List Mgmt. 2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 2

I have no doubts over Paddy's ability .
We need to be patient, key forwards take time .
Tex spent a whole season playing 2nds at Norwood in his 1st year on Adelaides list .
Hogan full year with Casey .
Josh Kennedy played 22 games in his first 2 seasons with average return .
Give the kid a fair go .
Wasn't able to play AFL as he was an under ager. I agree with the rest.

Win losses aren't everything. They have looked far superior to us & that's missing Gawn & Hogan for significant parts of the year.

They have dropped some games they should not have, they are young (younger than us) & are inconsistent but looking at them there's significant improvement left.

They haven't been flogged like we have the past three weeks & have generally been in every game. Beating Adelaide at on their home deck is more impressive than beating GWS at Etihad, Carlton proved that.

Their midfield has premiership winning midfield written all over it, their forward line built around Hogan & possibly Petracca has more star power than ours. Our forward line is built around battlers, like our whole 22 with the exception of a couple of players.

Hopefully we do add some talent such as Kelly because at the moment we are well behind Melbourne in just about every aspect even if win loss record says otherwise.

The true test would be to ask a neutral supporter with half a clue which team they have ahead. I suspect Melbourne would be the overwhelming favourites.
Selling yourselves a bit short there. Another year into Acres, Ross and Billings and you'll find it will be much closer. You're also in a good position to grab an elite level player this year, whether it be via trades or the draft. Just back on the dees current position, it helps seeing as they've been rebuilding for over a decade....

I looked at your age and it suddenly made sense. Not your fault but unfortunately your generation doesn't seem to understand delayed gratification.....just want it now. Patience, possum ;)
I think that's slightly unfair given I have no problem waiting for any of our rucks to prove themselves and I'd rather take picks to the draft and wait a few years for their return on investment than bringing in a quick fix player. I'm happy to wait for players to develop, I've always backed in Billings, Acres and Sinclair as they're obviously going to be good players. I just don't see really any positive traits in McCartin, I wouldn't even mind if he wasn't playing that well but he doesn't ever put in second efforts and as others have pointed out his body language is pretty terrible sometimes, he's just a moody Jessie Hogan without having anything Jessie Hogan has.

Plenty of players have been "guns" at U18, a lot of the time it's big boys beating up on little ones such as Mathieson, Angus Graham or Daniel Rich. I'm now convinced Paddy is one of these.
No he wasn't, Boyd was like that and to a certain extent due to his height sache.

Paddy just had great hands on the lead and when it hit the deck he had clean hands too. He wasn't a big one for using his size to out body blokes and he wasn't any taller than the defenders he played on, unlike Boyd for example who had 10cm on some of them.

No he wasn't, Boyd was like that and to a certain extent due to his height sache.

Paddy just had great hands on the lead and when it hit the deck he had clean hands too. He wasn't a big one for using his size to out body blokes and he wasn't any taller than the defenders he played on, unlike Boyd for example who had 10cm on some of them.
Paddy just had 10 kgs on most of them instead.

Rather an early 2nd pick back .
Kennedy has Townsend written all over him.

GWS don't have an early 2nd though (they have ours and the Pies).

I'd possibly prefer Himmelberg who was taken at a similar place in the draft so should be of a similar value. But I don't really know enough about either of them to make a real informed call. I'd definitely prefer a player with a few years in the system than a 2nd rounder though.

Plenty of players have been "guns" at U18, a lot of the time it's big boys beating up on little ones such as Mathieson, Angus Graham or Daniel Rich. I'm now convinced Paddy is one of these.

21 games and convinced. Impressive.
You are probably one of those supporters that have given him a Bronx cheer this year. Go support Melbourne if you are so cut about not getting Petracca.

I would suggest that this is the longest consecutive stint in the seniors since he arrived. Give the guy time.

Paddy's going ok imo. I don't see him as our beast full fwd but more a CHF. i think he becomes a player in between Taylor Walker & Chris Dawes. Hopefully closer to Walker.

I still don't agree with picking him ahead of Petracca, as myself & many others said before & after he was picked. Too late now, may as well back him in.

21 games and convinced. Impressive.
You are probably one of those supporters that have given him a Bronx cheer this year. Go support Melbourne if you are so cut about not getting Petracca.

I would suggest that this is the longest consecutive stint in the seniors since he arrived. Give the guy time.
Nah I don't bronx cheer my own team at the footy mate.

I think that's slightly unfair given I have no problem waiting for any of our rucks to prove themselves and I'd rather take picks to the draft and wait a few years for their return on investment than bringing in a quick fix player. I'm happy to wait for players to develop, I've always backed in Billings, Acres and Sinclair as they're obviously going to be good players. I just don't see really any positive traits in McCartin, I wouldn't even mind if he wasn't playing that well but he doesn't ever put in second efforts and as others have pointed out his body language is pretty terrible sometimes, he's just a moody Jessie Hogan without having anything Jessie Hogan has.

I assume you noticed the ;) as it was just a gentle dig at you.

Just remember Paddy is a babe for a KPP and I really think he needs to be given the time. Hawkins was a huge, lumbering guy when he started and I can remember people saying the same thing about him. He also was not a consistent kick for goal or second-efforter, (no such word, I know).

I think it's way too early to write him off but if you're still not seeing the signs you want be the end of next season, providing he is fit for most of it, then knock yourself out by all means.

Oh and just by the way, Jessie Hogan, who is a couple of years older than Paddy, has had terrible body language at times.

I assume you noticed the ;) as it was just a gentle dig at you.

Just remember Paddy is a babe for a KPP and I really think he needs to be given the time. Hawkins was a huge, lumbering guy when he started and I can remember people saying the same thing about him. He also was not a consistent kick for goal or second-efforter, (no such word, I know).

I think it's way too early to write him off but if you're still not seeing the signs you want be the end of next season, providing he is fit for most of it, then knock yourself out by all means.

Oh and just by the way, Jessie Hogan, who is a couple of years older than Paddy, has had terrible body language at times.
Yeah I get that it's just bants dw :)

Paddy is still a young kpf sure but he also just doesn't have the physical traits I'd like to see in one.

I also am aware Hogan has terrible body language, hence why I compared paddy to a hogan with no positive traits... only the bad body language and lazy effort.

Yeah I get that it's just bants dw :)

Paddy is still a young kpf sure but he also just doesn't have the physical traits I'd like to see in one.

I also am aware Hogan has terrible body language, hence why I compared paddy to a hogan with no positive traits... only the bad body language and lazy effort.

Well, the thing is, we have Paddy, so I'm prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt for another couple of seasons, because I'm hoping like hell he's going to turn out to be a very good player for us. For me it's still too soon to write him off though.

Let's meet up on here again in a couple of years and see which way it went :D

The point still stands. I remember the response to Richo's question being something like "oh well he has diabetes and he's still playing so that says enough".

Never mind the fact that we took an undersized, overweight, slow kpf with diabetes to boot.

That's just utter bullshit.

I reckon a few things are holding Paddy back.

1) Don't think he is fit enough to consistently make repeat leads to help create that separation between him and his defender. A few more preseasons and games and he will be able to create space through repeat efforts and smart leads (his footy IQ is very high IMO)

2) We do not kick it to his advantage. The number of times we kick it to his feet, just above his head to give his defender a good chance of spoiling or just way over his head is staggering. This doesn't just happen to Paddy but all of our forwards, and is a good reason why none of Membrey, Bruce or Paddy have not looked they have either continued on previous good form or taken the next step.

That would be trout... if i remember correctly the article had richo asking if paddy wants it enough, that he didn't get that vibe whereas petracca wanted to be a star
I'm now feeling a bit strange in the stomach !!!!

He will be fine he just needs some time and decent delivery he is a massive kick, accuracy was ok but not great.
Absolutely fantastic hands and good below the knees for such a big bloke.

You could have drafted petracca and he would have been fine except now you would be looking for paddy.
Yes....he is a massive kick......who on here saw his massive roost at Princes Park in the pre season game......off a couple of steps and BANG....

And yes.......if we did take Petracca,we would be looking for a Paddy ......the club did say the mids would be the last get in the rebuild.....ok then Saints...foot on the pedal please !!!!!

theres no argument in it. We stuffed up. Got sucked in by thinking key forwards would cost as much as Tom Boyd did when Gunston a premiership player would cost us a pick 20
So have we delisted McCartin, or are you just writing him off after a handful of games?

Incredible how premature some of the views about McCartin are on here.

Heard the same stuff about bj 10 years ago, Steven five years ago and Billings of late.

Please dont let them develop, just shitcan them after 2 years.

Pretty poorcfrom supposed supporters