Autopsy Roast and toast vs Port Adelaide and changes for GWS

Best vs Power

I know this will be unpopular, and aspects of his game and patches all year have been elite, but Balta gives the ball back every week, every week he has multiple simple kicking errors that cost goals.

He is becoming a liability late in games.

He has to be turned into a ruck/fwd or pure forward. HIs best footy IMO was when he had some freedom.
Yea he does do some dopey stuff I’ve said it from the get go but he’s actually improved a lot this year , his numbers are very good for a FB , oft 15-20p , a pile of intercepts , I reckon the coaches have simplified it to him , by just saying kick the campaigner out of it , don’t be too cute ,,,,,tbh he’s the least of our problems right now , his opponent kicked 1G , draw your attention to other end of the ground , not much going on down there , mansell about the only one leading

Staggering how many players we haven't settled in a position to much experimenting Biggie , Sonsie now , Ross , Bauer , Brown poor development for me. We don't do the most simple thing play players to their strengths.
Cumberland needs to come back into the side - his ability to turn ten minutes of football into goals is wht is required

Staggering how many players we haven't settled in a position to much experimenting Biggie , Sonsie now , Ross , Bauer , Brown poor development for me. We don't do the most simple thing play players to there strengths.
Multi position players? Port have them Geelong throwing players around too. Not always successfully. Ryan/Miller/Biggie have had to play ruck KPP due to injury. Bauer has played back too, I hear ~improve his ball reading skills. A good week to bring in Bauer or Biggie as KPFs. I rate Nyon

Hugo, Balta, Rioli, Baker, Short, Pickett Baker have played in a few positions. And we can now look at Hugo as a wing player. Pickett as a tagger.

Dusty, Shai, Cotch rotating up fwd means its hard for young small specialist fwds to get a game. Clarke is doing OK. Cumberland playing up the ground too. If it gets him in the 22 great. Sonsie was disappointing this year but a very talented player.

A few things after finally watched the entire game, especially in regard to those under the pump on here.

In my eyes Miller probably played his best game even though he has a lot of people calling for his head. 9 disposals and 4 marks is modest, but he was very constructive with his ball use, that pass to Dusty who missed the goal was top shelf. Finally looked to be playing like a CHF, although he seems to spend a lot of time on the pine. He competed in the air, often one handed but at least he started to hit the contest and brought the ball to ground. His agility at ground level is very good but he looked to be starting to understand his role.

I'm not a great MacIntosh fan but he was nowhere near droppable after that game. Without his hard running we would be even more static than we are.

Can't keep playing Ryan, he just isn't strong enough. The kid can play but not yet.

Jack is being beaten by average backman (not just Aliir who was not on him at times, but whoever else). He is being played super close and cannot beat those types for strength. Needs a rest and time to bring Bradtke in. Was pretty impressive in the VFL, covered a lot of ground and is a big strong unit who has decent speed.

Sonsie will become our accumulator but has just had a poor run of form, like most young players. He is our Butters, Merrett, Parish type of accumulating mid who probably needs another game in the VFL then bring him in. Ran into very good form in the second half after of the VFL last week. Cumberland much the same.

Ross is turning into a pretty good player and strangely suited to the wing. Wins contests and uses the ball pretty well. Quiet early but very good second half.

Thought Hugo was okay as well. Was pretty hard at it and used it okay. Not a high possession game but did not look out of his depth.

Nank was fantastic, his follow up at ground level is easily the best in the league. So while he may lack in hit outs his tackling and high possessions make him invaluable. You could hear the admiration in Buckley's voice, used to have great battles with Grundy so that is probably where that comes from.

Multi position players? Port have them Geelong throwing players around too. Not always successfully. Ryan/Miller/Biggie have had to play ruck KPP due to injury. Bauer has played back too, I hear ~improve his ball reading skills. A good week to bring in Bauer or Biggie as KPFs. I rate Nyon

Hugo, Balta, Rioli, Baker, Short, Pickett Baker have played in a few positions. And we can now look at Hugo as a wing player. Pickett as a tagger.

Dusty, Shai, Cotch rotating up fwd means its hard for young small specialist fwds to get a game. Clarke is doing OK. Cumberland playing up the ground too. If it gets him in the 22 great. Sonsie was disappointing this year but a very talented player.
Port had 2 KPFs missing and rotate Wines Burton up there. I don't their team that well but had to play players out of position.

Been happening forever. Sheedy, Bourke, Clay played multiple positions. Rucks used to rest on the ground in the forward pocket.

But sometimes the shifting the player shows they are better in one position.

100% you can just do what you like and media flogs will be like “ oh it’s ok everybody makes mistakes , it’s a hard game to umpire “ 😂

I woukk love to see data of deboy , Fischer , Ogorman in games they umpire against us and how many frees they pay us , I bet my left nut it would data worthy of an investigation if it were another sport
Feckin oath it's a hard game to umpire...trying to look like you are being fair, unbiased...when you are actually flogging one side with frees against!

Would rest one of Ryan or Riewoldt and give Bradtke a run.

Other than that I think our younger guys who are probably in the bottom six of the side - Miller, HRS, Ross, Clarke - were handy, and just need to have some continuity to the bye now.

Miller in particular had some moments that showed off his ability as a mobile tall - can compete in the air and still be agile enough to grab the footy at ground level and hit up a target.

hoping he's now got some more confidence to pull that off every week.

Sometimes it's called tunnelling.
Tunnelling is mild. I think that was almost reportable, rough conduct. SPP was about as reckless as you can get going for the ball. Ross was stationary and SPP grabbed the ball and pushed forward hard and took out both his legs. Very real possibility to do serious damage. And the ump payed it against Ross. One of the worst decisions I can remember. That ump should be banished.

We can still lose 2 games more and make the 8.

In a perfect world Ryan and Riewaldt would get a rest but we don't have the cattle.

Putting Bauer or bradke in now would be a disaster against very beatable Giants.

Just have to stick to the system and hope for dirty wins until we get some players back.

I'm not a great MacIntosh fan but he was nowhere near droppable after that game. Without his hard running we would be even more static than we are.
He runs hard but is that enough? His kicking is average at best and won't get any better.

Graham is another who runs all day but doesn't do much else. I sometimes feel his performances in the 2017 GF and 2019 PF have guaranteed him a game every week regardless of form.

Haven't

Haven't we tried him up forward and he was no good? Trade bait
2022 Balta played the first few rounds fwd. Actually played OK .

But a couple of injuries and we had Tarrant, Gibcus and Balta in the backline by the final. It was a high scoring game. Gibcus fair/poor Tarrant & Balta were passable.

No Gibcus and Tarrant this year. Young debuting there has been a bonus. The rest of the backline is going OK.

We lose Tarrant and maybe Broad this year.
Gibcus a KPF?

We have Biggie out of contract.

You want to trade Balta?

Keep playing Ryan for now, they're managing him well, his time in ruck has dropped off considerably after spiking for several weeks, plus he was subbed this week so theyre mindful of workloads. Its crazy he had about 10 cm's on his opponent, the one time he was isolated he took an easy contested grab. Isolate this kid!

Balta's biggest problem is he gives his opponent too much space especially early in games thinking he can cover the distance if needed but always gets caught out, now granted his judgement is about a bees dick away from being right and the kicks always seem to be centimetre perfect but you simply cant do that, just play 2-3 metres closer ffs. Also, he was comprehensively beaten by Finlayson 1 v 1 this week. I was actually stunned, I've seen him out muscle bigger blokes than Finlayson, but he just got ragdolled several times which I have to admit really surprised me. Finlayson had 9 marks

He runs hard but is that enough? His kicking is average at best and won't get any better.

Graham is another who runs all day but doesn't do much else. I sometimes feel his performances in the 2017 GF and 2019 PF have guaranteed him a game every week regardless of form.
Interesting to see if role players get dropped.

Keep playing Ryan for now, they're managing him well, his time in ruck has dropped off considerably after spiking for several weeks, plus he was subbed this week so theyre mindful of workloads. Its crazy he had about 10 cm's on his opponent, the one time he was isolated he took an easy contested grab. Isolate this kid!

Balta's biggest problem is he gives his opponent too much space especially early in games thinking he can cover the distance if needed but always gets caught out, now granted his judgement is about a bees dick away from being right and the kicks always seem to be centimetre perfect but you simply cant do that, just play 2-3 metres closer ffs. Also, he was comprehensively beaten by Finlayson 1 v 1 this week. I was actually stunned, I've seen him out muscle bigger blokes than Finlayson, but he just got ragdolled several times which I have to admit really surprised me. Finlayson had 9 marks
Agree on Ryan. Took a good mark and kicked a GOAL. Which no one else could.
If Jack isn't being rested may as well keep playing him

Finlayson is their backup ruck. He didn't take 9 marks on Balta did he?
The one he did, Balta is in front and borderline free kick material with the hand in the back.
But I agree Balta needs to fix a lot of stuff in his game. Balta plays from the front.

Ryan has been a liability for us last few weeks, he's slow and uncompetitive unless the ball is kicked perfectly to his advantage in a 1-on-1 situation. We cant carry him atm.

His kicking is usually safe if unremarkable, a little worse than usual of late but he did a lot of good work as well. His run and overlap and his linking up with the backs is too important to take away right now. As I said, not always his greatest fan, but the way we are playing right now, we need to keep some semblance of stability.

Graham is unremarkable as well but when you think of the cattle we can bring in there is not much. Cumberland and Sonsie. All our new recruits are either injured or just starting up, or tall like perhaps Bradtke. But 11 disposals from Graham is very below par, so yeah maybe. Borderline best 22 unless super fit and firing.

This week I would bring in Bradtke and Cumberland, out Ryan and maybe Graham, maybe Clarke who has not had a decent hit out in a long time.

Ryan/Miller/Biggie have had to play ruck KPP due to injury. Bauer has played back too, I hear ~improve his ball reading skills. A good week to bring in Bauer or Biggie as KPFs. I rate Nyon
Nearly time for Cotch to be in the VFL as a playing coach to progress our young players. Needs to get Sonsie and MRJ firing as midfielders.

Wouldn't take him to Fremantle but VFL is in Sydney as well this week so maybe sub?

Cumberland needs to come back into the side - his ability to turn ten minutes of football into goals is wht is required

There’s a reason they’re not playing him. I don’t know what it is but he is clearly ****ing it up somewhere

Twice kicked it straight oob too wide / long for our player to get to. Boundary throw around D50 line instead of a transition play down the wing for us and probably a F50 entry in each case. Another in the last quarter tried to pinpoint a pass to someone on their own near the back side of the square went straight over their head and marked by oppo for a repeat 50 entry for them. Under no immediate pressure in any of these instances. Played ok apart from that. No one minds errors when under pressure, but when under no or little pressure need to do better.

Finlayson pushed him in the back right in front of the umps. Defenders have no chance if umps are corrupt.
Yeah, I just feel that Balta is the least of our worries. It would be nice if he didn't do these stuff ups but they can't win without a functioning forward line.

To be honest, I thought that the Finlayson non-call was 50:50, it was a combo of back and side. I dont mind those being playon. It was just all the other calls and non-calls (Port throws/HTBs/holding) that went against us. And that tiggy touchwood free to JHF to seal the game was diabolical. That happens so often in games and is not paid, especially in the wet!