List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 2

I kind of like the idea of doing what GC did with melbourne where they traded away their early first rounder for a first round downgrade and another first rounder next year

The reason I say this is I think next year's draft will be a cracker and if we play it smart we could end up with another upgrade like we got with this year's first round upgrade

Something like pick 2 for pick 7 and a first rounder next year.

That keeps our options open for more sort after players next year or we have a pick in a good draft.

Then just package up the two first rounders we have this year for kelly.

Means we have kelly plus two first rounders next year

If kelly isn't an option then I'd be chasing whitfield with a late first and holding onto pick 2

Chasing a contracted whitfield with a late first round pick?

Lolwot.

How hard would you laugh at a club offering us pick 18 for gresham or billings or mccartin?

Boyd is the worst argument ever, he played one good game and is otherwise a spud. It happened to be in a GF and the idea he might even have been a Norm Smith winner is just for contrast. He will be delisted unless he makes a quantum leap.People complained about Kosi, they would be in tears watching Boyd.

We fast tracked with Carlisle and gave up a top 3 pick. so far Gresham has taken the heat off the trade but he's just a serviceable tall back. I reckon he's not been outstanding in any way and would be no more quality than guys Lynden Dunn or Henry Schade.
Ate you doing your best King impersonation here?

We did not give up a top 3 for Jake. Get it right FFS .

The guy is a superior player to those you compare him to. Just come of a 12 month sabbatical, and into a new team.

Sorry, but gotta call bullshit on this post.

Chasing a contracted whitfield with a late first round pick?

Lolwot.

How hard would you laugh at a club offering us pick 18 for gresham or billings or mccartin?

fair point, maybe its two mid to late first rounders? but i dont think he has the same value as say kelly

Remember Melbourne traded the pick that netted Kelly to GWS for Dom Tyson and a swap of later picks? Tyson was a gun mid at the Giants at the time and it looked super smart recruiting as they got a ready made A grade mid? Never worked out so good for them. He's not in their best 5 mids these days. They have netted guys like Oliver when they actually went to the draft and nearly all their improvement has come from the early picks used well. I want Kelly but not if it hurts our future.

In what world does 13 games 15 possies a game make you a gun mid ready made a grader.... it makes you nothing more than a decent prospect

Boyd is the worst argument ever, he played one good game and is otherwise a spud. It happened to be in a GF and the idea he might even have been a Norm Smith winner is just for contrast. He will be delisted unless he makes a quantum leap.People complained about Kosi, they would be in tears watching Boyd.

We fast tracked with Carlisle and gave up a top 3 pick. so far Gresham has taken the heat off the trade but he's just a serviceable tall back. I reckon he's not been outstanding in any way and would be no more quality than guys Lynden Dunn or Henry Schade.

This is the worst call I've read for a long long time.. the others have already corrected you on the pick 3 call but Carlisle has been outstanding after a slow start.. we have no one else who can intercept mark like him, he's one of the best kicks for a key back , is a very smart footballer.. his value is massive ... and Lynden Dunn? Can only assume this is a piss take post

Top 3 pick???

We gave up picks 5 & 24 for Carlisle & pick 14.

For a bloke who's had 18months off from footy & major hip & knee surgery, I'd say he's going pretty well. And don't be ridiculous, he looks & plays much better footy than Schade & Dunn

Melbourne better than us?

Possibly, but it is certainly not by much.

Last time I checked the ladder, they were 5-5 with a game to come today, while we are 5-6. They've beaten Adelaide, we've beaten GWS. Melbourne couldn't even bloody beat Hawthorn FFS!

At years end: Add Josh Kelly, Harry Himmelberg & Zak Jones to our list, as well as a classy quick 1st round pick, and I'd say we leap frog them yet again

Last time I checked the ladder, they were 5-5 with a game to come today, while we are 5-6. They've beaten Adelaide, we've beaten GWS. Melbourne couldn't even bloody beat Hawthorn FFS!

At years end: Add Josh Kelly, Harry Himmelberg & Zak Jones to our list, as well as a classy quick 1st round pick, and I'd say we leap frog them yet again

Win losses aren't everything. They have looked far superior to us & that's missing Gawn & Hogan for significant parts of the year.

They have dropped some games they should not have, they are young (younger than us) & are inconsistent but looking at them there's significant improvement left.

They haven't been flogged like we have the past three weeks & have generally been in every game. Beating Adelaide at on their home deck is more impressive than beating GWS at Etihad, Carlton proved that.

Their midfield has premiership winning midfield written all over it, their forward line built around Hogan & possibly Petracca has more star power than ours. Our forward line is built around battlers, like our whole 22 with the exception of a couple of players.

Hopefully we do add some talent such as Kelly because at the moment we are well behind Melbourne in just about every aspect even if win loss record says otherwise.

The true test would be to ask a neutral supporter with half a clue which team they have ahead. I suspect Melbourne would be the overwhelming favourites.

99 % sure we aren't getting Zak jones

My guess is richo has nothing to do with picking draft players. Anyway I wouldn't be trading hickey even though he would get more than longer. The more I see if longer the less I like as a player in today's game. And I reckon Richmond match what we offer Martin especially if we also want lever and Zac because that would limit what we can offer Martin due to the sc. I for one have no interest in another big cost for a backman. No club in the history of tge draft would have paid big for two tall backs. Rather add another mid or blow away richmond with offer for Martin.

Richo doesn't pick players... in quayles article he had to be convinced on mccartin, reading between the lines he wanted petracca (so did i fwiw which means jack s***)

Mate... Carlisle is significantly better than schade and dunn

Top 3 pick???

We gave up picks 5 & 24 for Carlisle & pick 14.

For a bloke who's had 18months off from footy & major hip & knee surgery, I'd say he's going pretty well. And don't be ridiculous, he looks & plays much better footy than Schade & Dunn
Ease up on Gringo. He's been mire sensible than most since Friday.

Maybe the morphine is wearing off...

Win losses aren't everything. They have looked far superior to us & that's missing Gawn & Hogan for significant parts of the year.

They have dropped some games they should not have, they are young (younger than us) & are inconsistent but looking at them there's significant improvement left.

They haven't been flogged like we have the past three weeks & have generally been in every game. Beating Adelaide at on their home deck is more impressive than beating GWS at Etihad, Carlton proved that.

Their midfield has premiership winning midfield written all over it, their forward line built around Hogan & possibly Petracca has more star power than ours. Our forward line is built around battlers, like our whole 22 with the exception of a couple of players.

Hopefully we do add some talent such as Kelly because at the moment we are well behind Melbourne in just about every aspect even if win loss record says otherwise.

The true test would be to ask a neutral supporter with half a clue which team they have ahead. I suspect Melbourne would be the overwhelming favourites.
I am neutral, but only have 1/4 clue... do I qualify?

Pick 2 and 11ish may not be enough for both Kelly and Kennedy/Hopper (certainly Hopper)

Would we rather finish 7th or 8th and get absolutely iced by port in an elimination final over there or finish where we are now and have two great picks to deal with, potentially getting us hopper or kennedy...

One step back for two steps forward??

That would be trout... if i remember correctly the article had richo asking if paddy wants it enough, that he didn't get that vibe whereas petracca wanted to be a star
The point still stands. I remember the response to Richo's question being something like "oh well he has diabetes and he's still playing so that says enough".

Never mind the fact that we took an undersized, overweight, slow kpf with diabetes to boot.

The point still stands. I remember the response to Richo's question being something like "oh well he has diabetes and he's still playing so that says enough".

Never mind the fact that we took an undersized, overweight, slow kpf with diabetes to boot.

Im with ya mate.. praying he comes good, i reckon he's shown a bit though tbh