List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

Yep can see it now, going straight from zero finals experience to premiers in one season 🤦🏻‍♂️
I liked what I saw from Young too. Outshone Gibcus in most of the games and Gibcus got senior time. Has a few years on him mind you but less footy experience. Potential to be a handy defender for basically free.
Too bad Essendon will draft him

If we had grabbed Logue, Kane Cornes would've lost his shit. It just goes to show we have money in the kit bag, salary cap under control.

North Melbourne has held off Richmond’s strong interest to win a commitment from Griffin Logue, who wants to become a Kangaroo.

The Tigers have already convinced Giants midfielders Tim Taranto and Jacob Hopper to request a trade to Punt Road on respective seven-year deals.

It would have been a huge task for Richmond list boss Blair Hartley to add Logue on top of that duo, with only picks 12, 19 and 30 as major currency this year and the ability to offer a future first-round selection.

North Melbourne holds the first pick in the pre-season draft, so attempting to snare Logue that way was not an option for the Tigers, but they were in the race for a long way.

They are thrilled with the progress of young swingman Noah Balta and first-year top-10 pick Josh Gibcus, so still have significant building blocks for the future.

I’m sure GWS wouldn’t be chasing big Ivan but if they did, I reckon Preuss would be the ideal backup no. 1 ruck.

Probably miss ten games through injury and suspension; hopefully wouldn’t also injure any teammates but if you were going into a Grand Final and Nank was injured he would be an ideal replacement.

The aggression would be perfect for finals footy. As an opposition player I would be looking over my shoulder if Preuss in the vicinity. Big finals are nerve-wracking enough without having to also worry about a mad man mountain putting you in a wheelchair.

I doubt the Giants are letting him go but surely they would be if they were showing any interest in Soldo

I’m sure GWS wouldn’t be chasing big Ivan but if they did, I reckon Preuss would be the ideal backup no. 1 ruck.

Probably miss ten games through injury and suspension; hopefully wouldn’t also injure any teammates but if you were going into a Grand Final and Nank was injured he would be an ideal replacement.

The aggression would be perfect for finals footy. As an opposition player I would be looking over my shoulder if Preuss in the vicinity.

I doubt the Giants are letting him go but surely they would be if they were showing any interest in Soldo

Interest in Soldo is from Saints so far apparently mate, pick swap kind of scenario.

You're right, Soldo does seem a poor fit for GWS compared to many other clubs.

I suppose the same applies if Soldo goes to the Saints and someone like Meek goes to the Giants

There's a lot of balls in the air, looks like the busiest trade period for a while.

If I was Melbourne I'd be more into Meek than any other potential Jackson replacements, could see why the Giants would be interested in him, he's mobile for his size and longer term probably a better resting FWD than any of their other ruck options.

Tiger71, just wondering whether you were aware of Tigers interest in Logue. I know he’s ended up nominating North, but for mine seemed very left field that we would be going after him. Poses the question whether the list management guys are concerned about our key position stocks going into 2024 and beyond.

Gibcus looks a attacking back. Balta the same and Logue a little different so I could see how they think it could work apart from all pinch hitting forward.

Its hard for us at the moment because we have Tarrant, Grimes, Broad as well as Vlastuin amongst others

What on earth is happening....

breaking bad deal with it GIF

I just cant wait for the s**t fighting between Freo & Norf supporters until trade week ends

Freo : We want pick #19
Norf : PSD
Freo: Pick #19
Norf : PSD

Nek minute 2023 2nd rounder

I love watching minnow club supporters try to out wit eachother
Norf were right in that they weren't giving us pick 20. We got pick 19 instead!:cool:

Not sure why there has been so much despair at our interest in Logue.

He is a genuine KP player with great speed and agility and still very young.

The next 2 years will see Tarrant and Grimes bow out, it made a lot of sense

If he picked Richmond I am sure Blair would have got him over the line

It would have been exciting.

If Logue had of chosen us the I’m very curious how we would have got it done given our priority you would think is Taranto and Hopper.

Logue would have instantly been in our top 10 most valuable players

Such is the dearth of our KP talent under 30

We have Balta, Gibcus, Miller and that's pretty much it, well Balta for sure, and Gibcus and Miller probably

Biggie, Sampson could both make it, but it still a big ?

This is a real need

Tigs said on twitter we just were never interested, it's a beat up.