirlwind of change. My fears that the AFL stack the deck against us (and other smaller clubs) are still there, but I feel a bit of hope now that RTB will circle the wagons and we can start to fight back against the AFL thumb on the scales in favour of the big clubs and clubs like Sydney and Brisbane.

if he signs, I am going to upgrade my membership in a show of faith that the management actually want to do something and aren't just going to allow the barriers that the AFL throw up stop us.

In the Footy Classified episode where RTB spoke about knocking back the Essendon job, Caro said that people high up in the AFL wanted RTB to coach again....may be we might be looked on more favorably! Can always hope...

Isn't Gil a Saints fan at heart?

Doing us a favor on the way out?

So how do his sides perform on Grand Final? They lose - every time.

And if you actually read the comment, you would see that I said his was incredibly successful defensively and if you want to go back and check the records you'll also see that we were the lowest scoring of the top 4 in each of those years (includes Freo as well).

So that's a pattern, low scores for + low scores against = 4 lost grand finals.

The funny thing about Stavro is that you know this is the case (that he will need to rejig his plan offensively) and you've acknowledged yourself so I'm not sure why you are arguing the point.

The same applies with his ego and that he will need to learn to take on differing opinions (again its something you have acknowledged).

I'll make it quite clear my opinion on Ross Lyon as its appearing more certain he'll be coach.

He's a good coach but not a great coach (no premierships simple as that)​
His lack of capacity to be inclusive or listen to alternatives is a concern. (My way or the hwy!!)​
Can he be adaptive enough to fit the way the game is now played.​

I think I've said it before that Dimma, Goodwin and Scott all eventually learnt they didn't know everything and they were told to listen to others and that brought them success.

My principal concern about Lyon is that he's spent the last 3 years having his ego massaged in the media. And that's rather different to having it challenged by a Football department, Assistant coaches and players.

So the question is whether that will reinforce his opinion of himself (and his strategies) or will he be able to accept other views and change his direction?

As I said, its looking like he will be coach so we have to hope he can change.
As pebblesofsand says, he has a pattern. can he change?. After two clubs, doing the same thing and the end result is still zero flags, i don't know. We won't know this until a number of weeks into the season.

With gritted teeth i will jump on board. my membership is coming out of my bank account this week. I won't talk about again again too much, i have had my say and my opinion about what i think about him as a person. Hope that if he does come back that we don't have egg on our faces, and we win the flag.

Saints in 2009, 12 games over 100 points, our best game we kicked 25.11 161 against a good West Coast side, this year we had 2 games where we kicked over 100 points, the best being against the Tigers 18.9 117.

If we scored like the 2009 Ross Lyon Saints we'd be one of the highest scoring sides in the AFL now days.

In 2009 Saints scored 2,197 points (during the home and away season).

That would be ranked number 1 in 2022. Tigers were the highest scoring team this year with 2165 points.

In 2009 Saints conceded 1,411 points (during the home and away season).

That would be the number 1 ranked team in 2022. Demons had the best defending team this year conceding 1,483 points.

That 2009 St Kilda team was elite. It would beat any team from today.

Huge announcement expected today.

I’m trying out a new sanger.

It's a bit pricey but if you ever head to Third Wave Cafe in Albert Park make sure you get a kransky.

One of the best feeds in Melbourne.

In 2009 Saints scored 2,197 points (during the home and away season).

That would be ranked number 1 in 2022. Tigers were the highest scoring team this year with 2165 points.

In 2009 Saints conceded 1,411 points (during the home and away season).

That would be the number 1 ranked team in 2022. Demons had the best defending team this year conceding 1,483 points.

That 2009 St Kilda team was elite. It would beat any team from today.
They played (real) 25 minute plus time on quarters back then buddy boy.

As pebblesofsand says, he has a pattern. can he change?. After two clubs, doing the same thing and the end result is still zero flags, i don't know. We won't know this until a number of weeks into the season.

With gritted teeth i will jump on board. my membership is coming out of my bank account this week. I won't talk about again again too much, i have had my say and my opinion about what i think about him as a person. Hope that if he does come back that we don't have egg on our faces, and we win the flag.
Hang in there...hopefully it will be worth it!

He was able to analyse the game once and come up with a plan...personally I don't see why he can't do that again. If nothing else, we will have standards - so players won't need mid season meetings to discuss the lack of 'player accountability'...

Isn't Gil a Saints fan at heart?

Doing us a favor on the way out?
Wouldn’t hold my breath if the favour is the same as the draws ( fixtures) we’ve had over the past few years.

Have you read the article we've been discussing Sammm?

I reckon that will at least dispel some myths about the sort of person he is. Joe Riewoldt on SEN yesterday spoke about the true qualities he has.

Hopefully!

My came out earlier in the week. If by some twisted twist of fate they appoint Hird, I’ll be asking for it back…!