Opinion Sack Hinkley 9 - I Am Become Donuts, Destroyer Of Ports

I cannot remember ever going to a final with as little energy and enthusiasm from supporters as last night. It was like walking to a funeral to be honest. If the argument for keeping Hinkley is that he staves off the tarps, we're gonna see that theory tested hard next year.

Sexy So Big GIF by Mashed

Now that I got your attention...

We need a truckie to deliver a load of shit to Alberton.

The extension of Hinkley and the timing of it was perplexing to say the least. This is a guy who was a dead man walking at round 3. Its just more proof that we have been turned into a club who no longer prioritises success. Being mediocre is good enough to get an extension with us and its rotted all the way through to the players.
Kochi is all about how he looks to others,so when the media put on pressure to sign ken he was always going to crack, he couldn't take the chance we don't make finals if he sacked ken

On SM-A736B using BigFooty.com mobile app

He’s like a long term Uni employee who just hangs on forever with a nice wage and super and because he’s been there so long has one of those old contacts…

That sounds suspiciously specific. lol

I reckon you and I both know a couple of these types.

I recon they thought they were missing finals again which is why they said August thinking the year would be over and they would have to let Hinkley go.

When we won 13 in a row, Koch wasn't missing out on the opportunity to give Hinkley another extension.
We should have missed finals,our percentage was very average,6-10th,we are a big chance to miss finals next year then make them in 2025,just in time for ken to be extended

lol why would anyone repeat what rowe says as genuine information?

He’s the least credible talking head in a business full of shittalkers

Like lots of them are known for getting s**t wrong, I don’t think rowes ever been known for having any remote inside info. He just repeats what his callers say.
Who said it was genuine information? I said purportedly. No disrespect as I like your insights but maybe try a dictionary.

The whole coaching team walks out and leaves the players on the ground didn't even stay to see Jonas retiring

That's what happens when Ken Hinkley becomes the first coach in VFL/AFL history to fail to make a grand final in his first 11 years in his first senior coach job

View attachment AF_229HylYEIBnNL.mp4

I'm calling it now, Boaks new contract will get announced in the next few weeks to keep Port supporters happy.

They knew they were going to lose this, Kane already was making excuses before the Brisbane game so they put the Boak contract stuff in the media.

I cannot remember ever going to a final with as little energy and enthusiasm from supporters as last night. It was like walking to a funeral to be honest. If the argument for keeping Hinkley is that he staves off the tarps, we're gonna see that theory tested hard next year.
Exactly,we were dead men walking all week,we all knew we weren't winning

At least Hinkley was true to his word after the '21 capitulation. He said he wouldn't change a thing, and he hasn't.

We operate with a losing mindset, we are still grossly underprepared for big games, we still have no plan B, we still have glaring weaknesses all over the park from playing injured players and the ** still has a ** contract.

I'm calling it now, Boaks new contract will get announced in the next few weeks to keep Port supporters happy.

They knew they were going to lose this, Kane already was making excuses before the Brisbane game so they put the Boak contract stuff in the media.

Said that to my mum last night, if boak leaves because we don't offer him a contract, the club could cap size

And now Cornes refused to turn up to The Sunday Footy Show.

This was Cornes after the new Hinkley contract was announced, in which he sneered at Port fans for their lack of faith in Ken: "Stop sooking about the coach. As if you are going to hold off on this announcement and potentially disrupt the finals campaign ... you are not going to disrupt the finals campaign where we have a shot at winning a Grand Final. Ken Hinkley's record is amazing, really."

Am I the only one who hears this sorta interview and just thinks wow. You are a coach?!?!

The guy is basically standing there saying "Because we beat them last time, we'll just do what we did last time and it'll all work out"

What sort of naive s**t is that. Seriously.

I really hate that constant theme that has been there throughout the Hinkley era. Simple approaches, simple viewpoints, absolutely basic level analysis, it's just not the way an AFL coach should be. We beat the Lions by 50 points in round 1, doesn't mean it was going to happen again. To think everything we saw in the last 50 point win against GWS is just a certainty next time around is ridiculous.

A smart coach is going in saying something simple like "We've analysed what we did well in that last game, we know they'll bring plans to counter those strengths and we've addressed plans to ensure that we can counter that attention. They come in with a different lineup and we understand the challenge and what their best footy will bring, but the last win we had means zero and we will need to fight this battle on a completely new front, facing new challenges, whilst armed with several tactics we believe will set us up for success in replicating a similar result"

Instead we got "Ah yes we lost last week, and if you dig deep into the reasons you can find all those things, but we didn't dig that deep", "We beat them by 50 last time we played and they better remember that".
Not going to lie, 100% knew we'd lose after that interview.

“I AM PHYSICALLY ILL!”

Stu from Hahndorf with one of the all-time calls in last night’s post game, after Port Adelaide’s elimination in straight sets.

View attachment 1805919
It was a thing of beauty and summed up the feelings of the silent majority. I may make it my new ringtone. Timmy and Tredders reaction was telling.