Too bad Rooey's Tassie camp won't be on. I reckon that was great for the new players.
Who said it won’t be?
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Too bad Rooey's Tassie camp won't be on. I reckon that was great for the new players.
Does the club think Clark will be ready to play round 1?Who said it won’t be?
Does the club think Clark will be ready to play round 1?
Everyone wants a Fyfe or a Dangerfield on their list, right? Well I give you...Patrosh Dangerlly?
Bonar and fogarty were still there at our picks both high risk high reward x factor types.So, we snagged two midfielders with elite disposal and high speed with 7 + 8, and then an AA KPD with our next pick; all three players flagged for having great character?
Whilst I can see how Clark and Coffield lasted until the picks they did, given the evenness of the top end, I'm surprised Clavarino lasted until where we got him. Any idea on the knocks on his game?
It seems like Clark and Coffield lack the kind of X-factor like those taken higher (e.g Stephenson) have, however we've already got the likes of Gresham + Billings for that; they seem the type who will be able to perform to a high standard consistently. If you look at football from a metrics perspective, it's really about metres gained (whilst maintaining possession, of course) to create scoring opportunities, and the two ways to achieve this is with good penetrating disposal or by run and carry; both are traits held by Clark and Coffield.
He would have to be managed and I doubt he has enough of a fitness base to run through the middle on a regular basis.It’s really hard to say how kids respond mentally and physically to their first pre season but what I do know is that our recruiters had him right at top of draft rankings, he’s looked at as being in same class as Paddy and JB. On talent alone he’s in our best 22 but it will all depend on how he copes with a full time workload.
Everyone wants a Fyfe or a Dangerfield on their list, right? Well I give you...
Fyfe Dangerfield!
Pros:
Uncontracted Free agent (check contract with Guillemots)
Hairstyle already in line with the hair bear sector of our list
Very attractive, good for our female and gay fans
Good with dealing with the media, fame, etc, expresses himself well in front of a microphone
From outside Australia, he qualifies as a Cat II rookie
No knock on his character, speed, endurance, or kicking
Versatile, not a one-position player
Cons
Never played the game
Would have to move to Australia from the UK
A little old at 37
Probably have to spend a couple of seasons just building a tank
Difficult to gauge level of motivation
High risk high reward get it done Ameetos
Mate if you reckon trout drafted sinclair on the back of jb saying he's a gun you've lost your mind
When’s the intraclub? Is it here yet?!I reckon Clark will probably play 15+ games.
He's a bit of a bag of bones (and seeing that pic of him at training the other day did make me understand why some apparently have doubts about his ability to bulk up enough to be able to play inside at AFL level- but hopefully he will), but he's got the versatility to be able to play outside and back, or even forward, so I just think we'll find ways to get and then keep him in the team as much as possible, and that will be helped if/when we have injuries.
I guess the thing that could make that harder is if they're just as keen to get Coff in, but with him being taller, I reckon they'll see H as being more ready-to-go, and I think he's probably got the bigger tank at the moment as well, which will give him even more of an edge.
I just hope they don't bring him in really early if he's not really ready, like they did Billings, Paddy, Gresh and Long, but they probably will. So here's hoping he's more ready from the get-go than they were. Like Dunstan, Sincs and Lonie. I suspect he will be, as his tank is prolly better than any of the first four had.
Both shitcampaigners, well they are now.Bonar and fogarty were still there at our picks both high risk high reward x factor types.
Kicking can be pretty shaky, improved this year but still wobbly under pressure. Also despite his size there's some question marks on his strength one-on-one.So, we snagged two midfielders with elite disposal and high speed with 7 + 8, and then an AA KPD with our next pick; all three players flagged for having great character?
Whilst I can see how Clark and Coffield lasted until the picks they did, given the evenness of the top end, I'm surprised Clavarino lasted until where we got him. Any idea on the knocks on his game?
It seems like Clark and Coffield lack the kind of X-factor like those taken higher (e.g Stephenson) have, however we've already got the likes of Gresham + Billings for that; they seem the type who will be able to perform to a high standard consistently. If you look at football from a metrics perspective, it's really about metres gained (whilst maintaining possession, of course) to create scoring opportunities, and the two ways to achieve this is with good penetrating disposal or by run and carry; both are traits held by Clark and Coffield.
He is now a Giant Bonar. Bruce better lay off of "delicious" when commentating his games.Fogerty was too much of a risk.
Not only due to injury and shit form but due to flight risk.
No doubt though he is the most talented of this draft group if he can put it all together.
Look Bonar I genuinely wish him well but he's had literally half a season of game time that we can assess him on. That's a huge risk especially when we need to nail these two picks.
Everyone has waxed lyrical about his professionalism but honestly so what. Nathan Wright is amongst the hardest trainers at our club and with due respect he's a battler. He was a highly touted 15 year old and then was injured until halfway through this year, had no real stand out games.
The only game he looked above average was the all star game and that has no defensive pressure and is made for attacking players to look good.
I'd be ******* ropeable if we took a risk on him.
Kind of hope not, I gave up on picking Lewis in Supercoach because he got suspended too oftenWhen I think Hunter Clark , I do draw comparisons with Jordan Lewis. Both went Pick 7 in the Draft , both use their left foot and have other similarities , and when Hunter's career is over , he will of hopefully had the same success , without ever needing to go to the Dees to finish his career. I too have the feeling , that Hunter will give the Rising Star Award a real shake.
Bonar and fogarty were still there at our picks both high risk high reward x factor types.
Honestly, I was searching for info on another singer just called Fyfe so I googled "fyfe -nat" and this dude popped up. Maybe his middle name is Dusty!Whatever made you think to Google “Fyfe Dangerfield”?
Unless you’re a fanboy.
Kicking can be pretty shaky, improved this year but still wobbly under pressure. Also despite his size there's some question marks on his strength one-on-one.
Harrison Petty is another one to keep your eye on. He was ranked slightly ahead of Oscar by most that I saw but we passed on him to take Clavarino.Clav’s kicking action looks like Darren Jarman’s compared to Aaron Naughton’s.
Naughton currently physically stronger but 3-4 preseason’s down the track & that should even out.
One went at 9, the other at 36.
It’ll be intriguing to watch the careers of both & see if Trout picked a gem at a low cost.
looking at that, Cerra and Clark must be pretty similar type players
I know Bonar is a giant but the best nickname for him would be ‘petite’ which is the exact opposite. As in ‘Bonar Petite’.
It’d be like calling him ‘tiny’ only in Spanish.
The weirdest part of those comparisons is that the AFL players themselves are nothing alike for most players
I know Bonar is a giant but the best nickname for him would be ‘petite’ which is the exact opposite. As in ‘Bonar Petite’.
It’d be like calling him ‘tiny’ only in Spanish.