List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 1

Dunstan as a smokey for a trade, not that we'd get much for him but if he becomes surplus by year's end, would help free up a spot.
We re-signed him only 2 months ago lol.

Bruce won't go anywhere his best years are still ahead of him.
All our money ball players and late picks are slow developers they are all getting better with age.
Bruce did so well as a second forward then got asked to take the best defender and pinch hit ruck too wasn't fair on him.
When we need a second ruck around the ground they realised we are better off being second at the ball then killing him he needs some energy to get distance/jump over the top
If gilbo went down would rather Webster take it then Bruce.

Great post mate...

Last year we made 9 changes...

Tom Curren (del)
Luke Delaney (del)
Sam Fisher (ret)
Tom Lee (del)
Brodie Murdoch (del)
Brenton Payne (del)
Josh Saunders (del)
Cameron Shenton (del)
Eli Templeton (del)

I don't think we'll make that many changes again at the end of this year but we're already one down with Dempster's retirement.

From the players OOC I'd personally say Holmes, Miller, Baker-Thomas are you'd think certainties.

So that's four...I guess we'd need probably 2 more changes. Sinclair needs a good year, as does Lonie.
Miller isn't contracted and JBT is cat b. He'll only be dropped for Miller imo.

So that's four...I guess we'd need probably 2 more changes. Sinclair needs a good year, as does Lonie.

I think Sinclair's safe because he's a true mid (almost) and we haven't got many of those.

Looking at it in terms of supply and demand, ignoring contracts, I'd say:

- Too many small forwards: Weller, Gresham, Lonie, Minchington, Long, Wright (+ Billings, Sinclair, Stevens, other mids who can probably play that role)

- Too many small/mid backs: Geary, Montagna, Newnes, Webster, McKenzie, White, Rice, Savage (+ Wright, Connellan who can maybe play that role)

- Too many rucks: Holmes, Longer, Hickey, Pierce, Marshall (+ other talls who can pinch hit)

I'd get rid of one from each of those groups. Assuming no contracts, that would be Wright delisted, Savage traded for a 3rd rounder, Holmes delisted.

Taking into account that Dempster's already gone, that means 4 off the list, which gives enough space for four draft picks. Right now that would be the two first rounders, a second rounder and a third rounder. I think maybe we need to get rid of one more to give us five picks, which might mean both of Lonie or Minch gone as well.

Contracts aren't really a problem because they just need to be paid out. We've got plenty of salary cap space so paying out a contract isn't a problem. Would rather not spend the actual cash, but saving a few hundred grand to waste a couple of list spots seems silly to me. Those list spots (picks between 30-50) could be pretty important in the future.

Great post mate...

Last year we made 9 changes...

Tom Curren (del)
Luke Delaney (del)
Sam Fisher (ret)
Tom Lee (del)
Brodie Murdoch (del)
Brenton Payne (del)
Josh Saunders (del)
Cameron Shenton (del)
Eli Templeton (del)

I don't think we'll make that many changes again at the end of this year but we're already one down with Dempster's retirement.

From the players OOC I'd personally say Holmes, Miller, Baker-Thomas are you'd think certainties.

Out of all of them, Saunders was the one I thought would make it and had high hopes for, funnily enough.

Good wheels but went by hand a lot. Kicking not up to the level.

I think Holmes is a given to go.After that it gets really tough. Whoever goes from there might get another crack at another club.

From the 2012 draft we have:
Nathan Wright. Its hard to see a place for him and his game style. Maybe we de-list him and he gets two years pay.
Lewis Pierce. Yes he's younger than Holmes, but does that mean he's valued? His single AFL game wasn't enough to say.
Hickey, Longer, Pierce, Holmes. Then Marshall. Then backup with Carlisle and maybe Goddard.
We could either trade one of Hickey and Longer, or we could delist Pierce and use him as backup until Marshall is ready. Or we could delist Holmes.
Pierce needs to perform at whatever level he is playing.

From the 2013 draft we have Billings, Dunstan Acres.
Billings and Acres seem to be cemented in the best 22 most of the time, certainly will be retained.
Dunstan is seriously WTF!. How do you get worse after 3 seasons. I'd have to think that if he can't find his way back he's on shaky ground.

From the 2014 draft we have
Goddard. Tall players take longer, and Goddard was injured for a year. If we think there is still time for Pierce , then there is plenty of time for Goddard.
McKenzie. Hasn't set the world on fire but there is plenty to like about what we've seen from him so far. If he's half decent at any level this year i'd keep.
Lonie. Shows a lot of footy ability, and he's a player who will benefit if he can bulk up a bit. (look at Milne's physique when he started and when he finished ) Still the club may be impatient. Seems a bit premature though when you look at how long we've had Minch who isn't much better.
Sinclair. Also showing ability and improvement.

From the 2015 draft we have:
Gresham. A keeper for sure.
White. Would need to go significantly backwards to be delisted.
Rice. Would need to go backwards to be delisted.

Other "fringe" or older players.
Minchington. 23yo Plays a role, but has never had more than 16 disposals. We could de-list him and give him 2 years pay.
Gilbert. 30yo, and whilst useful ( new relief ruck) , often seems to under perform. It could be time.
Armitage. Have to ask the club medical staff. If he can get his shit together keep him.
Savage. Has previously been an automatic selection, but found his niche in the backline. As others develop he may get pushed out.

Anyone on the rookie list will need to perform pretty damn well if they expect to stay.

Rice is coming up very nicely but to get a game for us, it's very unlikely at this stage. Geary, Webster, Roberton literally ripping it for us. But we got some impressive depth for our backline in White, Rice, Dmac, Savage, Goddard all in reserves atm.

When we got McKenzie he was " Dynamic midfielder with good game sense, a big leap and plenty of speed and endurance. "
I'm kind of disappointed if we've turned that into "another generic hbf "

Also a trade suggestion. I know we have really good ruck stocks. But like we can trade longer away for 2ND rounder. Use that 2nd rounder + Josh Bruce for Brodie Grundy. Pies desperately need a key forward and Hickey is good but he doesn't perform against premier rucks in the Comp. Grundy is overall a very good ruck would compliment our mids nicely.

Josh Bruce is a good player but will we see him in our best 22 when Paddy & Battle finally start smashing It. opens the idea of playing Paddy along with Marshall or Battle. With Marshall in we don't have to worry about getting smashed in the ruck. Marshall & Grundy combination seems more superior to Longer and Hickey.

I personally find my suggestion very stupid but would like to hear your thoughts :)

I agree with you, and its not even certain that Paddy will be smashing it, let alone Battle.

From the 2012 draft we have:
Nathan Wright. Its hard to see a place for him and his game style. Maybe we de-list him and he gets two years pay.
Lewis Pierce. Yes he's younger than Holmes, but does that mean he's valued? His single AFL game wasn't enough to say.
Hickey, Longer, Pierce, Holmes. Then Marshall. Then backup with Carlisle and maybe Goddard.
We could either trade one of Hickey and Longer, or we could delist Pierce and use him as backup until Marshall is ready. Or we could delist Holmes.
Pierce needs to perform at whatever level he is playing.

From the 2013 draft we have Billings, Dunstan Acres.
Billings and Acres seem to be cemented in the best 22 most of the time, certainly will be retained.
Dunstan is seriously WTF!. How do you get worse after 3 seasons. I'd have to think that if he can't find his way back he's on shaky ground.

From the 2014 draft we have
Goddard. Tall players take longer, and Goddard was injured for a year. If we think there is still time for Pierce , then there is plenty of time for Goddard.
McKenzie. Hasn't set the world on fire but there is plenty to like about what we've seen from him so far. If he's half decent at any level this year i'd keep.
Lonie. Shows a lot of footy ability, and he's a player who will benefit if he can bulk up a bit. (look at Milne's physique when he started and when he finished ) Still the club may be impatient. Seems a bit premature though when you look at how long we've had Minch who isn't much better.
Sinclair. Also showing ability and improvement.

From the 2015 draft we have:
Gresham. A keeper for sure.
White. Would need to go significantly backwards to be delisted.
Rice. Would need to go backwards to be delisted.

Other "fringe" or older players.
Minchington. 23yo Plays a role, but has never had more than 16 disposals. We could de-list him and give him 2 years pay.
Gilbert. 30yo, and whilst useful ( new relief ruck) , often seems to under perform. It could be time.
Armitage. Have to ask the club medical staff. If he can get his shit together keep him.
Savage. Has previously been an automatic selection, but found his niche in the backline. As others develop he may get pushed out.

Anyone on the rookie list will need to perform pretty damn well if they expect to stay.

Club will do the right thing with seniors.

Gilbert us 50/50 and will depend if someone steps up this year. Otherwise, I can see him going again next year. Worse case he may do a Schneider. But I don't see it.

Armo us interesting. If he can't get it back to a decent level, he'd have to question if he calls it quits. Doubt he will and will go another preseason.

Only reason grundy isn't in Collingwood colours in the near future is if he decides he wants to go home. He's untouchable. They'd be mad to trade him.

If we're dealing with Collingwood we'd be better off trying to pry a midfielder or two out of them in return.

But even then there's probably better and more attainable targets out there

agree on saunders

my personal opinion on lonie is that he's over-rated and just doesnt have the attributes for senior AFL football. i doubt any club would take him TBH i think if clubs were passing over eli templeton, then they will more so on lonie

wright was

You don't think you're talking Wright up and giving Lonie a hard wrap? Could very easily go the other way too. Wright is a bigger butcher of the ball than the love child of an '07 Gilbo and Clint Jones would be. Lonie isn't that fast but he's evasive, has pretty good ball use and applies a very good amount of defensive pressure. From what I've seen Lonie is more likely to make it. Also last years picks 1 & 2 (McGrath and Taranto) didn't make the AIS academy and pick 3 (McCluggage) was a late inclusion to the squad so I think that shows how important that is...

i think its probable that neither work out long term. they are fringe players at best, however i think wright will earn more time on the list due to being contracted and having the ability to play a couple of positions. he's your good honest soldier, who can compete

That's all good and well but how many honest soldiers do you see in Adelaide's 22? They don't accept that kind of player anymore, the game's moved past them imo and all the teams who still carry them are the ones nearer to the bottom than the top. Except Richmond but we all know how that went when they played an actually good team that doesn't suck interstate.

Adelaide like every other club have more than 22 players on the list. And believe me as good as their list is they also have gop's and others not so gop's.
Alot of players on lists dont even play 1 game.
I like Wright he's a soldier.

I don't know what anyone else thinks, but I reckon Shane Savage is on rocky ground in terms of his place on the list for next year.

He's quick and has a good kick, but defensively is lax and doesn't really seem to impact the game enough as an outside running mid. We have many others who play as half-backs, including two in White and Rice who will be pressing more strongly over the next year or two.
Savage was very good defensively last season imo.

Have you guys heard the breaking news coming out of Perth, Nat Fyffe has agreed in princilple of a transfer to StkiIlda next year for a reported 1.5 mil per year. Just announced on Perth radio. Fantastic player, but is he worth 1.5 mil? Could be the icing on the cake for a flag though.

Probably a better typer than me.:thumbsu:

I don't mean to alarm anyone and by no means do I know for certain that what I'm about to say is 100% correct.
An industry source, from a rival club has informed me that Fyfe has signed a 5 year, $1.5m a season contract with us...
Like I said, it might not be entirely accurate, or it might be. Watch this space.

EDIT- Turns out I am late to the party.