List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 6

Snippets from espns Chris Doerre

The midfield losses of Tim Taranto and Jacob Hopper are the two most significant. GWS across the two deals were not equitably compensated. The disappointing component given the calibre of the pair is that the Giants were unable to secure at least one player in addition to the picks received to fill a position of need for the Giants.

Grade: A+

Rationale: Richmond set out to add midfield grunt through the trade period and were successful in doing that with the additions of Tim Taranto and Jacob Hopper from the Giants. The Tigers traded essentially their full draft hand before receiving a couple of late picks back in the Hopper trade. Importantly, Richmond secured the pair without conceding any players as part of the exchange or during the trade period more broadly.

It's a win-now offseason and Richmond couldn't have done any better securing two high end rival talent in positions of pressing need without losing any of their own established players.

Excuse my ignorance but can anyone tell me how many vacant spots we have available on the list now?

It’s confusing because of the moving parts, but essentially teams can have a maximum of 44 players broken down:

Primary list: 36 - 38 players
Rookie List: 4 - 6 (depending on primary list [if 38 on primary list, 4 rookie spots are available, if 36 on primary list 6 rookie spots are available]).
Cat-B Rookie: 0-2 players.

With Hopper and Taranto, and the delistings recently announced, our list is currently:

Primary List: 33 players
Rookie List : 4 players (Jacob Bauer, Marlion Pickett, Biggie Ngyoun and Ben
Miller)
Cat- B: Rookie: 1 player (Mate Colina).

We have to upgrade Pickett because the maximum time you can spend on the rookie list is four seasons before either promotion or re-drafted and re-rookied in the pre-season draft.

I suspect that Marlion moving to the primary list will be done at our current pick 84.

It would mean that through the draft period we have:
Primary List: 2-4 spots available (likely to be draft picks)
Rookie List: 1-3 spots available (my bet is they take 2 in the rookie draft and leave one for mid-season draft or supplementary selection period)
Cat-B: 1 spot available (expect this to not be filled).

It’s all a numbers game, but I suspect that’s how we go. If we sign a DFA onto the primary list (which I doubt), we’d have one less rookie selection.

Hope that helps.

It’s confusing because of the moving parts, but essentially teams can have a maximum of 44 players broken down:

Rookie List: 4 - 6 (depending on primary list [if 38 on primary list, 4 rookie spots are available, if 36 on primary list 6 rookie spots are available]).

With Hopper and Taranto, and the delistings recently announced, our list is currently:

Miller)

We have to upgrade Pickett because the maximum time you can spend on the rookie list is four seasons before either promotion or re-drafted and re-rookied in the pre-season draft.

I suspect that Marlion moving to the primary list will be done at our current pick 84.

Rookie List: 1-3 spots available (my bet is they take 2 in the rookie draft and leave one for mid-season draft or supplementary selection period)

It’s all a numbers game, but I suspect that’s how we go. If we sign a DFA onto the primary list (which I doubt), we’d have one less rookie selection.

Hope that helps.
Thanks for that, so after Pickett is upgraded we’ll take 2 players from the ND, 2 players from the RD and 1 player from the SSP leaving us with 43 on the list.

Yeah, nah.
Never said to sign them, just highlighting who is left in terms of uncontracted players that would be worth a look at IMO.
all will re sign except poulter
Most likely, but it does highlight the lack of quality still available
As I said, was highlighting who is left that would be worth a look at. We might not rate them as fans, but if Blair thought they were worth a shot then who are we to question him, given the results he has had so far in recruiting talent from other clubs. Wouldn't necessarily be the worse additions as the 35th player on the list to maintain a bit of depth.

This flog...seriously.

I like Graham but he's nowhere near as good as Hopper.
wtf. How can you be a footy journalist and write something like that. Similar exposed form?

Career averages

Disposals:
Graham - 16.6
Hopper - 22

Contested Possessions:
Graham - 6.2
Hopper - 10.7

Clearances:
Graham - 1.9
Hopper - 4.7

Tackles:
Graham - 5.6
Hopper - 4.2

Inside 50s:
Graham - 3.4
Hopper - 3.1

As a defensive mid, sure they are similar. But as a ball winner its just not even close.

Never said to sign them, just highlighting who is left in terms of uncontracted players that would be worth a look at IMO.
But they're not. "I never said sign them but we should look at them". What? Why? No. We've seen them.

View attachment 1535942
This flog...seriously.

I like Graham but he's nowhere near as good as Hopper.
I’d love there to be a show that is just supporters or even clubs taking all the Ridiculous bs these half wits come out with.

Imagine pulling Lloyd up for saying Gold Coast we’re closer to a flag than us and then we went b2b.

They’d get annihilated

But they're not. "I never said sign them but we should look at them". What? Why? No. We've seen them.
taters gonna tate GIF

Miller)

Hope that helps.

Pickett and Miller to be elevated? Would give us two more rookie spots

In the past we’ve generally only elevated rookies when required. Pickett this year, Baker recently too.

Mansell is the only one that I can readily remember being elevated before his required time.

At a guess, I suspect the club would rather take two picks in the ND than 3-4 in the rookie draft.

Forecasting forward, I suspect that Miller will be elevated for 2024; with the likes of Tarrant, Cotchin and Riewoldt retiring end of next season, on top of delistings (I’m guessing at least 2, maybe 3) and a weak draft hand in 2023.

That’s how I would play it anyway.

Just because you might not rate them, it doesn't mean that the club doesn't rate them and if they feel they're worth a look at if they were available then I wouldn't be against it. I'm not saying we definitely sign any of them, but more have a look at them a bit deeper and see if we should bring them in. As they say there is no harm in looking