No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

It will be interesting to see if Roo and Joey come back to the club in some capacity.

From what has been said - We are starting to see the old guard come back the Dal and now Lenny.

Seems there was a bit of a drift/gap with that 09/10 team and the association with the club. Roo has mentioned it a few times on the couch that he really doesn't have much to do with them and they have never really reached out as well.
Ross rates Nick R as a coach of men

Had this rant on FB (interesting bunch in there), thought I would share it here.
It flushed out a few that’s re happy with the move.

I couldn’t be more happy today. Everything that needed to happened, has happened at st.Kilda.
A team I have supported and been a member of for nearly 40 years…We are team that is always happy to hope, do our best, the ‘also rans’. Finally our balls have dropped and we don’t give a stuff about what others think of us.

Pressure..is not a game plan. Kicking long to Max, is not a game plan. Taking a risk and backing yourself, is not a game plan.

So

Our head of football says we are irrelevant, a perception he and many others at other clubs obviously have of stkilda.

But now

They sack the coach with ice in their veins
Happy to trade pick 7 based on his work ethic and professional standards.
Move on our second in charge coach Bredndan Lade who was also underperforming, our fwd line was a mess. Moved on a no name midfield coach…and got back some heart and soul in Lenny.

And the club has ‘cut the throats’ of two of the nicest guys in footy Finnis and Ratts….yeah there would be some whispering among the playing group, media and general public, but I bet the players and supporters will be happy when the ‘nice’ ‘mate’ garbabge is parked and some high performance, uncompromising, professional standards are implemented in EVERY area of the club.

It is everything we needed to happen…everything.

Maybe there is hope for us yet

Imagine Ross and Lenny walking in day one of pre season and staring down Gresham, Clark, Billings etc. The poor buggers will be in tears.
I’m not 100% sure that Ross is the right choice yet but his ruthlessness is exactly what the playing list needs. I’m sick of our players going to jelly when the heat is applied. Time to toughen up princesses.

But my biggest question still remains. He still, has not won on the biggest day. He has come incredibly close... But he still has not won a flag.
Well, neither has any coach we are likely to get.
But he sure as hell knows what it takes to get teams to a GF.

Well, neither has any coach we are likely to get.
But he sure as hell knows what it takes to get teams to a GF.
And then it’s up to the players to finish it off.

The way the media are crapping on, Ross the boss appears like it's already a done deal.
Not like they’ve never been wrong before…..the “experts”.

Kosi tells a story how the team would do a Q&A once a week on gameplan tactics, roles and gametime scenarios. He said Farren Ray would be sweating bullets trying to remember things and would shit himself when RTB would ask him a question. Reckons even Lyon stopped asking him questions as he felt sorry for him.
RTB is exactly what this list needs.

I don't see RTB being our next coach.

Will hang my hat on that.

Might end up being wrong but I think its all just media speculation. RTB has been linked with every vacant coaching position over the last few years and I think its the same thing happening here.
I tread very careful hiring any old coach at the moment with the investigation going on in all clubs because of the Clarkson problems.
Ross's time at Fremantle was far from smooth , Neale and Langdon was said to of left because of him and there were many that left really pissed.

To me this say's it all

"He's created a toxic environment," former AFL player Brad Hardie said on Macquarie Sports Radio.

"It's not a happy camp at all, he's a self-promoter and he looks in the rear-view mirror far too much and refers back to his days at St Kilda.

"He's got a very odd style of coaching, it's a very damage control style first, winning the game second.

"I have to sit here and cringe on the east coast all the time because he has a lot of friends."

Imagine Ross and Lenny walking in day one of pre season and staring down Gresham, Clark, Billings etc. The poor buggers will be in tears.
I’m not 100% sure that Ross is the right choice yet but his ruthlessness is exactly what the playing list needs. I’m sick of our players going to jelly when the heat is applied. Time to toughen up princesses.
Our welfare person will have their hands full haha

It is not that simple plugger - expected more from you!

Difference is Lyon had talented teams (if you are equating my point re Roth and player buy in). Difference with the Jackjumpers is they are 2 years old and the talent will come on and I would expect the playing style to adjust. Yes Lyon had buy in but did not make use of the talent he had.

If we get player buy in, there will improvement. Do not believe Lyon has a current coaching style and used the talent of his teams.

Coach needs to improve the list and to steal a basketball term a good understanding of X and Os ie game day tactics etc. Improving the delivery forrward and help in the forward line would not be a consequence of appointing RL.

Not sure I would be happy with Lyon being our coach again it would be embracing mediocracy to prove a point of the need to be seen as hard.

I'm coming around a bit more. Lyon was a pioneer of the modern game. Like Clarko he was an innovator and structural coach. You'd hope he's learning as he goes rather than losing his edge. Watching footy in the media has probably been beneficial even. That list he had was a great top end but got a bit weak as it went down and plenty only really came on under Ross.

2009 list compared to our current list.
Gram- Sinclair
S King- Marshall
X Clarke- Windhager, 0 games for X
McEvoy- Heath- Mc Evoy didn't really play regular footy until 2010
L. Fisher- Webster- Leigh played 0 games
Hayes-Steele
Baker- Paton
Montagna- Gresham
Riewoldt- King
Schnides- Snags
Ball- Ross
Gardi- Campbell
R Clarke- DMac
Begley- Connolly -Begley 0 games
Goddard- Crouch
Gilbert- Battle
Armo- Owens -Armo 3 games
Heyne- Bytel -Heyne 0 games
Ray- Hill
Kozi- Membrey
Dempster- Wilkie -Dempster only payed 9 games in 2009
S Fisher- Howard
Dal Santo- Billings/ Hunter Clark
Blake- Hayes
Stanley- Wood -Stanley 0 games
Lynch- Sharman -Lynch 0 games
Maguire- Adams -Matt played 0 games
Mini Mac- Byrnes
Gwilt- Nas Gwilt 15 games
Steven- Clark -Stuv 1 game
Connors- Peris Connors 0 games
C Jones- Highmore
Smith- Kent Smith 0 games
Eddy- Long- Eddy 10 games
Cahill- Lienert- Cahill 0 games
Geary- Geary
Milne- Butler
Dawson- Wood/ Cordy

Had this rant on FB (interesting bunch in there), thought I would share it here.
It flushed out a few that’s re happy with the move.

I couldn’t be more happy today. Everything that needed to happened, has happened at st.Kilda.
A team I have supported and been a member of for nearly 40 years…We are team that is always happy to hope, do our best, the ‘also rans’. Finally our balls have dropped and we don’t give a stuff about what others think of us.

Pressure..is not a game plan. Kicking long to Max, is not a game plan. Taking a risk and backing yourself, is not a game plan.

So

Our head of football says we are irrelevant, a perception he and many others at other clubs obviously have of stkilda.

But now

They sack the coach with ice in their veins
Happy to trade pick 7 based on his work ethic and professional standards.
Move on our second in charge coach Bredndan Lade who was also underperforming, our fwd line was a mess. Moved on a no name midfield coach…and got back some heart and soul in Lenny.

And the club has ‘cut the throats’ of two of the nicest guys in footy Finnis and Ratts….yeah there would be some whispering among the playing group, media and general public, but I bet the players and supporters will be happy when the ‘nice’ ‘mate’ garbabge is parked and some high performance, uncompromising, professional standards are implemented in EVERY area of the club.

It is everything we needed to happen…everything.

Maybe there is hope for us yet

It was a cracking post except for the bit about Finnis. Absolutely vital in getting us back home.

2008 felt like the end of an era when we lost to the Hawks. GTrain, Harves, Goose, Fiora, X-Man types all moved on and the kids looked alright but not what they were to become over the next couple of years. Rooey went from a guy running around as a less accountable third tall to become the real focal point and his attitude changed from boy to man under Ross. Dal and Montagna went from Hunter Clark and Coffield to become guns. Goddard went from a developing player into an ultra competitive confident flog.

Ross inherited a list but the folklore that he was handed the keys to a star list that just walked into finals was not 100% accurate. He took over a promising side at Freo and moved them from where we are now to a serious threat.

Harvey had Freo play finals, win one then miss the next year after injury hit. Ross inherited a promising list but the idea that he's been spoon fed ready finals sides is not quite true. He might be past it or from a another era and nothing is guaranteed but he deserves to be looked at.
I feel like RTB potentially get the club asking the right question - we asked the wrong question this year !!

This years question from the coach - "Why not us?"

The correct question - "What do WE need to do for it to be us?"

I think they will all be fine. Footy players can adapt. They are also mentally tough. I doubt we lose anyone because of his hard approach. We really didn’t last time so I think it would be similar.

The only reason we aren't losing players now is because externally our players are seen as uncompetitive and tainted. The good players will leave when they can if we don't move forward. Standing still will make us wither.

It will be interesting to see if Roo and Joey come back to the club in some capacity.

From what has been said - We are starting to see the old guard come back the Dal and now Lenny.

Seems there was a bit of a drift/gap with that 09/10 team and the association with the club. Roo has mentioned it a few times on the couch that he really doesn't have much to do with them and they have never really reached out as well.

That was what happened at the Dogs when they came from nowhere to win the 2016 premiership.

I don't see RTB being our next coach.

Will hang my hat on that.

Might end up being wrong but I think its all just media speculation. RTB has been linked with every vacant coaching position over the last few years and I think its the same thing happening here.
This one feels a little different

He was last successful as a coach 8 years ago.

They say a weeks a long time in footy…

It bears consideration that there was no soft cap, no 6-6-6, stand, rotation limits were different etc etc. the last time he was good.
He's been out of senior AFL coaching ranks, not cryogenically frozen!!

I tread very careful hiring any old coach at the moment with the investigation going on in all clubs because of the Clarkson problems.
Ross's time at Fremantle was far from smooth , Neale and Langdon was said to of left because of him and there were many that left really pissed.

To me this say's it all

"He's created a toxic environment," former AFL player Brad Hardie said on Macquarie Sports Radio.

"It's not a happy camp at all, he's a self-promoter and he looks in the rear-view mirror far too much and refers back to his days at St Kilda.

"He's got a very odd style of coaching, it's a very damage control style first, winning the game second.

"I have to sit here and cringe on the east coast all the time because he has a lot of friends."
I have contacts who know Mark Harvey, you would not believe the crap they have to put up with at that insular football club if you aren't from WA.
Didn't hear these Hardy types when he took them to finals and the Granny.
Insular small little provincial town with an insecurity complex writ large on that football club and their client media.

The only reason we aren't losing players now is because externally our players are seen as uncompetitive and tainted. The good players will leave when they can if we don't move forward. Standing still will make us wither.
Well surely is the other clubs start seeing them as competitive then it follows you are winning more games this they will surely want to stay.