List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Discussion II - Draft Day

Trout did pretty well with Sinclair but you wonder how much of that was Billings telling them about how brilliant his mate is.
My knock on the Weller into midfield discussion is his disposal was rubbish in tight this year whenever he got it around a stoppage. The old handball to god knows who. Tackling and aggression, no worries.
I'm really pleased with our picks, would have worried about Bonar, thought he looked a little hesitant at times. Love the way Hunter spins and lopes. They both look like they're gonna know what to do with it soon as they get it.
Watching the Clav highlights interesting to see him dishing to Hunter on a few occasions.

Mate if you reckon trout drafted sinclair on the back of jb saying he's a gun you've lost your mind

Spot on in the Quale book ,trout actually couldn’t believe why there wasn’t more interest in Sincs. Like it seems that trout was interested so like how for any draftee they ask family/team mates etc about said player since jb was at the club probably just asked him a few questions too

Ohhhhhkay... where to start...

Nowhere did I say that that’s the team that should be, or is the best, but rather, it was what I/me/this person would like to see...

It’s a matter of preference. You would have Armo, Bruce and Brown in, great, that’s the point of having a preference. Feel free to let me have mine, and I actually would like to see yours.

Personally, I think Brown is a very honest, structurally useful and dedicated footballer. I would also hope that we can (eventually) improve upon his output.

Goddard - when he was fit - was big, athletic, aggressive and had the useful addendum of being able to go forward if required. I was also his player advocate in his rookie year, so I’ve got a fairly hefty soft spot for him.

Armitage has played bugger all football in 12 months and has a famously geriatric back. Does he make it automatically back in when we have Ross, Steele and Dunstan all in form and able to play similar roles? Maybe not. Equally Koby Stevens, who I’m rather partial to, could feel aggrieved that he’s not in the mix.

The roughest omission is Bruce, but then again, if I was a key forward who managed to miss twice from the goalsquare I’d be looking over my shoulder too. In the area I sit at Etihad I’m famous for bellowing out all sorts of outlandish things about Bruce rubbing his man bun gently against my back as I cook him breakfast when he kicks a goal; love the bloke and his work rate is excellent.

That being said, I’d dearly love to see Marshall succeed. Not only has he worked his arse off to make it, but I’ve never seen a bloke of Tom Hickey’s size who genuinely bounds across the turf, plus he’s got a monster leap, great hands and is a lovely kick of the football. I’m a big big fan.

I noticed you didn’t object to Weller being omitted, but his 2016 form would make him a moral you would think.

Players miss out in both hypothetical AND actual sides, so you’ll have to forgive me if I take some time to express a preference, knowing that the team I chose is almost certain not to come to be.

That a better explanation?

FWIW, I think the clap back against your postings is over the top, and I’ve been as guilty of that as anyone, so I apologise for that. Just as a thought, maybe try and smooth the edges off your posting, it comes across as a bit overly opinionated and aggressive. We’re all know it alls on here, some of us are just better at hiding it.

Ya gotta have Bruce. What if he brings back that filthy Mohawk thing?

Ohhhhhkay... where to start...

Nowhere did I say that that’s the team that should be, or is the best, but rather, it was what I/me/this person would like to see...

It’s a matter of preference. You would have Armo, Bruce and Brown in, great, that’s the point of having a preference. Feel free to let me have mine, and I actually would like to see yours.

Personally, I think Brown is a very honest, structurally useful and dedicated footballer. I would also hope that we can (eventually) improve upon his output.

Goddard - when he was fit - was big, athletic, aggressive and had the useful addendum of being able to go forward if required. I was also his player advocate in his rookie year, so I’ve got a fairly hefty soft spot for him.

Armitage has played bugger all football in 12 months and has a famously geriatric back. Does he make it automatically back in when we have Ross, Steele and Dunstan all in form and able to play similar roles? Maybe not. Equally Koby Stevens, who I’m rather partial to, could feel aggrieved that he’s not in the mix.

The roughest omission is Bruce, but then again, if I was a key forward who managed to miss twice from the goalsquare I’d be looking over my shoulder too. In the area I sit at Etihad I’m famous for bellowing out all sorts of outlandish things about Bruce rubbing his man bun gently against my back as I cook him breakfast when he kicks a goal; love the bloke and his work rate is excellent.

That being said, I’d dearly love to see Marshall succeed. Not only has he worked his arse off to make it, but I’ve never seen a bloke of Tom Hickey’s size who genuinely bounds across the turf, plus he’s got a monster leap, great hands and is a lovely kick of the football. I’m a big big fan.

I noticed you didn’t object to Weller being omitted, but his 2016 form would make him a moral you would think.

Players miss out in both hypothetical AND actual sides, so you’ll have to forgive me if I take some time to express a preference, knowing that the team I chose is almost certain not to come to be.

That a better explanation?

FWIW, I think the clap back against your postings is over the top, and I’ve been as guilty of that as anyone, so I apologise for that. Just as a thought, maybe try and smooth the edges off your posting, it comes across as a bit overly opinionated and aggressive. We’re all know it alls on here, some of us are just better at hiding it.

Like the team you would like to see.

My only likes that I would hope is Rice & Freeman to be in there as well.

Geary & Gilbert exceptionable in leadership areas , but if we are going to improve kicking skills , speed &
youth are the key indicators we are.

I’m not sure Tom Lamb passes the no flogs rule
Getting sick of that line. We need some Figjams to spice up the place. Sick of the “Help the old lady across the road” do gooders!

Could pay off big time with Lamb.

I don’t mind Pierce. Good depth for Longer/Hickey.
I think Lew's on his last legs...if he doesn't show signs in 2018 it could be lights out. Hope not, I love the kid!

obviously time will be the real test but i reckon yet again Geelong did very well from a pretty weaker draft spot .. Lachlan Fogarty, Tim Kelly, Charlie Constable, Gryan Miers thats a pretty good haul.. i also like the haul the Swans got again from a pretty weak pick position they got Matthew Ling, Tom McCartin, Ryley Stoddart who wont be instant starts but we all know how the Swans develop players so strongly so the natural talent of those three with the development the swans would be pretty happy..
Wasnt expecting a big show of the WA players but in the end 15 boys from WA got drafted so while not top tens the state did have some good prospects ....

in my typical fashion the WA player i bemoan we didnt pick ended up at North this year in Kyron Hayden... would have loved to have him in the Red White and Black...

for our boys im happy ... im not screaming from the roof tops happy but im content happy... no melts this year ...

You never know in football Dean Cox was facing the same dilemma turned out alright

Big year for Hickey too
not quiet the same as Cox....
Cox came off the rookie list in 2001 and while he was slow fat and out of shape and he bearly finished the 3km time trial in the pre-season in that year he still managed to play 17 games in the AFL by 2004 where he started to become one of the best in the comp he had 55 games under his belt .. Lewie on the other hand in 4 years has one game to his name and is now being demoted to the rookie list... Cox started poor and built up to be an ok player then good player and finally star player , Lewie has gone from young potential to average player to below average player to now rookie listed player Cox improved Lewie is getting worse...

Yeah fair enough - all pick 25's play 22 games in their first season especially after they have played pretty much 12 months in a row.

In his first games he looked a little bit overwhelmed by the intensity of AFL but if you re-watching the Round 16 game I think you'll see there is a lot to like about the way he goes about the game. Good footy brain, good kick, gets to the rights spots and has a Gilbo like intensity for the contest that we need.

PS - You're right about one thing - writing someone off after their first season is definitely not "myopic and sycophantic optimism" but its also not giving the bloke a fair chance.

PPS - yep no one improves after they turn 18. Why did we bother picking Ben Paton!!!

Jack Sinclair, Sam Fisher, Michael Barlow, Matt Priddis, Sam Mitchell, James Podsiadly all older recruits - the list goes on and on and on!!!

I haven't written him off. Where did I say that? Simply think he's more likely not to make it, than make it.

Is that so bad?

Glad you were able to vent though.

List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Discussion II - Draft Day