List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 2

hey guys, if any of you dont mind a bit of a kick of the footy. be it at qtr time at the footy, the park, front yard or even the back yard. just be a bit careful

i was out the back with the litte man having a bit of kick to kick and some bloke called Michael McMahon just offered me a contract to play for Norf. I have no idea how he even saw me given its in my back ****ing yard and i'm not sure why he'd want me. i'm overweight, a terrible kick and the wrong side of 30... he was really pushy. aparently north's a great club, play in tassie yadda yadda. he kept asking me how old i was though, which i found strange

I'm not sure the stoppages are a huge problem now though. In fact clearances have become one of our strengths this year. It's very clear we need some polish.

We get mauled against good teams .
Ranked 16th centre clearances
Ranked 14th contested possies

He's cheap , He's free and He's a centre square beast .

Averages over 30 disposals a game, 11th best in the comp in a side where Zorko is his only back up often. Seb Ross is our best by a huge way on around 29 a game.

I honestly can´t split Dusty & Jelly. For pure needs basis and match winning versatility I´d choose Martin. For breathtaking skill and game breaking run
it would be Kelly. Both are just awesome players. We wouldn´t lose out by getting either.

Nah just laughing at this thread.....full of dreamers. Its amusing me.
Serious question, mate how did you get this gig and what do north pay you?.

Is it a contract $$ per season or do they pay you by the hour?.

Have you been doing it for long and is there any talk of it being out sourced.

The reason I ask is that my kids have a couple of Uni friends who wouldn't mind talking shit for a couple of hours a day if the pay is ok.

I must say those stats surprise me. I know we have won the clearances each time in the last 5 weeks and that includes 3 of last years top 4.

Yeah suprised me too ,
No Armitage hurts i think
Wish they had a stat for quality of the centre clearances .

Yeah suprised me too ,
No Armitage hurts i think
Wish they had a stat for quality of the centre clearances .
How many times have we actually lost the clearance count though? I think those stats you originally showed might just be misleading.

EDIT: We have only lost the clearance count on 3 occasions all year and have won the last 5.

Selling the great man short I reckon. Lenny was more than just a big hearted competitor, he also had one of the best side steps in the business and a beautiful spear pass as well (mainly to Roo).

He did have a very good ability to baulk but if you had to compare him to the best players of his era he wasn't the best kick, best mark, best handball, didn't have ridiculous goal sense etc. His real point of difference was his massive heart he put into the way he played, his toughness and his competitiveness, his ability to run out games when others tired around him etc. He lifted his team mates through his ability to make a contest when he didn't have any right to even be in it. He was a guy who wasn't born with ridiculous talent, he made his way in footy through hard work and application.

hey guys, if any of you dont mind a bit of a kick of the footy. be it at qtr time at the footy, the park, front yard or even the back yard. just be a bit careful

i was out the back with the litte man having a bit of kick to kick and some bloke called Michael McMahon just offered me a contract to play for Norf. I have no idea how he even saw me given its in my back ******* yard and i'm not sure why he'd want me. i'm overweight, a terrible kick and the wrong side of 30... he was really pushy. aparently north's a great club, play in tassie yadda yadda. he kept asking me how old i was though, which i found strange
Lol maybe you should stop drinking

I just had a quick look at the north thread and what do you know... I was quoted in there!

I don't know if I should feel special or kind of dirty. I am a bit worried that my IQ has decreased considerably by association.

Obviously my future headline post hit a raw nerve. I guess they really are shifting themselves.
Everyone needs more Kegs!

How many times have we actually lost the clearance count though? I think those stats you originally showed might just be misleading.

EDIT: We have only lost the clearance count on 3 occasions all year and have won the last 5.
We are 14th in total contested possessions and 15th in total centre clearances. Totals aren't a very useful stat. In particular ATM as some teams have played one more game than us.

Based on average differentials which is a much more meaningful stat we're 7th in contested possessions and 8th in clearances.

Just reporting the facts , maam ;)

i've been in the 'take them to the draft' camp all year, but I think i've finally broken. Get Kelly. Our two first rounders. No messing around, just get it done.

Also we can still grab a fyfe/dusty as an FA regardless. We're just going to be more attractive if we have kelly. They'll all be jelly

edit: f me i just watched some dusty from tonight. how can a man choose between kelly and martin!?

We are 14th in total contested possessions and 15th in total centre clearances. Totals aren't a very useful stat. In particular ATM as some teams have played one more game than us.

Based on average differentials which is a much more meaningful stat we're 7th in contested possessions and 8th in clearances.

Sounds better .
But our stats across the board show a side middle of the table .
We are stinking things up .

That why you throw the kitchen sink at a restricted free agent. Why get into a bidding war for Kelly when it costs you draft picks as well. Offer Dusty ridiculous money that Richmond can't match.

On K107 using BigFooty.com mobile app

The advantage imo of trading for someone like Kelly is that he has maybe 10 years left in him. He can be the core of the midfield for all this time. While I see the attraction with pursuing a free agent like Martin its a shorter term option.

What do people think it would take to get Kelly if he wanted to come?

Im hoping we hang onto one of our first rounders so im thinking something like this is reasonable.

One first rounder
Longer or Hickey. They need a replacement for Mumford soon.
Savage. They need depth and Shaw is getting on a bit.

I still think we'll land 1 superstar BUT if we dont i firmly believe with 2 high picks in this draft we land some serious talent. Mids that could be stars on the rise in a couple years. And no 1.5M price tag.
Our team has to be able to naturally evolve to a point of contention anyway. Been many years of rebuilding already.

i've been in the 'take them to the draft' all year, but I think i've finally broken. Get Kelly. Our two first rounders. No messing around, just get it done.

Also we can still grab a fyfe/dusty as an FA regardless. We're just going to be more attractive if we have kelly. They'll all be jelly

I think we will have the picks to satisfy GWS if he nominates us without just throwing away both this years picks. If we give them pick 4 and next years first it should be plenty. Pies got to give up pick 7 and the following years first rounder for Treloar (and a GWS 2nd round pick back when they weren't playing finals) who was probably their best or second best mid at that time along with Shiel. That's the precedent for a high caliber young player.

If he nominates we need to give fair value but our fans seem to have no ability to think rationally when they see a good player. I want flags and wasting picks we don't need to give up doesn't help that.