VFL 2022 VFL R2 v Geelong (Sat 2-Apr 2.05pm @ AIA Centre, Olympic Park) [AFL app & website]

Athletically the Daicos brothers are much worse than the Brown brothers. But give me the Daicos brothers with their skills and footy nous any day.

Bianco is a smart footballer with good skills. Just played out of position at the moment as a small forward. Belongs in the midfield or half back where he played his junior career.
The Daicos brothers think so quickly and have a heap of tricks in congestion to create space. Callum does too, but no composure. I haven't seen that at all from Bianco. He's just so uncontested without being much of a runner. Needs to improve in traffic, become much better in a contest or run like Tom Phillips. The running like Tom Phillips ain't likely to happen.

Think you're right 36, however a bad run with injuries to key personnel may see us back down the ladder again.
Our olds are still the nucleus of our best players for now.
Agree. Depth is very low. We have zero injuries to our mids and flankers - yet some very borderline guys are next in line.

Bianco is a smart footballer with good skills. Just played out of position at the moment as a small forward. Belongs in the midfield or half back where he played his junior career.
Can,t see him as a midfielder he is not clean in congestion and fumbles under pressure to often.
Best chance to make it is on a wing or halfback as you suggested for mine

Athletically the Daicos brothers are much worse than the Brown brothers. But give me the Daicos brothers with their skills and footy nous any day.

I don’t think you’re giving Nicks athleticism enough credit here tbh. He’s already faster and has a bigger tank than both the Browns imo.

Murley snap for me it was a good finish!

It’s hard having missed the spurt where we put them to the sword, but Wilson was the most, and only, AFL relevant guy out there while I was watching.

Sone quick comments on what I saw that stood out. McMahon seems to be going alright, but it’s always hard to tell with defensive talls*. Macrae better than last week ditto Murley. Draper very composed. Poulter not doing enough. Brown busy, but ineffective.

The others would just be going back over old ground (Johnson all cream no filling, Begg bullied in the ruck and Chugg the invisible man).

*I think both McMahon and Kelly have benefited from having Hartley in the team.
Murley kicked a ripper last week as well. This kid might well make it. His speed & accuracy are impressive in my view.

Why was Cal BOG? Yes, he had disposals but AJ was everywhere. Almost like we are allergic to liking AJ.

Cal gets a ton of the ball at this level, but it’s not even that his disposals are errant, it’s just that they’re all “fashioned” and “shaped” in order to fit through traffic or go in the correct general direction because he is always, always hurried and under pressure. Hence zero hurt factor and minimal influence.

The strange thing is that he quite often creates space and then seems to rush and panic.

Any highlight vids up yet?
Yes, they're available (as is the whole game): AFL - News, Fixtures, Scores & Results - AFL.com.au
1648954717194.png
They have really improved the VFL coverage this year, which is great, but I don't know why the VFL can't have a separate site of it's own, rather than one that's just part of the AFL website, and somewhat hard to find. You can bring it up just by typing in vfl.com.au, or by clicking on this button (top right corner on AFL website home page):
1648955272219.png
It still should be made easier to find, however!

Yes, they're available (as is the whole game): AFL - News, Fixtures, Scores & Results - AFL.com.au
View attachment 1362288
They have really improved the VFL coverage this year, which is great, but I don't know why the VFL can't have a separate site of it's own, rather than one that's just part of the AFL website, and somewhat hard to find. You can bring it up just by typing in vfl.com.au, or by clicking on this button (top right corner on AFL website home page):
View attachment 1362293
It still should be made easier to find, however!

It's Cheaper to do that

You reckon Nick Daicos is a worse athlete than Tyler Brown? Okay buddy.

Spot on - the Brown bros disposals have zero X or hurt factor. No opposition coach worries about how many times they get it coz they just never really do any damage with the ball when they get it. Blue collar worker-bee types who just don’t offer enough to justify regular selection at AFL level.

How many years they been on the books? Cal six and Tyler four? They’ve both had plenty of time to prove themselves. Time to move on to other promising prospects.

The Daicos brothers think so quickly and have a heap of tricks in congestion to create space. Callum does too, but no composure. I haven't seen that at all from Bianco. He's just so uncontested without being much of a runner. Needs to improve in traffic, become much better in a contest or run like Tom Phillips. The running like Tom Phillips ain't likely to happen.
The thing I like about Bianco is that he seems to have decent skills, which is where Callum Brown falls seriously short. I would be happy for Brown to get one more go as an inside mid, to help out out other inside mids who are getting beaten up. He could also play a shut down role I reckon. But one more chance and that's it for me.

The Daicos brothers ooze skill even if they're neither fast nor slow (like Sidebottom, say). And that makes them elite talents.

The thing I like about Bianco is that he seems to have decent skills, which is where Callum Brown falls seriously short. I would be happy for Brown to get one more go as an inside mid, to help out out other inside mids who are getting beaten up. He could also play a shut down role I reckon. But one more chance and that's it for me.

The Daicos brothers ooze skill even if they're neither fast nor slow (like Sidebottom, say). And that makes them elite talents.
Nick looks to have an extremely quick first couple of steps.

and he Handballs and Don't Kick

Agree. Depth is very low. We have zero injuries to our mids and flankers - yet some very borderline guys are next in line.

I think we need to expose some of those borderline mids and flankers this year -- Wilson, Bianco, the Browns, Macrae, Ruscoe, Poulter, Murphy. I think they need to be played on form, and that means likely one or two changes a week (e.g., Ginnivan probably is dropped this week for Wilson, or C Brown). We need to see who can play, give them some exposure, and set ourselves up for the future.

Can't drop a young player who has played well after one quiet game. Ginnivan stays. We currently have no injuries at all to our mids and flankers - those blokes will get chances when injuries occur, we don't need to shoe horn them in.

Yeah, can see that argument for keeping him in. But another quiet one and I definitely think it's time for a new face.

Mcreery is really the only injury isn't he?

Yeah, can see that argument for keeping him in. But another quiet one and I definitely think it's time for a new face.

Mcreery is really the only injury isn't he?

I think so - other than KPP+Murphy - and Mcreery doesn't really play a role that anyone you listed would really be in line for. Harrison and Ruscoe didn't play on the weekend - don't know what the story is with them.

I'd give Ginnivan more than two quiet games (as long as he's doing the right things in terms of positioning and running patterns) - even the very best forward pockets have their share of quiet games.

Going by Fly's presser, he is happy with what Ginni is providing.
Had 5 score involvements, 4 inside 50's a clearance. I think his role is not just to put goals on. Cats clearly targeted him knowing how damaging he can be up forward.

He wont be dropped anytime soon. Has soldified his position in the best 22.

Is there still time for a partner swap? Just thinking out 18 years from now.

VFL 2022 VFL R2 v Geelong (Sat 2-Apr 2.05pm @ AIA Centre, Olympic Park) [AFL app & website]