Autopsy Round 5, 2022: Hawks skin the Cats

Remember that time when we had three goals on the board against the Handbaggers on Easter Monday before they had a single possession?

That was a good day.

Attachments

• 9A157085-F0D3-455D-BD13-1384AFFC6625.jpeg
    9A157085-F0D3-455D-BD13-1384AFFC6625.jpeg
    229 KB · Views: 113

I think Holmes is going to be a good player. Looked easily the best of their younger players yesterday. The issue is their other younger type players like Parfitt and Miers are decent players but are not players you can rely on to turn games for the team. There just middle of the road type players who in poor teams will not have the same impact there having in Geelongs ATM. They need more Holmes and De Koning types coming through to help arrest the slide that is inevitably coming.
On Miers, does anyone else get a mental image of a sand wedge whenever he kicks? So much shallow leg swing, so little penetration.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Just reading the Cats board and its hilarious. What I find most funny is then sooking about Hawthorn using ducking tactics to draw free kicks.
View attachment 1377978

Selwood needs a bronze statue of him ducking and drawing a free. He is the best.

Does the Cats board sook as badly as our board after a loss? We have some outstanding dummy spitters.

I rewatched the game because I loved it.

Geelong really should have wiped us in terms of personnel.

That was a win based on coaching and sheer effort and enthusiasm from our new group. We looked like a very confident group. The ball was not bouncing our way at all in the third, but we just kept at it.

Would be keen to know what other changes were made in the 3rd quarter time break (aside from O'Meara move) that stopped their flow so effectively.

Newcombe, Moore, Scrimshaw, Lewis, Ward, CJ, DGB, Reeves and McDonald are the basis of an extremely good crop of players.

Selwood needs a bronze statue of him ducking and drawing a free. He is the best.

Does the Cats board sook as badly as our board after a loss? We have some outstanding dummy spitters.
I think every board has their fair share of posters who don't take losses well tbh.

Thanks for sharing but Selwood, WTF! Dylan Moore, MacDonald, Frost??

7 clearances, 10 tackles (plus xxx head ducks and whinges) he was the second highest leading possession getter for them. Clearly be was one of the best on the ground in a close game.

Obviously both coaches agreed by giving him votes too. A few others could have featured, but three players for us and two for them is fair.

Cats board also thinks they’re still contending and haven’t already wasted a decade with their list.

The next decade sure is going to be fun. They might end up merging with Norf.

Yet here we are, they are going slightly better than rebuilding hawks

Reckon the posters bagging Hodge’s commentary are being a bit precious. Think he is one of the few who just calls the game and doesn’t crap on about how great Hawkins, Selwood and Danger are the whole game.

Gave credit where it was due without going overboard like Huddo or Dwayne. Also highlighted things Cats did well which he should do.

Even Ling (who was an absolute flog last week questioning every free kick we got) wasn’t too bad.

Reckon the posters bagging Hodge’s commentary are being a bit precious. Think he is one of the few who just calls the game and doesn’t crap on about how great Hawkins, Selwood and Danger are the whole game.

Gave credit where it was due without going overboard like Huddo or Dwayne. Also highlighted things Cats did well which he should do.

Even Ling (who was an absolute flog last week questioning every free kick we got) wasn’t too bad.
Jason Bennett is an easy listen. Need more of him.

I like Nathan Jones too.

I didn’t get that feel from their autopsy thread.
Will need to go back and re read

😁

I just quick read/scanned from about page 10 through to the end and while I may have missed the odd post, I also didn't get any vibe of them hating on the umpiring. More critical of their own team and coaching.

Autopsy Round 5, 2022: Hawks skin the Cats