Autopsy Sydney Legacy in Grand Finals continues 10 goal loss to the Lions

I don't get it. We're they scared running out like some are claiming? Or were they too relaxed like some are claiming?

I don't know what they could show me, but I certainly at no stage saw that desperation that this was everything, you know diving efforts , massive chases, people worn out from how hard they just worked.

I saw a lack of movement , lack of chasing etc won't name names but there was one in the second from a forward that looked like they couldn't be bothered breaking a jog

I don't get it. We're they scared running out like some are claiming? Or were they too relaxed like some are claiming?
They were jittery as during the national anthem. Literally every player was flicking ants off their legs. Lions didn't move a muscle. I was actually super concentrated on that as it stuck out like a sore thumb in 22 as well.

After struggling to digest what had happened in that disaster, with much reluctance I watched the grand final replay (up to half time) and then watched the different analysis on fox.
Here is what I've learnt:
-pressure rating of 158. Fuc*ing disgraceful for any game let alone a GF
-our defensive pressure was non existent
-our zone defensive structure was shocking, allowed them acres of space to kick the ball through and around the swans. Lions are the best team at doing this in the comp - how we allowed this is beyond me. This speaks to coaching and also effort.
-our ball movement was slow. We either did short kicks with no damage, or kicked long to our disadvantage.
-lost so many 1-1's
-our forward line was sooooo slow with the 3 KPF's and Parker. No ability to lock the ball in or win ground ball.
So for me the above speaks to a combination of bad game day coaching/planning and a horrific lack of intent and effort. I've got no doubt the boys wanted to win this one so badly - so I can only gather that they were totally overwhelmed by the occasion. It's almost like their fears left them crippled mentally and had a fog.

I take some solace from the fact that since the adoption of the AFL name in 1990, even if you factor out our three smashings since 2014, the average grand final full time margin is still about 38 points.

Even without our three smashings, there have been fifteen games with margins of 40 or more.

There have only been seven games with a margin of 10 or less.

So grand finals have a clear tendency to be blowouts. It is a characteristic of our comp unfortunately. I don’t know if the AFL and the networks have considered addressing it, but it’s not great for the long term appeal of the event.

Our specific problem at the Swans is we’re quite good at getting to these AFL grand finals, which have an undeniable tendency to be blowouts. And then once we’re there, we’re really bad at being on the winning side of these blowouts that AFL grand finals so strongly tend to be.

They were jittery as during the national anthem. Literally every player was flicking ants off their legs. Lions didn't move a muscle. I was actually super concentrated on that as it stuck out like a sore thumb in 22 as well.
I reckon they were overwhelmed by the fear of losing rather than focussed on what they needed to do. It totally crippled them. I'm not sure this team can bounce back from this to play in another GF without some serious change. There is going to be some serious scarring.

Someone at work had a family friend who supports us apparently has finished themselves saturday night .

It's just footy but it means a lot if anyone needs to talk sing out to someone, message me i will talk to you, don't suffer alone.

This will all be fine , sorry to post this but just saying

I don't know what they could show me, but I certainly at no stage saw that desperation that this was everything, you know diving efforts , massive chases, people worn out from how hard they just worked.

I saw a lack of movement , lack of chasing etc won't name names but there was one in the second from a forward that looked like they couldn't be bothered breaking a jog
Spot on. It's so hard to comprehend the lack of effort. I was at the ground, high up and every time a swans player took a mark i was screaming out, give him an option, where is a lead etc.
Watched on the couch last night and one of the defensive efforts from Gulden was unforgivable which led to a goal. We were only 8 points down at the time and its like he had given up.. well he certainly did on the chase.
We made it very easy for the Lions.

After struggling to digest what had happened in that disaster, with much reluctance I watched the grand final replay (up to half time) and then watched the different analysis on fox.
Here is what I've learnt:
-pressure rating of 158. Fuc*ing disgraceful for any game let alone a GF
-our defensive pressure was non existent
-our zone defensive structure was shocking, allowed them acres of space to kick the ball through and around the swans. Lions are the best team at doing this in the comp - how we allowed this is beyond me. This speaks to coaching and also effort.
-our ball movement was slow. We either did short kicks with no damage, or kicked long to our disadvantage.
-lost so many 1-1's
-our forward line was sooooo slow with the 3 KPF's and Parker. No ability to lock the ball in or win ground ball.
So for me the above speaks to a combination of bad game day coaching/planning and a horrific lack of intent and effort. I've got no doubt the boys wanted to win this one so badly - so I can only gather that they were totally overwhelmed by the occasion. It's almost like their fears left them crippled mentally and had a fog.
You can take it to the bank the players were just waiting in hope that everyone around them would play a part in getting the game going rather than focussing on their own individual effort. We're a confidence team hence the gulf between our best and worst + our inconsistencies from qtr to qtr especially our starts.

Said it before and i'll say it again, our team are a bunch of boys, not men. I know it's a weird observation but other than a few individuals who in that team has a wife and kids? I say that because there tends to be a natural mental progression and maturity when those events occur in ones life. You tend to gain more perspective and approach opportunities in life with better application and integrity. And i know it'll happen in time but this group is still immature. Even some of our player interviews seem like one big joke in comparison to the older heads at brisbane.

Someone at work had a family friend who supports us apparently has finished themselves saturday night .

It's just footy but it means a lot if anyone needs to talk sing out to someone, message me i will talk to you, don't suffer alone.

This will all be fine , sorry to post this but just saying
Oh my that is just awful. And just to reinforce what you said, if anyone is struggling, sing out.

I reckon they were overwhelmed by the fear of losing rather than focussed on what they needed to do. It totally crippled them. I'm not sure this team can bounce back from this to play in another GF without some serious change. There is going to be some serious scarring.
Roos is right. We need to make the hard calls in terms of list management. Too many players are obviously scarred by these GF floggings. What that may look like, I have no idea. Perhaps Parker and possibly Warner requesting trades may help. Definitely need some new coaches coming in with different ideas. We got to stop hiring ex Swans players as coaches.

Been reading my play book lol

Couldn’t agree with this statement more. Only Dean Cox is the outsider in our coaching admin team I think
There is Adam Simpson out there - great strategist - Choco Williams you hear a lot of players talk about as being great. I think Bedford (?) mentioned Trent Cotchin, Stewy Dew was available. I am sure there are other avenues out there besides only looking at Ex Swans players.

Also, we keep banging on about the Bloods culture and how it's gone missing, but most our coaches were around when that culture was alive and well, but where the **** is it? It's alive only in name.

The fundamental thing about a zone defence is that everyone has to be absolutely committed. If someone ends up about 5 metres out of place an AFL player can hit the kick. The other thing is that the zone defence relies on the ball being kept in front of the defence, because then they still have to kick over the zone. Once it got broken down on the lions first goal where they had 4 players on 2 inside their fifty which was their first serious attack you knew we were in trouble, the lions knew they could get it through and i reckon the swans themselves started doubting.

The thing about handovers is that when you hand over you have to rely on your team mate then taking the next guy. If you run forward to impact or hold up you have to impact or hold up.

The first quarter was just a cluster as was the second. The only difference was the lions messed some incredibly gettable kicks in the first and made some harder ones in the second

Also, we keep banging on about the Bloods culture and how it's gone missing, but most our coaches were around when that culture was alive and well, but where the **** is it? It's alive only in name.
Exactly, Kirk, McVeigh and Matthews were there when we branded the Bloods culture, surely they have some say.

There is Adam Simpson out there - great strategist - Choco Williams you hear a lot of players talk about as being great. I think Bedford (?) mentioned Trent Cotchin, Stewy Dew was available. I am sure there are other avenues out there besides only looking at Ex Swans players.

Rory Sloane great reputation , we need someone young like him , not 50yo's

As an aside - on all the desire for assistant coaches - longmire and kingsley have been rabbiting on about the soft cap on coaching noting that they havent been able to recruit from outside sydney because its too expensive for a new coach to uproot and come to sydney - maybe theyve tried to recruit assistants from elsewhere and havent got them over the line when they told them theyd have to live in a caravan

We won a flag with an ex player coaching and then a handover to a coach who was already with us.

They don't have to be from outside necessarily.

They just need to be the right person! They need to make tough calls. From the outside I think Horse loves his boys and it's all to chummy and insular now.

Maybe we just need a fresh voice and he does nothing wrong , it's just the same stuff over and over.

I mean we got Pyke in, Cameron etc guys left and came back . They are trying.

At some stage we have to look at the constants- Horse has been through all of these, and as players so have guys like Parker, Rampe , Lloyd, Cunningham (though didn't play in all 4) Guys everyone love just can't get it done now and we need to make some hard calls.

I think much of what Roosy said made sense - I just don't know who he means. Is it the bunch of players we just bent over backwards to retain on long contracts? Is it the young gun that was probably our best player in the last GF and was instrumental in getting us to the grannie in the first place? Is it the peripheral players that we don't really count on much anyway? It's hard to know where to go when you think the problem is the personnel.

Bucks talking now how hard we used to be and questioning the bloods culture and he's right

Maybe this group needs to forget bloods culture and whatever that is and forge its own way and commit fully.

To me the bloods will always be that Roosy group. Winning clubs all have strong cultures.

Autopsy Sydney Legacy in Grand Finals continues 10 goal loss to the Lions