List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 7

Hello Tiger fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

tugga you may like to sticky or merge this post, move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread.

Brown over JVR was a miss. JVR has played 20 games in a team that finished 4th on the ladder. Coming off a flag 2 years ago. His back up ruck work is keeping Grundy out of the team. Not too shabby for a 20 y.o.
Maybe JVR gets us a win or 2 and make the 8.

Tarrant was just OK. , Hopper and Tarranto was one mid too many. Coulthard? Pat on the back to the recruiters for the great story.

But what list need? Dimma's 4 small forward line?

I hope we ditch that approach. Gotta get a new game plan I think.

I hope the new coach starts influencing list decisions.

Who's left to cover the KPF hole? Tabener? hopefully Gibcus or Balta, Bauer

"Not too shabby for a 20yo." I agree with that.

Getting 20 games in Melbourne's malfunctioning forward line that scored 7 goals from 69 F50 entries in the QF is no badge of honour. And it certainly isn't his ruck work that has kept Grundy out of a game. JVR has required significant injuries to Brown, McDonald and Petty, as well as Melbourne making a total horlicks of their Grundy/Gawn plans in order to play as many as 20 matches.

JVR's 3.7 hitouts, 17% 1 v 1 contest win rate, 1.7 goals + goal assists per game, 4 score involvements per game in a top 4 team is something you could replicate or better easily with someone like a Mabior Chol, players you can pick up anywhere any time. If we missed on JVR it is due to what he produces in the future, not what he is producing now. In Van Rooyen's first final the other day, he had a negative player rating(not easy to "achieve") no shots at goal, no score involvements, and one hitout. If he played that final for us we would not be happy with the world. There is not a snowflake's chance Van Rooyen would be getting a game with Melbourne in that final if all of Melbourne's alternatives were fit, perhaps if even any of them were fit. They were playing him for experience earlier in the season and got stuck with him.

We are no doubt missing a key forward option. But whilst a Van Rooyen may have helped us in future years, what he did in 2023 would be no help to us at all.

Getting 20 games in Melbourne's malfunctioning forward line that scored 7 goals from 69 F50 entries in the QF is no badge of honour. And it certainly isn't his ruck work that has kept Grundy out of a game. JVR has required significant injuries to Brown, McDonald and Petty, as well as Melbourne making a total horlicks of their Grundy/Gawn plans in order to play as many as 20 matches.

JVR's 3.7 hitouts, 17% 1 v 1 contest win rate, 1.7 goals + goal assists per game, 4 score involvements per game in a top 4 team is something you could replicate or better easily with someone like a Mabior Chol, players you can pick up anywhere any time. If we missed on JVR it is due to what he produces in the future, not what he is producing now. In Van Rooyen's first final the other day, he had a negative player rating(not easy to "achieve") no shots at goal, no score involvements, and one hitout. If he played that final for us we would not be happy with the world. There is not a snowflake's chance Van Rooyen would be getting a game with Melbourne in that final if all of Melbourne's alternatives were fit, perhaps if even any of them were fit. They were playing him for experience earlier in the season and got stuck with him.

We are no doubt missing a key forward option. But whilst a Van Rooyen may have helped us in future years, what he did in 2023 would be no help to us at all.

Will be interest to see where both players sit in 3-5 years time. My guess is Brown will be a mainstay in our backline as Vlaustin transitions out.
JVR will be either at the Dockers or the Eagles

I reckon we should target Dylan Stephens. Outside mid with a burst of speed and good tank and a penetrating left foot.

Out of contract and not getting a game since Gulden has fired up but was best 22 in their grand final side last year. Would probably get him for a 3rd rounder....

I reckon we should target Dylan Stephens. Outside mid with a burst of speed and good tank and a penetrating left foot.

Out of contract and not getting a game since Gulden has fired up but was best 22 in their grand final side last year. Would probably get him for a 3rd rounder....
Mate, this is the ‘Should of taken JVR over Tom Brown thread’

Take your trade and free agency news elsewhere.

How does RFC efficiency compare to theirs. Round 24.....8.15 from 58 entries. Slightly better. Keep an eye on who MFC drop.

Your right in Melbourne making a lot of list mistakes. Grundy FFS !! Injuries at the Dees opened up game time to JVR. Pretty sure we had a KPF who missed almost a season too. Then another just retired. JVR may have played for Lynch in 23 and Jack R in 24.

So we don't have to consider horrible stop gap FA KPFs like Chol and Tabener. Chol peaked as a pure KPF. He hates rucking. Thats why Casboults ahead. Suns needed King replacement & got Chol for twice as long as needed.

Same as us with Tarrant. Needed him for one year max.

We have had success this year with Ryan, Dow, Ross, Young and Mini started debuting kids late. Bauer, Coulthard & Tresize can play.
Our whole team underperformed. See what list managers do with KPF. I'd use Balta, Gibcus Bauer.

Plenty of talent here just needs a game plan.

Because it makes defending the Brown pick easier to say JVR is poor.

As far as the Brown v JVR debate goes, there is one simple fact a lot of people forget about our drafting that we draft for talent and trade for need, its been our way for a few years now.

With those 5 picks in 2021, we took the best 5 players available. As it stands nearly 2 years later we are yet to see the best of any of them, but we have seen glimpses of what they can do and now comes the chance for them to step up and make a spot in the 22 their own moving forward.

At the same time people see JVR playing for a top 4 side and think he must be much better than the guys we picked because they're a better side. But circumstances have aided JVR as the likes of Brown Schache and McDonald have had injury and poor form force Melbourne into turning to JVR and to his credit he's done well, but again he's playing for a top 4 side, it would be a concern if he wasn't playing well.

The big unknown though is how would he have gone playing for a bottom 6 side like ours? Would he have had the same impact as he did with Melbourne? Unless Lynch plays all year I'm not sure he does, as we saw how much our forward line struggled through the majority of the year. Much like our 2021 draftees, I'd suggest we'd have seen glimpses of what he was capable of and there would still be posters questioning if we made the right decision in taking him, because just like a lot of things that involve our club, if the results aren't instantaneous then we must have messed it up.

It’s okay to say we draft for talent and trade for need but the talent drafting part has been pretty poor. We’ve blown multiple first round picks, so much so that we had to trade for midfielders after trying and failing to draft them.

We knew Reiwoldt was in his last years and didn’t look for a replacement.

At the Richmond Football Club, we have a long rich history of terrible picks that people love to focus on.

We can all name them, I am sure of it.

However, this JVR vs Brown stuff is such Rubbish. Who gives a stuff. The recruiters made their choice, based on a long list of requirements. Brown has the traits of a genuine A Grader, but if he doesn't work out, then you go back to the drawing board.

We will find a forward....

Port picked Ollie Lord up for pick 49, he kicks 4 in a losing final.
Roos get Larky with a pick in the 60's

The football gods worked for us in some amazing ways. Dusty from losing vs Melbourne, so we missed out of Scully and Trengrove. Lambert from a Rookie Pick, along with Short and Baker.

Bolton with Pick 29 who would go and pick 1 if that draft was done again.

No, the point is we’d tried about 12 different players and used 8 x top-40 draft picks and not got a single quality KPF out of any of them. So I’m sure they decided to utilise the picks on other areas of the ground with a plan to get a KPF in a trade or as a free agent over the next season or two.

Given the long list of failures isn’t it logical we wouldn’t select another 1 or 2 with our valuable top-30 picks just to burn those as well?

So I’m not saying the drafting of the KPF options has been good.. it’s been poor - but we are not Robinson Crusoe there, particularly without access to high picks. So it makes sense to look at other avenues for a KPF and not keep wasting draft picks on them given we’d failed with 8 x top-40 picks.

Don’t get me wrong .. I’d love a high quality KPF waiting in the wings but we’ve been blessed to have one for 16-years and another for 5-years and counting as they are very very hard to find, particularly with very little access to high draft picks.

Half of our picks have been ruck/fwds Elton, McBean or out right rucks in CCJ and Ryan. That’s not really investing in the key forward position.

Since it’s the most important position on the park, our investment has been pretty paltry.

Suggesting that 8 top 40 picks over a decade is “trying” is a deception. It’s a bare minimum investment.

FMD how do we regret it 2 flags later.lol
At the time our need wasn't for another fwd.We had Jack and Lynch(Coming in 12mnths).
Allen wasn't even West Coasts 1st kp choice and he was playing right under their noses.lol.
We needed a Kp/Ruck to support Nank hence CCJ.

We “needed” ruck support so we take Higgins and then a guy no one thought would go early in CCJ? It was a shit idea on the night and it’s been 100% proven that both players were shit pickups in hindsight.

The fact we hoodwinked two teams into taking both players is a fantastic credit to Blair.

We “needed” ruck support so we take Higgins and then a guy no one thought would go early in CCJ? It was a s**t idea on the night and it’s been 100% proven that both players were s**t pickups in hindsight.

The fact we hoodwinked two teams into taking both players is a fantastic credit to Blair.

If I recall it was either Cj or Hayes.
Both look busts.
You can look back and say what if but the facts were it was either of those 2 pending who lasted.
Imagine the what ifs at the dees with Dusty.

One thing that stands out in these finals games so far is that you need to be strong at the contest, but you also need to have real speed and skill on the outside to give your forwards opportunities to compete in space rather than in congestion.

I think there will be a few quite surprised by how our side looks from 2024 when compared to the teams we've been fielding the last few seasons.
Let’s hope so , as dimmas mandate was as close to the ‘20 GF side as possible , no holds barred

At the Richmond Football Club, we have a long rich history of terrible picks that people love to focus on.

We can all name them, I am sure of it.

However, this JVR vs Brown stuff is such Rubbish. Who gives a stuff. The recruiters made their choice, based on a long list of requirements. Brown has the traits of a genuine A Grader, but if he doesn't work out, then you go back to the drawing board.

We will find a forward....

Port picked Ollie Lord up for pick 49, he kicks 4 in a losing final.
Roos get Larky with a pick in the 60's

The football gods worked for us in some amazing ways. Dusty from losing vs Melbourne, so we missed out of Scully and Trengrove. Lambert from a Rookie Pick, along with Short and Baker.

Bolton with Pick 29 who would go and pick 1 if that draft was done again.
Sellers. He's no goon.:thumbsu:

This Boards love child, Will Brodie appears to have been delisted

Great post. The exact same people saying we made a monumental error taking Brown over JVR, would be the ones if he produced donuts in a final with 69 x F50 entires saying “yet another KPF drafting fail”.

We need to go scouting the Tassie leagues for our next KPF. History shows all our KPF usually come from Tasmania.

Royce Hart
Michael Roach
Matthew Richardson
Jack Reiwoldt.

Great post. The exact same people saying we made a monumental error taking Brown over JVR, would be the ones if he produced donuts in a final with 69 x F50 entires saying “yet another KPF drafting fail”.

We’d be asking why we bombed it in high and short all night long. I know that because it looked like our games this year-piles of poor entries.

We need to go scouting the Tassie leagues for our next KPF. History shows all our KPF usually come from Tasmania.

Royce Hart
Michael Roach
Matthew Richardson
Jack Reiwoldt.
you can do that for us after a few ice cold cascade draughts