List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency Part 10

Do you support the club trading for picks 2 and/or 3?

• Yes Trade for 2 & 3

• Yes But Only For 2 or 3

• No

• Unsure

Results are only viewable after voting.

1728368225052.png

Trade & Free Agency Dates

Free Agency Period - Friday October 4th 9am to Friday October 11th 5pm

Trade Period - Monday 7th October 9am to Wednesday October 16th 7.30pm

Richmond have been linked to the following players:
Elijah Tsatas
Jai Culley
Jacob Konstanty

robert duvall GIF

i love the smell of salty oppo flogs in the morning, smells like band 2 compo
great comment
awesome flick !!

Twomey and Beveridge are at least journalists.

campaigners like Barrett, Cornes, etc, are pundits. Nothing more.
Yeah, I don't mind Cal. His journalism is vastly improved. I just like calling people shiteaters.

See he wrote that Tauru is 'nicknamed The Flying Viking'? Yeah, by you, Cal!
Yeah, there’s a few like that in the media.

Self appointed nickname givers. Perth race caller Darren Maccaullay has been doing it for years. Mentions that this is guy’s nickname is whatever when all he is really doing is pushing his own agenda and ego.

I’m thinking that there’s no coincidence that Blair spoke to a group rather than exclusively to Twomey as was arranged for each club.

Not hard to see how these things work. Cal generally has the best info this time of year and you don’t get in that position without managers and clubs feeding him.

For weeks now he has been saying that the Shai trade should include the lesser of the three first rounders. At no point has he debated the value of it; it has repeatedly been ‘matter of factly’ stated 9 and 17 (10 and 18).

He is normalising that trade value. Him repeating it makes it sound like everyone’s accepted that value; it’s a fait accompli. We may see now that Richmond are the bad guys in this because we disagree; thanks to Cal it’s probably now assumed all round that 10 and 18 is the trade.

To me, Twomey is complicit, and I hope the club gives him nothing. We are the dominant factor this trade and draft period and I’m sure he’d love some stories, but I am hoping we freeze him out.
Precisely. Agenda-pushing shiteater.

But otherwise a good dude and decent journo.

Wow does Freo really want to bring in top end talent or will they remain a team just happy to being thereabouts.

It's 10&11 or no deal.
Option 2, get him to west coast for pick 3. Worst case we hold on to him!

DEES EYE SECOND TOP PICK

Melbourne has its eyes on acquiring another first-round pick as it looks to load up at this year’s talent-stacked national draft.

The Demons, as it stands, hold their natural first-round selection (Pick 5) after their disappointing 2024 campaign.

But Melbourne is keen for a second early pick in this year’s draft, to the point where it’s prepared to trade away its future first-rounder.

“This is an outstanding draft. We’d love another pick. We think it’s a ripper to be involved in,” Melbourne list boss Tim Lamb said.

The Demons have their eyes on one of Fremantle’s first-round selections (either Pick 10 or 11), while they’re also among a host of clubs in the race for Gold Coast’s prized Pick 13.

Fremantle is open to a trade, with list boss David Walls suggesting his club was keen on turning one of its three 2024 first-rounders (Picks 10, 11 and 18) into a 2025 first-rounder selection.

That’s definitely a chance. There’s a lot of clubs keen to get back in so we’ll see what happens at the end of trade period and see how many of the first-rounders we’re still holding and if we’ve traded or not,” Walls told AFL Trade Radio on Monday.

“If we’re still holding three, we’d definitely look to roll one forward because we think there’s a strong market for it and we could get overs.”

But Fremantle’s willingness to trade with Melbourne could come down to their pursuit of contracted Tiger Shai Bolton.

The Dockers, according to The Age, are prepared to use Picks 11 and 18 in a trade for contracted Tiger Bolton – who’s keen to join the WA club – but won’t hand over Picks 10 and 11 for the Richmond goalkicker.

Let's see how this ages by this time next week.

This is why trade period goes for so long, so the AFL can get their clicks in the first week.

Wow does Freo really want to bring in top end talent or will they remain a team just happy to being thereabouts.

It's 10&11 or no deal.
Option 2, get him to west coast for pick 3. Worst case we hold on to him!

DEES EYE SECOND TOP PICK

Melbourne has its eyes on acquiring another first-round pick as it looks to load up at this year’s talent-stacked national draft.

The Demons, as it stands, hold their natural first-round selection (Pick 5) after their disappointing 2024 campaign.

But Melbourne is keen for a second early pick in this year’s draft, to the point where it’s prepared to trade away its future first-rounder.

“This is an outstanding draft. We’d love another pick. We think it’s a ripper to be involved in,” Melbourne list boss Tim Lamb said.

The Demons have their eyes on one of Fremantle’s first-round selections (either Pick 10 or 11), while they’re also among a host of clubs in the race for Gold Coast’s prized Pick 13.

Fremantle is open to a trade, with list boss David Walls suggesting his club was keen on turning one of its three 2024 first-rounders (Picks 10, 11 and 18) into a 2025 first-rounder selection.

That’s definitely a chance. There’s a lot of clubs keen to get back in so we’ll see what happens at the end of trade period and see how many of the first-rounders we’re still holding and if we’ve traded or not,” Walls told AFL Trade Radio on Monday.

“If we’re still holding three, we’d definitely look to roll one forward because we think there’s a strong market for it and we could get overs.”

But Fremantle’s willingness to trade with Melbourne could come down to their pursuit of contracted Tiger Shai Bolton.

This is a prime example of journos using leading questions and then twisting the narrative. Walls didn't suggest anything, he responded to Twomey's leading question. And saying 'there's a chance' they'd do it is hardly being 'keen'.

Who wrote the article?

Listening to those two knobs again... caller asks whether Bailey-Smith could end up at Richmond via preseason draft if a deal doesn't go through with Geelong.

Tom (Morris)?: "Likely Bailey-Smith's manager, who is a very strong character, will make it clear to the other 14 clubs before Geelong's pick that he doesn't want to play for you."
Dan Hannerbury: "You'd hope that would be the case, and that he'd get to where he needs to be going."

Yeah, you'd hope that Bailey-Smith can get to the cats via the PSD even if Geelong can't stump up a decent pick for him.

Fyuk ffo

This is a prime example of journos using leading questions and then twisting the narrative. Walls didn't suggest anything, he responded to Twomey's leading question. And saying 'there's a chance' they'd do it is hardly being 'keen'.

Who wrote the article?

Ben Waterworth Fox Sports

I get it mate and I really respect your opinion but we can spend that money on our list cementing the young players we want to keep when Tassie comes in.

Lock them in now Gale will take no prisoners
I get your opinion too.

But right now I see us begin forced to spend extra $ on our players. That can lead into the bottom teams over paing and not having much cap space. I reckon it's better to buy picks and pay our players what they are worth, plus some top up.

So to me we have a great opportunity to build the future at very little cost (We'd have to pay the $ anyway).

If paying $ now leads to an extra F1 then we win. Personally I try to take the feelings out of it. (Can't succeed in taking the feeling out) Just on the numbers, right now, extra picks = good.

If Bailey Smith entered the PSD we'd pick him. But he won't.

Off topic but remember when John McCarthy entered the PSD after training with us and being guaranteed a spot and then Port pinched him with the pick before us? Then he went on and footy trip in Vegas after his first season and died. Massive sliding doors moment for the poor fella.

Listening to those two knobs again... caller asks whether Bailey-Smith could end up at Richmond via preseason draft if a deal doesn't go through with Geelong.

Tom (Morris)?: "Likely Bailey-Smith's manager, who is a very strong character, will make it clear to the other 14 clubs before Geelong's pick that he doesn't want to play for you."
Dan Hannerbury: "You'd hope that would be the case, and that he'd get to where he needs to be going."

Yeah, you'd hope that Bailey-Smith can get to the cats via the PSD even if Geelong can't stump up a decent pick for him.

Fyuk ffo
we grab him for free in psd then trade him to geelong next year and we ream them

My prediction:
Rioli and our future 3rd to GC for their Pick 6, 23 and future 2nd.

Freo will try to play hard ball but will relent in the end. They want established players for a flag and Bolton has the talent and x-factor to be the cream on top to win the games they need.

Bolton and pick 23 for their picks 10,11, 18.
So Rioli, Bolton and future 3rd for 6,10,11,18 and gf future second. Pretty good

I’m thinking that there’s no coincidence that Blair spoke to a group rather than exclusively to Twomey as was arranged for each club.

Not hard to see how these things work. Cal generally has the best info this time of year and you don’t get in that position without managers and clubs feeding him.

For weeks now he has been saying that the Shai trade should include the lesser of the three first rounders. At no point has he debated the value of it; it has repeatedly been ‘matter of factly’ stated 9 and 17 (10 and 18).

He is normalising that trade value. Him repeating it makes it sound like everyone’s accepted that value; it’s a fait accompli. We may see now that Richmond are the bad guys in this because we disagree; thanks to Cal it’s probably now assumed all round that 10 and 18 is the trade.

To me, Twomey is complicit, and I hope the club gives him nothing. We are the dominant factor this trade and draft period and I’m sure he’d love some stories, but I am hoping we freeze him out.
Spot on, he’s been saying pick 9 and 17 for weeks. Many people listen to him, so they’ve subconsciously accepted that as his trade value. That makes us look unreasonable for not accepting it when that isn’t the case.

It’s subtle, but Twomey is pushing his opinions onto his listeners. His listeners have to be aware of this.