News Teams RD 7:- Fremantle v Carlton

Couldn't agree more! Gee its harsh on him. Especially when he wasn't the worse and actually adds something if he was play better like this week, unlike others we all know about.
Houilhan rarely puts 2 ordinary or poor games.I'm sure he was in the best in the first 3 weeks,so it is weird,maybe his getting the blame for us losing against the Hawks,didn't know he played on Roughead and stayed there for 4 quarters getting 8 goals on him without someone else getting him.It must have been great for Roughead knowing nobody wanted to make a move.

I wonder if the MC appear all over the place because they know we will be top 4 for the next 10 years and challenging for the cup in 3, and they want to see which of the periphery players we will take with us ;):)

You could have a point but If they were thinking like that they would be better off just dropping Stevo, Thorn, Clokey, Wiggy (and Hoops) now and putting more games into the boys who are likely to be around for the silverware. ;)

What do you think of bringing 3 experiments in in the same week Gilly. I am pretty sure they want to win this one after losing last week :confused:

In my original post Ratts show some balls i said a big name should be dropped.Ratts must read this forum.

Well you hope you don't cop it,lol after we get beaten,a big risk with the 4 points playing 3 players probably not ready on a ground we don't play at all on and Dockers probably prefer to play there then the Melbourne Ovals.

Why's that?

Houlihan didn't chase or apply any pressure last week against a side that isn't quick.

Houla was awful.

Russell lifted after half time and gave us some run in the second half.

Fremantle are a quicker side than Hawthorn with Hinkley, Hill, Peake, Hayden and Ibbotson, so we need Russell's, Yarran's, Armfield's, Betts' and Joseph's pace and second efforts in the 22.

I would have dropped Cloke, but his selection might be a structural one.

Definately agree there. Obviously didn't like it when it was so hard and tough in the contests. I love Hoops and his delivery into the forward line and at the goals is superb but hopefully Yarran can add a spark to substitute for him. I'm sure he'll be back soon enough. My supercoach team needs him.

Gee i hope Hampson goes well,
saw him in a NAB/praccy v Port 2008,
and he blitzed, played all over the shop,
took marks, kicked goals, jumped like a deer.

Would rather him play on ball (ruck), than a set position,
suppose it was out of him and the Irish bloke for the same role.

Isn't too flash on the run and leap mark,
is more like Tippett, taking basketball type jumps.
And he is a much bigger unit.

Good luck to him.

You could have a point but If they were thinking like that they would be better off just dropping Stevo, Thorn, Clokey, Wiggy (and Hoops) now and putting more games into the boys who are likely to be around for the silverware. ;)

What do you think of bringing 3 experiments in in the same week Gilly. I am pretty sure they want to win this one after losing last week :confused:

I'm not sure I'd call them experiments mate. Hammo is a logical choice for mine, he's been showing good signs in the ants and with his leap is the only bloke we have who has a chance to negate Sandilands in the ruck. Yarran might be an experiment in terms of AFL, but we know his class, and if Suban and Hill can get a gig, I can find the time for Yazza. Austin is an interesting call, but again he is probably being rewarded for consistent form in the 2's. I don't think we're taking it lightly.:thumbsu:

Appears the Carlton MC are willing to take chances against Fremantle. I'd suggest they've got a predetermined idea on certain players and are willing to gamble on this match. I hope it works out.

Bentley - Didnt have a good match last week and probably deserved to be dropped, however his form has been good with the Bullants and he will continue to push for another chance.

Hadley - Surprised that he was dropped and his form with the Bullants probably reflects that he shouldnt have been. (Fair swap for Bentley)

Setanta - Endeavour is top rate, however will always have the question mark of whether his skills and decision making are AFL standard.

Hampson - Top rate athlete and the MC probably need to evaluate where he is at. Carlton dont have a ruckmen to match Sandilands with height or body and would be hoping he can use his 101+ vertical leap to combat him and give our mids a chance. (Fair swap for Setanta)

Houlihan - Silky smooth skills who knows where the goals are. At times lacks intensity or accountability.

Yarran - Silky smooth skills who knows where the goals are. At times lacks intensity or accountability. (Unsure if its a fair swap considering he has only played one decent match with the Bullants and he was out last week with a hamstring strain.)

Carrazzo - injured.

Austin - KPP who can play back and forward.
(Last 2 Bullants matches he has shown fairly good form. May be required for a specific role ie. replace Cloke if not performing)

I reckon the MC could have held off at least one of these changes.

EDIT: Just realised guys, that this is my 1000th post. Very proud to reach this milestone![/quote]
God I remember doing 1000 in about 4 hours last Xmas eve whilst destroying a bottle of Tequila
Remember santa's little helper?
4148SUSENDERSANTA.jpg

Really pleased with these changes for the weekend. Getting Yarran, Hampson and Austin in is really rewarding our kids with solid performances with the Bullants. And, great to see Hadley back in the team also.

Have been hearing good things about Austin, so i'm hoping to see some signs at AFL level.

I think there is little doubt that Houlihan has been dropped for failing to meet his KPIs. Ratts mentioned a few weeks ago that Hoops had certain KPIs that he must meet to maintain his spot in the side.

After a solid start to the season when he was attacking the ball strongly & consistently laying tackles, his last 3 games have seen more of the old Hoops than the new Hoops. His omission will be a test of his mental strength. If he cops it on the chin & rips it up in the VFL, he will quickly find his way back into the seniors. If he takes it personally & gives less than 100% in the VFL, he will struggle to find his way back to the seniors in the short term.

Hoops could be a very important player when we are at our peak, as we all know how good his finishing skills are, but he has to do the right things now to ensure he will still be around when we are challenging for the ultimate success.

I think there is little doubt that Houlihan has been dropped for failing to meet his KPIs. Ratts mentioned a few weeks ago that Hoops had certain KPIs that he must meet to maintain his spot in the side.

After a solid start to the season when he was attacking the ball strongly & consistently laying tackles, his last 3 games have seen more of the old Hoops than the new Hoops. His omission will be a test of his mental strength. If he cops it on the chin & rips it up in the VFL, he will quickly find his way back into the seniors. If he takes it personally & gives less than 100% in the VFL, he will struggle to find his way back to the seniors in the short term.

Hoops could be a very important player when we are at our peak, as we all know how good his finishing skills are, but he has to do the right things now to ensure he will still be around when we are challenging for the ultimate success.

Agree. Came as a bit of a surprise but his attack on the footy was definitely subpar on the weekend.

That said, I'm very excited about the ins. Youth is always good and these three boys are some of our most promising. Austin is a bit of an unknown but boy it'd be handy if he could step up on the big stage as he looks capable of playing both forward and back.

Fingers crossed about... Steve.
You mean Gorak :)

VERY angry at fox and 10.
What's going on with this... no coverage?

Australia Network have this match scheduled for broadcast on Saturday night, but they rely on Ten, Seven and Fox for coverage. Australia Network is fickle at the best of times with their AFL programing, so given they're my only means of watching the game, you've got me worried.

The match committee is totally vindicated with its decisions...

No passengers will ever play in a GF side... No one who puts is a soft effort should be in the side...

Last Saturday's effort was only a small glimpse of what September is like, and yes Houlihan, O'hAilpin, and Bentley were way out of their league...

People want the head of Russell, but looking closely at the replay, his job at times was to keep was Osborne quiet, and i think he did a pretty good job. Russell may never get the 30+ touches we expect from a top 10 pick, but as long as he does the jobs the MC present to him (WHICH WE WILL NEVER KNOW) he deserves his spot...

Cloke was VERY VERY lucky. Personally i dont think that Clokey will be a part of our next premiership side... but we could not have O'hAilpin, Hampson & Kreuzer all in side together. Cloke is a far better forward option then Carlos and that is why he holds his spot...

For all this, i ask, WHERE ARE YOU BRAD FISHER ??? surely now after over 100 games you would be pressing for selection... Is this the end for Fish??? Are he and Wiggo fighting for the same position??? Wiggo in turn didnt have the best outing last week, and both players have their own kicking deficiencies... but i reckon Fish is a better set shot for goal...

From what i have seen, Yarran's intensity at the ball is pretty poor... but he does have amazing and freakish abilities, and along with Eddie they both can put on a massive magic show... :thumbsu:

Congrats to both Yazza (Debut) and Gibbsy (50 games)...

We have taken a few steps in building a great team this season so far. Part of having a young side is having them learn to work together as a team. We should have been udeaten so far, but hey I am pleased with the development I can see.

I'd like to think that Yarran could look to both Fevola and Betts, to see what is expected of him with pressure and intensity in the forward line. If I had one critisism of him, it was he didn't do nearly enough to pressure the opposition when they had the ball. Although, him having 10 tackles a couple of weeks ago is a promising sign.

He could be one of these players who just got though the motions in the reserves. But when it comes to senior footy, then he lifts. Well at least I hope its the case, but like you said HBF 2 weeks ago he had a very good game in the reserves.

The match committee is totally vindicated with its decisions...

No passengers will ever play in a GF side... No one who puts is a soft effort should be in the side...

Last Saturday's effort was only a small glimpse of what September is like, and yes Houlihan, O'hAilpin, and Bentley were way out of their league...

People want the head of Russell, but looking closely at the replay, his job at times was to keep was Osborne quiet, and i think he did a pretty good job. Russell may never get the 30+ touches we expect from a top 10 pick, but as long as he does the jobs the MC present to him (WHICH WE WILL NEVER KNOW) he deserves his spot...

Cloke was VERY VERY lucky. Personally i dont think that Clokey will be a part of our next premiership side... but we could not have O'hAilpin, Hampson & Kreuzer all in side together. Cloke is a far better forward option then Carlos and that is why he holds his spot...

For all this, i ask, WHERE ARE YOU BRAD FISHER ??? surely now after over 100 games you would be pressing for selection... Is this the end for Fish??? Are he and Wiggo fighting for the same position??? Wiggo in turn didnt have the best outing last week, and both players have their own kicking deficiencies... but i reckon Fish is a better set shot for goal...

From what i have seen, Yarran's intensity at the ball is pretty poor... but he does have amazing and freakish abilities, and along with Eddie they both can put on a massive magic show... :thumbsu:

Congrats to both Yazza (Debut) and Gibbsy (50 games)...

Fisher should come good in the second half of the season,remember he stuffed up his arm and i reckon his pre season started in Round 1 and his below his best.

Robbie Warnock hasn't even started his pre season really and i be surprised if he plays any AFL this year. He probably comes in the bullants in the second half of the season and would take like 2 months like in the pre season.

Fisher should come good in the second half of the season,remember he stuffed up his arm and i reckon his pre season started in Round 1 and his below his best.

Robbie Warnock hasn't even started his pre season really and i be surprised if he plays any AFL this year. He probably comes in the bullants in the second half of the season and would take like 2 months like in the pre season.

Completely agree RS.
I wouldn't even worry about Warnock this year - let him get his body right, and if he can come back and play a few games with the Ants, then that would be great. I think we need to think about him for next year, and that he is cherry ripe to go come round 1.

News Teams RD 7:- Fremantle v Carlton