Review The good, the bad, the shat - vs Fremantle R3 2024

How many games will we win from our first 10?

Tex couldn't even bend below his knees. Every time the ball was down there he'd fresh air a hack off the ground attempt.

Awful delivery but it begs the question as to why didn't we give him another week or two to get the back right.
And why did we choose to stick him on a 3 hour flight to WA with a crook back.

Begs the question why he’d put his hand up to play. We’ve been told that the coaches trust the senior players’ understanding of their ability to play. People need to realise that Tex is no less self indulgent than Rory.
This is such an indictment on the club. Our highest paid staffer is Darren Burgess, yet we leave it to the player to tell him if he can play. It's nothing short of amateur 1980's footy club rubbish.

The deification of Burgess I find amusing. If you believed 3/4 of the posters here, he was the single reason Melbourne won a flag. And apparently he also has the final say on selection.

Who do we play twice?
We’ve given them a massive leg up this year.
Port, Geelong, Sydney, Hawthorn, Essendon and Brisbane.

Doubt it matters for the Hawks, but I'm sure Geelong will appreciate the easy leg up in Round 21.

I think we're terrified to pull Rankine and Rachele from the forward line because without them our forward line would be even more trash

That's because of an inability to find low cost decent small forwards which most of the rest of the competition has been able to do. Compounded by trading out McAdam and crucifying Stengle

I mean look at what our forward line would be without Rankine, Rachele and Pedlar

It would be Keays, Murphy, McHenry and the talls. Putrid stuff

If we'd drafted say McCreery instead of Rowe and found another small somewhere in the rookie draft like a Brad Close type we'd be in a lot better shape to send our talents up the ground
What's the point of having small forwards who play in the midfield if your not going to put other small forwards in the forward line? We never have anyone crumbing ball hits deck opposition defenders run it out the opposite side it came in.....why.....because all our forward crumbers are up the the ground at the stoppage

On Pixel 7 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

I still remember the discussion on FiveAA after our trial game win against West Coast. They were saying how unlucky half a dozen players were going to be to miss selection and how good our depth was.
If rounds 1-3 are an indication of the standard of player our coaches are happy to put in the AFL team, we actually bat pretty deep

Brodie Smith, Lachlan Murphy, Wayne Milera, Darcy Fogarty, Riley O’Brien, Mitch Hinge plus Jordan Dawson.

Yep, there is group you would want to go into battle with.

FMD, our playing group surely didn’t pick these lot. Seriously?

Reckon what happened is players picked a different group of players and then the coaches said, no way, this is the group we want.
Simon Goodwin: Neil, during the last leadership group meeting-

Neil Craig: Sorry Simon – who’s in the leadership group again?

Simon Goodwin: Me, Truck, Symesy, VB, Dogga…

Neil Craig: (closes eyes and opens imaginary envelope) What is… this weeks’ list of outs!

<everyone laughs except Simon Goodwin>

Mark Bickley: Youdaman, Neil!

Neil Craig: Sorry Simon, only joking. You guys are going great. Not your fault.

And why did we choose to stick him on a 3 hour flight to WA with a crook back.
0-2

We just really needed a win, you see

We'll wheel Sloane out there after zero SANFL games as soon as we can

Our history in this is horrendous.
People a lot of the time put the blame on the senior players for that. The club is incompetent in so many areas and this is yet another one.

The management of Brad Crouch's groin issues and delaying his operation, pissing him off. Management of others. Playing a number of players over the years injured including in finals.

I mentioned a few years ago I knew the advice was for Tex to not play with his foot issues but they pushed ahead and ****ed his foot right up for a few seasons.

His back is stuffed right now (it's like most forget he missed round 1 with it) but they'll push him through. You don't go from playing like a KPF D.Jarman to not being able to move in a couple months. Look at him, he doesn't even want to bend. Not stretching high to mark the ball, sticking one hand up.
The Lynch sub incident in 2021 was an indictment on the professionalism of this club, and it would appear we haven't learned anything.

It is if his back isnt right, thats the point. Perhaps follow the conversation...

I am following.

This is professional sports... Percentages decide whether players play or sit out.

Have you ever had a back injury? Being forced to sit upright for 3 hours 20 minutes can set you back massively. Or you can get there and be feeling fit and ready to go with a massage.

There is no rule book on recovery from a back injury.

I don't buy Nicks excuse that we have a ton of players out of form

Maybe if there were 3 or 4 guys, sure. We have 20 players supposedly out of form

The real reason IMO is our trash game plan that our players are so confused about they aren't able to execute
Is it not also his job to ummmm, you know, get the team prepared for the season by having them round themselves INTO form by game number 1?

What exactly does that man do? :rolleyes:

It is if his back isnt right, thats the point. Perhaps follow the conversation...
What's worse, our midfield lineup or your quarterback tandem?

:p

OK ....here's my feelings

Despite those who find a negative in anything and everything .....I have thoroughly enjoyed the rebuild .....by-n-large, the Club has done a great job

But as I've said, all PS .....the expectations in year 5 were of a completed rebuild, challenging ......not this s**t !

Two weeks in a row now, I have switched off & watched a movie at half time .....I never do that, but the ineptness was truly clear to see B4 the half time break .....and my predictions came to fruition

The Coach have right royally stuffed up ! .....and it's more than simply team selection ....it's mindset, gameplan, and meek acceptance by Nicks

The first Qtr, clearly showed the gameplan intent, Dawson supreme, and all going well .....then we introduced the stats gathering machine, and from that point the wheels fell off !
Our midfield structure has been destroyed, simply because we want to fit X,Y,Z players in .....rather than structure determining which players are selected

Problem #1
3 x weeks in a row now, the statline for Gold Coast, Geelong, and Fremantle, have been extraordinary ......whilst we've accumulated low hurt disposals .....the opposition have feasted on our sorry carcasses

The statline is the same in all 3 matches ...

View attachment 1944036

Problem #2
Our backline of Hinge, Smith, and Milera, has been horrid .....and that's being polite

Hinge, has made poor decision after poor decision .....and then backed it up with just woeful disposal
But this is not new .....no, this was evidenced in the PS games as well

Smith allowed a 33 YO fringe player now, in Walters ....a bit player, to have 21 disposals ....and kick 2 goals 4

And what happened to getting the ball into the hands of our best distributor off HB, Milera .....we never looked for him at all
Every other Club, is getting the ball into the hands of MWM, Clarke, Houston, Whitfield ect

Problem #3
God help our FWD line, when Dawson is running at 58% DE ......and 9 turnovers in a match, and Crouch is dinking the ball all over the place

Player comments
Borlase
....simply has no engine to stay with repeat lead forwards ....he's had enough PS campaigns to fix

Pedlar .....what you sow, you reap ....send him to the SANFL, obviously lacked the commitment over the PS

Rachele ....I'll say it again, I just don't see the X-Factor ! ......He'll be a good player, but any comparison to Greene is frankly laughable
3rd season now, some of these match winning traits should be on full show now .....nope
He's still getting caught with a lack of awareness of who's around him .....and definitely not the player people have bought into and raved about
Ok 3 weeks in a row you’ve bagged Nicks. If we hadn’t re-signed him, would you be re-signing him this week?

I am following.

This is professional sports... Percentages decide whether players play or sit out.

Have you ever had a back injury? Being forced to sit upright for 3 hours 20 minutes can set you back massively. Or you can get there and be feeling fit and ready to go with a massage.

There is no rule book on recovery from a back injury.
Lol the irony, I've had back issues since my 20's and am nursing 2 weeks of back pain as we speak. I can tell you, back pain is not assisted by 3 hours on a cramped airplane seat. The three hours back wont do him any favours either.

Review The good, the bad, the shat - vs Fremantle R3 2024