Analysis The Rebuilds of Geelong and Richmond and their Future Prospects

Who has the better future prospects?

Bruhn, Holmes, Dempsey, Clark . . . the future looks bright for the Cats.

I reckon we bugger off Stanley & Tuohy and bring in Conway & Bowes and start to build toward another finals assault :thumbsu:
Henry was quiet but he popped up at the end for a crucial mark+goal. Dempsey's a ridiculous find. :thumbsu:

Both clubs with a plethora of their all time greats either retired or very close too. No matter who comes in, odds are stacked that the road will be bumpy. No doubting the Cats at the moment are much better placed for a finals appearance this year, but only in a "making up the numbers" manner.....
But you can see signs of the kids taking over at least. For the players retiring potentially end of 2024/2025, Dangerfield was excellent but Duncan/Tuohy/Stanley/Hawkins as a collective weren't our best players.

After being off for most of the first quarter, Bruhn racked up plenty of footy at the coal face. He's only starting his second season as a full time midfielder as opposed to a peripheral flanker.

Holmes was dynamite and arguably our main point of difference.

Dempsey was one of our best players.

Clark will be decent once he gets a run of games under his belt. The composure wasn't there for his first full game of AFL.

SDK and O.Henry (although Ollie would usually convert 3 for 3 from his opportunities tonight) disappointed but there's talent there and they have runs on the board.

There's something to work with. It's a bit harder to see that with Richmond's young players.

But you can see signs of the kids taking over at least. For the players retiring potentially end of 2024/2025, Dangerfield was excellent but Duncan/Tuohy/Stanley/Hawkins as a collective weren't our best players.

After being off for most of the first quarter, Bruhn racked up plenty of footy at the coal face. He's only starting his second season as a full time midfielder as opposed to a peripheral flanker.

Holmes was dynamite and arguably our main point of difference.

Dempsey was one of our best players.

Clark will be decent once he gets a run of games under his belt. The composure wasn't there for his first full game of AFL.

SDK and O.Henry (although Ollie would usually convert 3 for 3 from his opportunities tonight) disappointed but there's talent there and they have runs on the board.

There's something to work with. It's a bit harder to see that with Richmond's young players.

He’s my favourite remaining player so I pay extra attention to Hawkins - I was a bit worried early on but as the game wore on it just looked like he was just missing touch more than anything: missed a shot he would normally kick, he set Cameron up perfectly for a shot he should have converted and gave off a beautiful little pass to Duncan that he should have finished as well and probably should have finished the game with a couple of goals and a couple of assists and suddenly it looks like a genuinely strong game so I’m not worried about him.

This year for the yellow and black is all about getting some games into the younger players, many of whom we have little or no idea about at top level, while they still have blokes like Dusty, Grimes, Vlas, Nank, Lynch etc to learn from.

Also, Yze is 2 games into his tenure, so whatever game style he is developing has to take hold too.

This year for the yellow and black is all about getting some games into the younger players, many of whom we have little or no idea about at top level, while they still have blokes like Dusty, Grimes, Vlas, Nank, Lynch etc to learn from.

Also, Yze is 2 games into his tenure, so whatever game style he is developing has to take hold too.

You picked every single mature player available on Thursday.

To start with this year is clearly about being as good as you can be. As it should be for every team. Older guns like Martin, Grimes, Lynch, Prestia, etc deserve the chance to have a crack at being as good as they can be this year. Which is what Yze is doing for now.

Same as Geelong. Dangerfield, Hawkins, etc deserve the chance to have a crack this year. The difference is Geelong are leaving out experienced players (Bews and Parfitt) and playing their kids because they think they're in their best team. And it showed with Dempsey, Holmes and Bruhn being really good.

Both clubs with a plethora of their all time greats either retired or very close too. No matter who comes in, odds are stacked that the road will be bumpy. No doubting the Cats at the moment are much better placed for a finals appearance this year, but only in a "making up the numbers" manner.....
I won't be surprised if we finish top 4.
History says a team makes top 4 after missing finals the year prior.
We have a healthy list, exciting youth and a relatively soft draw.

Are Richmond fans now on the gut it and start again bandwagon? Use Taranto, Hopper and whatever is left of Prestia to protect the kids they draft the next 5 years and start stockpiling that talent. Let Baker and Dusty go and see what some desperate team gives for Lynch after keeping him on the park all year.

There is just about to be so so many holes to fill in a year or two which is the draft system working as intended

Tbh I think this Friday against Adelaide we will know where geelong is currently at.

I don't see it but finals is definitely on the cards.
I reckon we need De Koning to desperately break out and become a star defender. I think right now, he's doing what many 23yr old kpp's do, struggling with consistency until they hit 75-100 games.

Holmes is on the verge of breaking out as it is but in order to bridge the gap on those teams who have a quartet of star mids entering 100-150 games, Cats need a bit more from the midfield. Had we snagged Parish, that would have really bolstered our chances. Just seem to be one elite mid short at the minute.

It's fun though. Never quite going out of contention and seemingly remaining in the mix (like Sydney) :thumbsu:

It'll be interesting to see Richmond's selections this week. 2 key defenders and a mid out.

Surely if Tom Brown is ever going to make it he has to be picked this week given the defenders out.

I'm especially interested in what they do about Ross and Dow.

Ross is so fumbly, isn't damaging with the ball and gets torched defensively. 6th year in the system and he's fringe at best. Surely there are better options for the future? Judson Clarke for one looked so much more classy last year.

Dow is a very good handballer so at least has an obvious strength. But he has zero physicality. So the whiff of some body contact and he becomes uncompetitive. In 2 games as an inside mid with 75% game time he's managed 22 touches, 0 centre clearances, 3 tackles and 5 score involvements. That would be poor output for a single game for an inside mid let alone 2.

If it were me I'd put a line through these two. Surely there are young players who show more than 5-6 year players who are still deeply flawed. Time to see what Sonsie, Banks, Coulthard, Clarke, etc can provide.

Are Richmond fans now on the gut it and start again bandwagon? Use Taranto, Hopper and whatever is left of Prestia to protect the kids they draft the next 5 years and start stockpiling that talent. Let Baker and Dusty go and see what some desperate team gives for Lynch after keeping him on the park all year.

There is just about to be so so many holes to fill in a year or two which is the draft system working as intended
You just can't cut too deep, we have already lost so much experience the last few years, Grigg, Caddy, Houli, Edwards, Cotch, Riewoldt & Lambert. Grimes is another one who is likely to hang them up at the end of the year you can't just roll out 22 kids, or you will become North and be uncompetitive for 10 years.

Trading Lynch, Vlastuin, Baker or Short these type of guys would be silly you need some bigger bodies around the group.
You offer Liam Baker a fair but not overs deal, but you don't push him out the door.

You just can't cut too deep, we have already lost so much experience the last few years, Grigg, Caddy, Houli, Edwards, Cotch, Riewoldt & Lambert. Grimes is another one who is likely to hang them up at the end of the year you can't just roll out 22 kids, or you will become North and be uncompetitive for 10 years.

Trading Lynch, Vlastuin, Baker or Short these type of guys would be silly you need some bigger bodies around the group.
You offer Liam Baker a fair but not overs deal, but you don't push him out the door.
Yeah it’s tough, made tougher with Tassie coming in. On the other, if your bad enough, the AFL just chucks you draft picks if you ask often enough

I think we need hold middle/age exp players and keep current kids developing/keep picks draft more high talent. before Tasmania come in because they will get all the high end talent for years AFL has already said they will more consessions than GWS & Gold Coast.
right before they came into the comp we got Dustin Martin so draft good kids now while we can, than poach > Tasmania's high end talent.

There is truth to this and it has been the successful Geelong model for about 20 years. Keep enough old heads, aim for competitive seasons and be open to all avenues of drafting, trading and later free agency. When the time comes, shuffle out a couple at a time - hopefully when some youngsters have plenty of games in the bank as part of a stable and even ambitious team. Around 2004 you still had a bunch of veterans in the process of handing things over to that great '07-'11 side and there has been a couple more handovers since (only Hawkins and Selwood were constants for the former and latter stages of the cycle).

This is how we developed or are developing both Guthrie's and Henry's, Duncan, Kolo, Blicavs, Miers, Close, Holmes, SDK, Bruhn and this year it'll be Dempsey/Clark, next year Conway/Neale.

But you need a balance. A handful of kids or young-ish players who could take serious strides with their game while the old heads are around. I'm not sure if Richmond have that right balance yet.

I'm not really concerned if we go down to the bottom for a few years, theres a few ways to rebuild, on the run looks like it might not work for us, Sydney & Geelong are like the only 2 clubs that have been doing that for a while.

I'm not saying that cause we are 0-2 either I didn't expect us make finals this year. and imo I don't really want to make finals we need high end picks.

Sydney and Geelong have points of difference from Melbourne based clubs.
Sydney have their academy and a non fishbowl environment for those looking for that lifestyle.
Geelong also offer an alternative lifestyle but still only an hour from town.
They also have the Falcons as a kind of academy with many of their players returning to Geelong after their initial drafting.
Both clubs have their own stadiums and are very well run, successful seasons are the norm for players at these clubs …

Grigg retired in 2019. It’s a bit of a stretch to be including him in that list.
Caddy was a bit part player after 2019 too.

Since that marker of post-2019 Geelong has turned over it's two central KPDs (Taylor and Henderson), it's creative forward flanker (Ablett), most experienced figure head midfielder (Selwood), gained and then lost an elite midfielder (Kelly), wingmen 1 (grabbed for 3 seasons: Smith) and 2 (Menegola), with it's small defender (Bews) phased out and a couple of other role players gone. And practically surviving without the 2020/2022 BnF midfielder (Guthrie) for what will be 1.5 seasons. Rohan could be kept out and Tuohy easily pushed out.

There's more regeneration in Geelong's best 22/23 players over the past 5 years than there has been for Richmond.

Analysis The Rebuilds of Geelong and Richmond and their Future Prospects