Review Rd 1 Review - !?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!? (Freo Beat Adelaide by a Point - Praise be to ChapGod)

If it continues to get paid then a) the players will need to adjust their tackling techniques so they are more aware of where the ball is, or b) just wear the consequence of a percentage of tackles will go the other way.

I'm not sure you can bring in a rule to say possession is just about touching the ball and not the continuity/length.
If the ball is dropped by a player then they must have had it in possession. If they have it in possession when the tackle is started and then it is dropped while the tackle is being executed (one motion) then it can't be holding the man. We don't need more rules, just proper interpretation of the existing ones.

I have some sympathy for your position (as I do think it's a strategy for them to feel the tackle swing them and release/not pick up), there is some variability in how much control a player has across situations, but there's no doubt umpires will see the player dragged away without the ball much more than the possession if they've barely had it. So as I say, if the umps aren't spotting it on a consistent basis, then the player's got to adjust his technique (or just wear it).

As an example of the problems with these analyses, before the free to Rowe at 13.50 in Q1, 2 consecutive plays Freo players are thrown to the ground (without the ball), both called play on. If either of them are called (and I'd argue the Tucker one had to be) then Crows don't get their shot on goal (and first goal). Neither of thos are even highlighted by 'old mate in the post.

Who this guy?

He very much played Colyers role in a lot of those highlights, which was quite interesting as I never noticed it over the course of the game.
The balance was probably right, but Switta closer to goals with the odd run on the ball & Colyer playing his normal role would look better at the moment than what Walters is producing.

Re-watched the game and here's my views if haven't already been said:

Positives

• Switowski and Chapman in the final quarter especially. Chapman in particular won the footy particularly well twice in the forward half, and in another instance had 4 defenders around him and managed to ground the ball without being pinged - absolute genius move.
  • Coming back in the final quarter with 40,000 screaming fans in 30+ degree heat. I heard from someone there it felt more like 35+ and although Perth boys aren't unused to temperatures like that it's different when you're the opposing team having flown in a few days earlier. We definitely wilted but to collectively pull back against the tide was simply enormous.
  • Lachie Schulz - please tell me this dude is no longer a rookie, he's hands down our most important small forward and to me most symbolises the Fremantle spirit since Michael Barlow moved on. Bleeds purple.
  • Jordan Clark's first game and first-half entries into the forward line - dude has speed and can hit a target, we need more of that.

Negatives

• Most have been said but the umpiring was diabolical. I slowed the play down to watch many of them and they were absolutely farcical - to be fair to the Crows they were on the end of a couple of ridiculous ones.
  • Our defence - in the final quarter there many occasions where Adelaide had 3-4 free forward players to pick from in their forward line. How could this be possible with a defence boasting Alex Pearce, Griffin Logue, Luke Ryan, Brennan Cox and Heath Chapman? They seemed rudderless and in my view Joel Hamling absolutely needs to come back to marshal the backline. Pearce has incredible ability but not sure how well he pulls rank.
  • Walters - absolutely can't play the way he is, have worshipped him since 2012 and some of my first posts here 10 years ago were defending him after his banishment by Ross with a number of posters here stating he needed to go. He needs to adapt or stand aside.
  • A lot of dropped marks and poor skills - hopefully just blowing some cobwebs out and we'll see some changes in the coming weeks.

Was it my imagination, or did Alex Pearce move into the forward 50 for a brief stint?

Re-watched the game and here's my views if haven't already been said:

Positives

• Switowski and Chapman in the final quarter especially. Chapman in particular won the footy particularly well twice in the forward half, and in another instance had 4 defenders around him and managed to ground the ball without being pinged - absolute genius move.
  • Coming back in the final quarter with 40,000 screaming fans in 30+ degree heat. I heard from someone there it felt more like 35+ and although Perth boys aren't unused to temperatures like that it's different when you're the opposing team having flown in a few days earlier. We definitely wilted but to collectively pull back against the tide was simply enormous.
  • Lachie Schulz - please tell me this dude is no longer a rookie, he's hands down our most important small forward and to me most symbolises the Fremantle spirit since Michael Barlow moved on. Bleeds purple.
  • Jordan Clark's first game and first-half entries into the forward line - dude has speed and can hit a target, we need more of that.

Negatives

• Most have been said but the umpiring was diabolical. I slowed the play down to watch many of them and they were absolutely farcical - to be fair to the Crows they were on the end of a couple of ridiculous ones.
  • Our defence - in the final quarter there many occasions where Adelaide had 3-4 free forward players to pick from in their forward line. How could this be possible with a defence boasting Alex Pearce, Griffin Logue, Luke Ryan, Brennan Cox and Heath Chapman? They seemed rudderless and in my view Joel Hamling absolutely needs to come back to marshal the backline. Pearce has incredible ability but not sure how well he pulls rank.
  • Walters - absolutely can't play the way he is, have worshipped him since 2012 and some of my first posts here 10 years ago were defending him after his banishment by Ross with a number of posters here stating he needed to go. He needs to adapt or stand aside.
  • A lot of dropped marks and poor skills - hopefully just blowing some cobwebs out and we'll see some changes in the coming weeks.
Your view on Walters 💯 He’s done. A lot in here had a dig when I said this middle of last season. The fact Freo gave him a contract before the season started is 🙃

Was that contract not a trigger that he hit? I remember all throughout last season afl.com.au mentioned him having signed on till 2022 but reached the trigger to extend to 2023 and that was months before it was made official this pre season

On reflection my favorite thing from that game was Clark’s goal. Plays like that are inspirational. I remember Hilly used to do it regularly in his early years but mysteriously stopped taking the shot & started laying up for the inevitable rebound.
In these days of hyper flooded, zone defense it makes so much sense for players to run from deep & release from 50.
More of it please.

On reflection my favorite thing from that game was Clark’s goal. Plays like that are inspirational. I remember Hilly used to do it regularly in his early years but mysteriously stopped taking the shot & started laying up for the inevitable rebound.
In these days of hyper flooded, zone defense it makes so much sense for players to run from deep & release from 50.
More of it please.

1647960378396.jpeg

”Hello”

More of it please.

Jordan Clarke is quickly becoming one of my fave new kids but jeez he’s got some competition in Serong , Chappy , Brayshaw , Freddy , Young and Walker ( Henry has got some serious class but he needs another year I reckon to show what he’s got )

A few people say Young plays a bit laconically but his impact on the game is undeniable .

Had a sick day off today and rewatched the last Derby, can’t wait to see Walker back in action , he is electric !

I have noticed a lot of people holding Racheles five goals against Chapman, watching the replay he really didn't do much wrong

1st goal, Himmelberg has taken on Cox and its 50/50 on whether he will beat him, chapman peels off to smother a shot at goal, Himmelberg changes to a handball over to Rachele who kicks the goal
2nd goal, Rachele is directly lined up on Ryan, Rachele takes him to the pocket and kicks a good snap
3rd goal, Chapman isn't on the ground, Acres is manning him at a defensive stoppage, he runs off Acres goes front of pack and Rachele goes to the back and gets the crumb into an open goal
4th goal, looks like Ryan is on Rachele again but Chapman actually wins the contest vs Mchenry, handballs it to Cox who then "Throws" it, free kick Rachele for being the closest player
5th goal, hack kick out of a pack, Rachele playing infront and takes an easy mark, Chapman well beaten here

the 3 goals in the middle have nothing to do with Chappy, the first one was trying to stop an opponent slotting a goal and the last one he was well beaten

I have noticed a lot of people holding Racheles five goals against Chapman, watching the replay he really didn't do much wrong

1st goal, Himmelberg has taken on Cox and its 50/50 on whether he will beat him, chapman peels off to smother a shot at goal, Himmelberg changes to a handball over to Rachele who kicks the goal
2nd goal, Rachele is directly lined up on Ryan, Rachele takes him to the pocket and kicks a good snap
3rd goal, Chapman isn't on the ground, Acres is manning him at a defensive stoppage, he runs off Acres goes front of pack and Rachele goes to the back and gets the crumb into an open goal
4th goal, looks like Ryan is on Rachele again but Chapman actually wins the contest vs Mchenry, handballs it to Cox who then "Throws" it, free kick Rachele for being the closest player
5th goal, hack kick out of a pack, Rachele playing infront and takes an easy mark, Chapman well beaten here

the 3 goals in the middle have nothing to do with Chappy, the first one was trying to stop an opponent slotting a goal and the last one he was well beaten
We underestimated Rachele and didn’t have the right match up for him, needed Walker to just wear him like a glove, both Ryan and Chapman looked too slow to go with him, and both left him to try to help their teammates. Ryan reads the play so well he needs to be on the oppositions least dangerous forward so he can zone off and impact the play, whenever he did that on the weekend Rachele got a goal.

I swear I ask this every year, how is our goal kicking so bad?

It's so bad.
Well firstly, Lobb shouldn't be leading to the 50m line if he can't kick them from that distance. Treacy should be leading up front and Lobb closer to the goals. Amiss will make things better as well.

100% Lobb should be playing out of the square for the long bombs and pack marks, Treacy should be leading up to the 50

Review Rd 1 Review - !?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!? (Freo Beat Adelaide by a Point - Praise be to ChapGod)