No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

I don’t agree on that at all.

If you only speak to one person and Ross is half in it’s pretty easy for him to say what we want to hear.

Test him.

It makes no sense at all to say we have to ruthless and set standards but then abandon them to bring in someone that has zero recent proven history.

If Ross is this competitive beast you despearately want him to be then I’m sure he has no issue with beating out a couple of fresh faced assistants to earn the job.

Ultimately you and I are completely misaligned on what this process should be. I’m never going to agree with what you’re saying and you’re onbivously not going to agree with what I’m saying so probably best to just move on.
He has been saying for a while he is keen to get back in. Pretty much signed on at Carlton but they backed out.

We have to assume if he's in then he's all in. Those at the club know hownhe operates. Jason Blake is on the board and will have spoken to him directly.

At the end of the day every decision you make is a leap of faith in some regard. If we think he's the one to take us forward then we just need to make the call.

I have no info
I live in SA so according to some here I've got 5 heads and live with tumble weeds lol
All good, can't laugh at yourself dont laugh at others, and you all know I'm always up for a laugh

Anyway...
It seems all signs and indicators point to it Max

Posters saying he left the club burnt and in disarray is not quite right, the club or i should say certain people at the club didn't exactly do right by him so he protected himself amd his family...there's certainly more to all than what's out in the public.

Posters saying he cannot develop is untrue as well, but thats ok, they can think what they like.
For sure we have heard that a certain player or two wasnt happy with him, but you can't please everyone...impossible
What I don't hear is many multiples were unhappy and what I know is many many players absolutely loved him, his work ethic and how he brought the best out of players
Stav said one thing that resonates big time imo, he never had the support, the structure and the nous around him last time like he could have now.
The man we have at the helm is not an idiot, he knows what creates success and his blood is coloured red white and black.

We have unfinished business
It will be taken care of

I'm in
I have met popped corn and can guarantee he only has 3 heads
More worryingly is he is English born, grew up in Elizabeth and follows the Saints, could there be a blueprint for a bigger loser
Only gagging matrix, love ya buddy

You’re probably right. I’m 35 years old and all this club has given me is disappointment and “the streak” so it fits that they’d * this up too.
Mate I’m 32.

Outside of 66. We have probably seen the best years this club has had.

But I wouldn’t be expecting them to grill multiple people over multiple interviews.

I think they have 2-3 they are keen on and I think one of those is very far out infront. He is familiar and at all levels will have had someone with experience of working under him. To vouch for him.

Blake as a director.
Lenny as a coach

Etc etc

Ultimately I think you’ll be disappointed in what our process is.
You’re probably right. I’m 35 years old and all this club has given me is disappointment and “the streak” so it fits that they’d * this up too.

Strange - I'm thinking that its a fair chance that the bloke who founded Seek knows how to run a thorough employment process.

He has been saying for a while he is keen to get back in. Pretty much signed on at Carlton but they backed out.

We have to assume if he's in then he's all in. Those at the club know hownhe operates. Jason Blake is on the board and will have spoken to him directly.

At the end of the day every decision you make is a leap of faith in some regard. If we think he's the one to take us forward then we just need to make the call.

I don't believe Ross would take it on unless he was 100% in.

He has not changed while at Freemantle, talented lists especially early on. No results.

Personally while winning with games scoring 52-48 was still winning, the game has adapted and teams have worked out a lot of the stuff that Lyon set up.

Yep pay him a fair bit (his ego needs that) as a mentor for Enright or someone else but I do not think he is the messiah or the answer.

Happy to be proven wrong.
You know he is either coach or nothing. Doubt Enright is close to in the frame. If Lyon is interested the board will ask the hard questions about his coaching style. The rules have changed since he last coached so surely the board will enquire about his coaching style. You would. I would. Surely they would. He never won a flag at either club but freo have never made a grand final before or since. He got us to two grand finals in a row which has only happened one other time in 149 years. If we don’t pick a new coach which I don’t mind if we do surely he is so far the best option of those who have coached. I’d be 100% certain he would be coaching a team now if he had wanted to.

Strange - I'm thinking that its a fair chance that the bloke who founded Seek knows how to run a thorough employment process.
I’d imagine the process isn’t starting fresh mate and there is multiple ways to recruit.

They had the report for a month. I’d bet good money that they didn’t sack Ratten to then see what’s out there.

Yesterday was very clear on that they want very specific characteristics and expectations from our new coach.

Interesting.

Most on here seem keen on Ross Lyon as our next coach.

Not I.

Most of the loud types keep repeating themselves. Quite a few not on board. Irrelevant anyway, the press normally gets these things right when they are all over it.

The club will want to get this right if they are headed in this direction. Lethlean, Bassat and plenty on here are going to look mighty stupid if this goes nowhere, though i am sure their will be a narrative in place for just that occurrence so they come out clean.

79 pages of reading
Lots of popcorn

There's going to be some upset posters very soon
You can drop your membership card in the bin thats by the door on your way out, we don't want you.

Mission Blues Brother GIF

We're getting the band back together
We’re on a mission from God

I’d imagine the process isn’t starting fresh mate and there is multiple ways to recruit.

They had the report for a month. I’d bet good money that they didn’t sack Ratten to then see what’s out there.

Yesterday was very clear on that they want very specific characteristics and expectations from our new coach.
So what will be our selection process?

Most of the loud types keep repeating themselves. Quite a few not on board. Irrelevant anyway, the press normally gets these things right when they are all over it.

The club will want to get this right if they are headed in this direction. Lethlean, Bassat and plenty on here are going to look mighty stupid if this goes nowhere, though i am sure their will be a narrative in place for just that occurrence so they come out clean.

Yes because those that don't want Lyon have been very silent

I don’t agree on that at all.

If you only speak to one person and Ross is half in it’s pretty easy for him to say what we want to hear.

Test him.

It makes no sense at all to say we have to ruthless and set standards but then abandon them to bring in someone that has zero recent proven history.

If Ross is this competitive beast you despearately want him to be then I’m sure he has no issue with beating out a couple of fresh faced assistants to earn the job.

Ultimately you and I are completely misaligned on what this process should be. I’m never going to agree with what you’re saying and you’re onbivously not going to agree with what I’m saying so probably best to just move on.

The AFL media have conditioned us footy nuffies to think a ‘process’ is lining up a bunch of coaches & putting them through a bunch of gateways against each other like it’s some entry level job.

Believe me, Bassett has run a very thorough ‘process’, it’s just not the type of process the media believes should take place when finding a coach. But seriously what the heck would they know compared to a killer operator like Bassett?

The Review is part of the process. From there he would’ve discreetly interviewed potential candidates by having discussions with them about where they see the club, their philosophies, etc, & spoken with unnominated referees. This would’ve been done without the potential replacements even knowing they were up against other candidates.

But the media will have you believe that the decision to appoint the new coach was undertaken without any thought process because they are measuring it against their basic understanding on how to appoint high level senior figures in organisations. Bassett laughs in their face.

You know he is either coach or nothing. Doubt Enright is close to in the frame. If Lyon is interested the board will ask the hard questions about his coaching style. The rules have changed since he last coached so surely the board will enquire about his coaching style. You would. I would. Surely they would. He never won a flag at either club but freo have never made a grand final before or since. He got us to two grand finals in a row which has only happened one other time in 149 years. If we don’t pick a new coach which I don’t mind if we do surely he is so far the best option of those who have coached. I’d be 100% certain he would be coaching a team now if he had wanted to.

Happy to move on plugger.

As I have said - I do not believe Lyon is 'the answer'. Would be comfortable with him in place as a transition (and this was made very clear) to another coach but not as just Lyon.

Believe you over estimate Lyon, have a look at the players we had in 2009 and 2010 and I remember that era very very well. They had a bit to do with us getting there.

That was 12 years ago the AFL has moved on and so should we, as I said happy to disagree. Not a problem. Might need a new thread on who our next coach should be.

Mate I’m 32.

Outside of 66. We have probably seen the best years this club has had.

But I wouldn’t be expecting them to grill multiple people over multiple interviews.

I think they have 2-3 they are keen on and I think one of those is very far out infront. He is familiar and at all levels will have had someone with experience of working under him. To vouch for him.

Blake as a director.
Lenny as a coach

Etc etc
I can confirm that you both have seen the best St Kilda team ever.
The 66 team never dominated their season.

Sick of the media bucketing?
Read Peter Ryan's piece in today's Age. Can't find it in line only in the hard copy..
Excellent Article.
Stav put one up from him but it is not his think piece.

As for Lyon not being capable in the modern game, didn't Bassett address exactly that with his mea culpa about not giving Ratten the assistance and support required for him to succeed?
Surely they have canvassed the weakness in any potential coach and will act accordingly
Bassett seems across his brief on this.

The AFL media have conditioned us footy nuffies to think a ‘process’ is lining up a bunch of coaches & putting them through a bunch of gateways against each other like it’s some entry level job.

Believe me, Bassett has run a very thorough ‘process’, it’s just not the type of process the media believes should take place when finding a coach. But seriously what the * would they know compared to a killer operator like Bassett?

The Review is part of the process. From there he would’ve discreetly interviewed potential candidates by having discussions with them about where they see the club, their philosophies, etc, & spoken with unnominated referees. This would’ve been done without the potential replacements even knowing they were up against other candidates.

But the media will have you believe that the decision to appoint the new coach was undertaken without any thought process because they are measuring it against their basic understanding on how to appoint high level senior figures in organisations. Bassett laughs in their face.
Good to see you back posting quality TB

Completely minor detail but did anyone notice the ”uniform” worn by both participants in the presser today? Right down to the club tie.
Minor stuff but does show attention to detail.
Preparedness.
I reckon that club tie sucks. The wider band ones are better.