See also: Essington
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Fair enough.I actually still think it’ll come down to how well we can defend your two big forwards this time, Curnow was way off fitness in round 1 and is now close to the best forward going around. Your midfield will torch us we’re really getting slow and having trouble running both ways. We’ll see, should be good.
As for full strength, it’s been since the 2020 grand final for us and even in that game we lost a player in the first five minutes, and that was without medical subs. So I’m stoked to see how we go if we pick our best possible side. We don’t have the luxury of much depth so we need our absolute best out there to be any chance of finals let alone going deep.
if lynch is playing, I think soWe seemed to be mismatched in defence at times. Not sure if it was our guys covering for each other, but the vision often showed our guys standing taller opponents.
Do we need Durdin in to get better matchups?
What is this ‘sneak’ shit. This team is awesome.Imagine if we sneaked a premiership in this year!! Would be an unbelievable feeling! I think I'd cry lol
Wasn't able to watch the game as am in Hawaii (just a little warmer than Melbourne ). Can anyone post a vid of the spray???
Thanks!!!
Wow, bit of humble pie mate, you’ve done nothing, yet.Whats with this post? A pep talk for yourself cause you honestly can’t go with us anymore?
Diddums
Suck it up cupcake, you’ve had your time, back in line.
Would love to see us bury a side at some stage but it looks like we are using our comfortable leads to practice tempo footy.
Makes for sone frustrating watching but we’ll be better for it long term.
Just chill on the second half fade-outs. We keep winning so just be happy. I'm sure a better opposition would/will bring out better need for us to play better for longer. We are good, no we are actually ******* good. No reason why we can't win it this year!
Young was huge tonight so glad we rained on their parade.
Newman has become a very solid mid sized defender for us..his 2022 has been outstanding. Suspect he'll be top 10 b n f
Will also need a few more quality players back. A bit of luck.I think we can win it this year and we should be setting that as our aim, to do that though, we need to get better at putting in 4 quarter performances, it’s an area that needs improving if we want to go deep in September.
Im very happy to be learning and improving whilst winning, long May it continue.
The entrance of an Austin Powers villainLooks like Bomber Thompson threw a key in an industrial fan so his mate could make a fitting dramatic entrance!View attachment 1421290
Thank You Carlton for spoiling the scumbags party especially with their sycophant themed entrance of Kim Jong Hird as though he was some sort of God/Dictator he truly has the Kool-aiders brainwashed.
Just glorious beating that cheating filthy club on their 150th thank you all for ruining their celebrations.
Young,Cripps,Docherty,Saad,Walsh,McKay,Hewett,Newman,JSOS were all great and it was good to see Marchbank back and slotting in fine.
Now we need to go out next Thursday and beat that feral mob of tigers to cement our spot in the top 4.
GO BLUES!
And this is why I don't see him becoming a player. It's fundamental stuff that's missing, and doesn't seem to improve. Can't see him making it, and the wing is a big weak link in our structures right nowNice to rain on their parade but was bit of a meh game.
We still tend to be dictated by the opposition in terms of intensity. Essendon bring the heat, we're more than happy to absorb it and give it back. Essendon drop off intensity, we get lazy. This has happened in a few games.
Walsh was good, but still tending to blaze away or second guess himself when he has a bit of time. He's better when he just relies on instinct, like his first kick under pressure with zero space where he kicked an inside out into space into the 50 for a Martin goal. When he's steaming forward he will often dart his eyes around then blaze away or try to hit up Harry or Charlie who are under immense pressure - ie the goal he should've kicked instead of lobbing it up to Charlie who was on the point line getting ragdolled.
Newman was really good. He's become our most reliable defender with ball in hand.
O'Brien makes me sigh. I really want him to make it, but honestly his only attribute seems to be a sweet left foot kick. If he is 1v1 in the air it's basically not even a 1v1, no matter the size of the other player. He just has no idea how to position his body or impose any physicality. That goes for any contested situation he may find himself in - except for a straightforward tackle. I honestly prefer Cottrell, he's a better runner, defender and if given space his disposal is fine.
Newnes had another stinker.
Marchbank (who moved great) and Young look like an adequate duo for the time being. Next week will be a huge test with Riewoldt and Lynch.
Durdin was quiet but he's safe. He's so important to our forward structure, and Owies seems to step up if Durdin is down anyway, so all good.
We really f*n need Pitto back. We got monstered in the clearances and it's not like Phillips and Draper are elite. If Pitto is healthy and we have that big bash and crash ruckman who gives us first use - we're a complete side who can win it all imo.
Anyway, onto next week. Reckon the Tiges are due for a stinker - they haven't had one in weeks.