Analysis The rebuild of Carlton and Brisbane and their future prospects

Which team has the better future prospects on-field?

I reckon they are better now than they were 12 months ago.

Like many of us, I watch every game of footy - for the last 3 years, part of that's been looking at the Lions for small signs of improvement - well, we're reaping the rewards now. Carlton will get there.

Carlton strike many Lions fans as being about 12 months away from where we are now - so bang on all you like as an opposition supporter about where they are in the rebuild, where it started, how good the drafting has been....they are making progress. Yes, if Bolton doesn't get some wins it'll make for some tough decisions at Princes Park - but, the improvement is there.

Brisbane have smashed this rebuild out of the park. All credit goes to Fagan and the clubs leadership. Fantastic effort to turn that club around. They are the most watchable team going around.

I've posted my thoughts on Carlton a few pages ago mate - you'll get there and don't let the muppets shout you down (I know you won't but just giving you a bit of support :))

If we start getting flogged like last year (assuming not everyone gets injured) he will be in massive trouble.

We are coming from a long way back and GC starting well has rubbed salt into the wound as it’s very likely we will still win the spoon, even with improvement.
So do you have a certain win/loss ratio expectation for Carlton in 2019? Of course, you'd like to see as many wins as possible, bit being competitive in games is important too. I remember in the not too distant past, I'd go & watch a Lion's game & just hope that we would at least be competitive & not get thrashed. I've liked what I have seen of Carlton so far this year. They are on the improve.

Well at least 5 wins you’d hope. 8 I imagine would be possible if we managed to keep the majority of the list healthy and got over the line in a few 50-50 matches

Looking forward to the Suns v Blues game should be a very interesting affair , it doesn't have to be 2 sides with amazing skills and systems for me to enjoy a game. The desperation , the hopes on the line and the psychological aspects of the game should be fascinating

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Lot of talk about Carlton being a year behind us. Carlton's best case is that they're a year behind us I reckon, and I don't think they're definitely on the same trajectory which is what seems to be the implied thing.

Lot of high picks who haven't shown anywhere near enough to convince me. They've also been more competitive this year sure, but you're not going to win many games when you struggle to get over 80 points a game. Our defense always leaked a lot of points but we always had the ability to at least score enough to knock off some teams.

?? The Carlton fans in this thread overwhelmingly support Bolton.
That’s a handful of posters. I think most Carlton fans are happy to give a coach a bit of time to prove himself. After all he has had to deal with a list that has been chopped and changed and last year cruelled by injury.

This is probably his first year with a list that more resembles what the club wants to win with long term so how he performs this year will be a significant factor in whether or not he hangs around. I don’t think many Carlton fans would disagree.

?? The Carlton fans in this thread overwhelmingly support Bolton.
Unfortunately for bolts tho he can only work with the hand he’s been dealt.

It’s interesting a lot of Carlton fans are quite happy to give SOS the benefit of the doubt and all the time in the world but don’t really afford the same leniency towards Bolton.
One a Carlton legend , the other an out of Towner....

It’s interesting a lot of Carlton fans are quite happy to give SOS the benefit of the doubt and all the time in the world but don’t really afford the same leniency towards Bolton.

None of this has any relationship with reality.

How many is a lot?

Well as they say in the ads, past performance IS a reliable predictor of future performance.

Except that the ads say the complete opposite.

Neutral. Why does my view have to be positive? Im allowed an opinion. You dont have to be offended by it.
Last week anyone that had a different opinion to you you called a moron, and we already know your opinion on Carlton.

Analysis The rebuild of Carlton and Brisbane and their future prospects