MID: Pendlebury, Ablett, Mundy, Priddis, Boyd, Swallow
Harris, Mzungu, Jacobs

RUC: Cox, Smith
Sandilands, Keeffe

FWD: Franklin, Pavlich, Fyfe, Goodes, Chapman, Petrie, N. Riewoldt
Darling, Lynch, McKernan

Salary Cap: $124,800
Trades Left: 10

I'm really not sure what to do...I know Darling, Lower & Harris are all set to slide in price and Swallow has a fairly high BE.

I'm contemplating these trades for this round:
D. Harris -> I. Callinan
J. Toy -> C. Newman

And also have these in mind for a bit later...

After R12:
Z. Smith -> J. Tippet

After R13:
D. Swallow -> D. Swan
N. Lower -> H. Shaw

After R14:
D. Heppell -> S. Fisher

Thoughts, please? :D

Re: Round 12 trades

Howard[dogs supporters seem to be happy with him based on their boards, with confidence might get a lot more of the pill. They are comparing him to a Gilbee?]

I'm still sceptical about his JS.

The comparisons to Gilbee are only because when he was drafted he was said to be the replacement to Gilbee when he retires.

And also have these in mind for a bit later...

After R12:
Z. Smith -> J. Tippet

After R13:
D. Swallow -> D. Swan
N. Lower -> H. Shaw

After R14:
D. Heppell -> S. Fisher

Thoughts, please? :D
Harris to Isaac Smith then Swallow upgrade to a premium (S.Thompson, NDS, M.Murphy) then focus on defence

I'm still sceptical about his JS.

The comparisons to Gilbee are only because when he was drafted he was said to be the replacement to Gilbee when he retires.
okay as dogs supporter you may have better knowledge, why is his JS doubtful?? after this week they'll be building for next year, rocket has already shown a desire to play the kids and howard looks pretty handy,,,, enlighten us please

hah. im gonna ignore the username and try to be unbias =P and help out!

Well of all the backmen available this week and next, Toxic and myself have suggested that
Howard[dogs supporters seem to be happy with him based on their boards, with confidence might get a lot more of the pill. They are comparing him to a Gilbee?]
Nicholson(has MPP, but scoring isn't so great) are the two best options in terms of JS.

Strauss seems to be holding a place for tappy/batram.

What are your thoughts on Ablett vs Priddis? I noticed you mentioned both haha just like me. What is your rationale?

Thanks for your reply. In regards to Ablett vs. Priddis, these are my thoughts:

1. Both have teams in the last four that are fairly easy to get points against
2. Both should average around the same for the remainder of the season, however, Ablett will not have a bye.
3. Priddis is 50K cheaper, could be potentially important money.
4. Ablett could be subject to missing a few weeks like earlier in the season.
5. Ablett will easily cop a tag as his teams standout player, Priddis does not seem to mind attention.
6. Ablett has the potential to score much higher than Priddis in any single game.

Really all things point to Ablett for genuine premium and captain material. Priddis however will probably be more consistent in his scoring range (less fluctuations), and will be more unique.

Any major reasons to avoid Dal Santo? Really thinking of getting him this week. 471K and I would keep him as a permanent fixture in my midfield for the rest of the season. I know he's had a few games this season where he's not dealt with a tag well, but he's still scored very well in majority of the other games. Got a bye coming soon, but I reckon if I get him it has to be now

Would leave me with an on-ground midfield (in 2 weeks time) of

Judd - Priddis - Dal Santo - Swan - Pendlebury - Boyd

Any major reasons to avoid Dal Santo? Really thinking of getting him this week. 471K and I would keep him as a permanent fixture in my midfield for the rest of the season. I know he's had a few games this season where he's not dealt with a tag well, but he's still scored very well in majority of the other games. Got a bye coming soon, but I reckon if I get him it has to be now

I think he is a really good option at that price. The reason I won't is I already have Joey as do quite a few others. But that midfield looks very good and the cheaper price of NDS gives you cash to upgrade elsewhere if need be :thumbsu:

Harris to Isaac Smith then Swallow upgrade to a premium (S.Thompson, NDS, M.Murphy) then focus on defence
Is I. Smith even playing though? I. Callinan will grab a spot in Adelaide's team for sure (and he's some $18K cheaper) whereas I. Smith will have to work his way back into an already strong Hawthorn side.
I'm planning on getting Swanny after the C'wood bye (for a gun midfield of him, Pendlebury, Ablett, Priddis, Mundy & Boyd) and didn't want to miss out on a bottommed out Newman. Looking at the ppg difference between the two options, it is almost negligable.
Am I wrong in my thinking?

Because he bottoms out relatively often? That'd the reason I'm getting Priddis in instead of him, but he was up there on my list. Looking at your midfield though I'd probably still pick Mundy over him if you've got the $15k.

Anyway, my trades will be

This week -
Darling - ROK
Lower - Enright

Franklin, Pav, ROK, Goodes, Harvey, Reiwoldt, Lynch (Matera, Howe, Richardson)

quote]

Will this still work if you can trade out Matera? Darling is pretty great bench cover
As a forward line with Lynch and bench cover of Matera/Howe and Richardson -> isnt very strong.

Just putting it out there!
And i'd upgrade Matera before Lynch?

id be fairly stretched to upgrade matera instead of darling. couldnt get enright and rok this week.

in theory if i get enough cash i would upgrade matera over lynch and keep lynch for the bench for sure. see what happens in a few weeks with injuries and such.
sitting 700ish overall so will need a super strong run home to do any good but im really only in it for the league win.

cheers for the advice tho mate, i'll keep it on board

Not that many good downgrades on offer from the look of the trades this week.

Really shows the timing (lots of luck) of your run is really important. If you have hoarded trades too much you may be left with no downgrade options from here on in. Further trades could now compromise your bench as you go for lesser bench options. This may catch you out later in the carnage.

This is all harry hindsight and will be different each year. But looking at the downgrade options right now, you'd want to be one premium away from a full side. That equates to having completed your upgrades already banking Mungzu, Jacobs, Puopolo, Hibberd on the bench which all look like good safety options.

Not that many good downgrades on offer from the look of the trades this week.

Really shows the timing (lots of luck) of your run is really important. If you have hoarded trades too much you may be left with no downgrade options from here on in. Further trades could now compromise your bench as you go for lesser bench options. This may catch you out later in the carnage.

This is all harry hindsight and will be different each year. But looking at the downgrade options right now, you'd want to be one premium away from a full side. That equates to having completed your upgrades already banking Mungzu, Jacobs, Puopolo, Hibberd on the bench which all look like good safety options.

Yep, had to take them while they were on offer. I read a lot of team wisely double downgrade over the last few weeks before these players increased. It adds to my point in the 'how many trades left thread.'

It's almost worth picking up the likes of Mzunga who has great JS and still only 140k. You're still making ~200k by getting rid of a Darling or Swallow/Harris.

Probably going to hold my trades this week.

Am 8 grand short of a Stanley >> Newman upgrade which would have pretty much finished my team with 11 trades remaining.

I might hold off a few weeks and see if I can grab Fisher or Shaw after their final byes instead. Hopefully a decent downgrade target pops up in the meantime to fund such a trade. Ideally would like to downgrade Toy then upgrade L. Thompson to one of these guys. Keeping Stanley and Puopolo as bench coverage for the rest of the year.

Jack riewoldt is he worth the upgrade? Was looking at Stevie j instead but the bye in finals throws me off..

I got him at his rock bottom price and for the money I paid he's been good. That being said there are better options and at this stage of the year I'd probably be looking at your more consistent guns. If you are after a league win probably avoid Steve J.

Hey guys, looking for some advice:

current team:
D: Lids, Newman, Gibbs, Godd, Heppel, Broughton, Lower, Puopolo, Buckley, Delaney
M: Judd, Ablett, Boak, Swan, Pendles, Libba, Swallow, Mzungu, Hibberd
F: Franklin, NRoo, Pav, Goodes, Darling, Krak, Rioli, Pitt, Lynch, Matera
R: Cox, Smith, Hale, Campbell

original plan for the week was Matera > ROK, Libba > Mundy

Having a couple of second thoughts, for one I'm considering S Johnson instead of ROK and second I want to get Fisher at some stage. His price seems like it could rise but my backline is fairly strong atm, even though it does need another premium at least they are all playing for the most part.

The forward line is kind of weak with Matera/Pitt not playing much and the mids aren't bad but I think it's a good week to get Mundy with his price dropping a bit.

Any help appreciated. Going purely for league wins.

Hey guys, looking for some advice:

original plan for the week was Matera > ROK, Libba > Mundy

I reckon your original plan is good, I’d go with that. Looks like you need two upgrades in your forward line anyway so you can get Stevie J a bit later, take into account he has a bye in finals. Get Fisher after his bye.

thanks mate, I think you might be right.. just reading my own post it does seem like the initial plan makes the most sense at this point :thumbsu:

Harris > Mzungu

(Did it Sunday night as soon as supercoach opened as I was so pissed off with Harris spudding it up 2 weeks on the ground for me LOL!) :D:thumbsu:

Lower > Broughton

(When teams come out today)

Team will then be comeplete. :)

5 trades left after today. :eek:

Promise that I will stop trading for a while although would like Didak as bench cover. ROFL! :eek:

Decisions Decisions. 9 trades left. First trades would leave my with Cotchin/Swan wasted on the bench, as my cover is good.

Stanley - Nicholson
Harris - Mundy

Mids: Selwood, Murphy, Priddis, Mundy, Judd, Cotchin (Swan, Mzungu, Jacobs)

Could straight swap Cotchin to Sylvia, Fyfe etc next week to not waste a bench spot

or

Stanley - Nicholson
Knights - Sylvia

Switch Sylvia into Mids this week to cover Swan. When Swan returns, keep the mids the way they are.

Mids: Selwood, Murphy, Priddis, Judd, Cotchin, Harris (Swan, Mzungu, Jacobs)

Forwards: Franklin, Sylvia, Goodes, Chapman, N Riewoldt, J Riewoldt, Petrie (Darling, Prestia, Smith)

I can't decide who to bring in this week have just under $200k so looking to bring in 2 premiums who are currently down in value.

My options on trade ins are:

Enright or Broughton for Duigan
Rioli, Chapman or O'keefe for Krakouer

All the players above are capable of big scores and would strengthen my team but it's doing my head in trying to choose exactly who to bring in... any advice appreciated.

Decisions Decisions. 9 trades left. First trades would leave my with Cotchin/Swan wasted on the bench, as my cover is good.

Stanley - Nicholson
Harris - Mundy

Mids: Selwood, Murphy, Priddis, Mundy, Judd, Cotchin (Swan, Mzungu, Jacobs)

Could straight swap Cotchin to Sylvia, Fyfe etc next week to not waste a bench spot

or

Stanley - Nicholson
Knights - Sylvia

Switch Sylvia into Mids this week to cover Swan. When Swan returns, keep the mids the way they are.

Mids: Selwood, Murphy, Priddis, Judd, Cotchin, Harris (Swan, Mzungu, Jacobs)

Forwards: Franklin, Sylvia, Goodes, Chapman, N Riewoldt, J Riewoldt, Petrie (Darling, Prestia, Smith)

my 2 cents, I'd upgrade the midfield first. Mundy's at a good price - which going by the BE will likely hold for a week anyway - but mainly because your FWD line is stronger than your midfield. I'm basing that on 5 keepers in the mid and 5 1/2 - 6 in your fwd line (depending on how ppl rate petrie/jroo - I'd call them keepers at this stage, unless you have heaps of trades/cash)