List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread - Part IV

The carry on in here over Steven is a disgrace.
if we totally disregard the fact that the club genuinely wants what’s best for him as a person and instead focus on this as purely a football discussion...
*He has very serious mental health problems, that may mean he doesn’t play footy at AFL level again.
*He has done stuff all training for 8 months and is nowhere near fit. I guarantee he will tear muscles over this pre season if he participates.
*Even if we held him next year then he walks anyway post 2020, and we probably get nothing.
*Has anybody stopped to think that maybe we are more than happy to get $700K of his money off the books?
*The message it sends to managers and potential recruits is very positive.

Thanks for everything Stuv, all the best in life and you’ll always be welcome back at the Saints.

Under the AFL's idiotic system we need to pay 95% of the cap.
Getting the money off the books means we need to put it on someone else.

Sorry im so livid hut giving steven to those flogs for NOTHING angers me deeply.

Either Jack never plays for em and I respect him OR he does and we know he played us.

I come in peace, but i ask Saints fans to think back to 2007, when a 28 y/o club captain and best and fairest winner joined St.Kilda (along with Charlie Gardiner) for pick 90 that year. Steven King was released at a peppercorn pick pretty much as a goodwill gesture as he'd been superseded by Ottens and the at that stage recently contract extended Mark Blake.

Now arguably Jack Steven has a bit more lustre in his trophy cabinet than Steven King did, but King was no slouch, and he only turned 29 in November 2007. If Geelong gets more out of Jack than the 46 games or so that King did, it may well be a surprise. Geelong was also burnt by Mitch Clarke, and i think the pick 58 is reasonable when you look at the trade from the King prism of a dozen years ago. Also, Stevie J, Chapman, James Kelly, Podsiadly and one or two others were released for negligible pick considerations too. It's just how it is, and i think it's fair in that context.

While I see your point, I disagree on the on a number of elements. Your not talking about a ruckman here, a player who can play only one position and is obsolete at your club. We don't have a replacement for Stuv and he is a top mid, the most valuable commodity in the game. Stuv will be getting more meters, braking more lines and digging out more balls for you, King was not even the best Ruckman in our side, and thats all King could do, Ruck! Stuv will get you 25 positions a game and will enable you to keep Ablett forward.

Ive got to be honest with you, STuv is by far the better player, by far and I thing you know that.

What hurts St Kilda supporters more is the lack of respect your Club has shown in this process, with Scott going on 360 and talking shit and the use of Mental illness as a bargaining chip. I hope you can your fellow supporters can see that. I have great respect for Cats supporters, you guys are always present for your team, understand that his hurts us and your clubs actions have only rubbed salt in.

Seriously , some of the rants on here about Stuv are bordering on childish , A non of us know how Geelong will treat him , Stuv gave us some ripping highlights and sooner of later all good things come to an end , cant you just remember the good times and move on , its no point going off blaming Geelong or anyone else.
Things happen sometimes and its no ones fault so come on guys , No more throwing the toys out the cot.
We should be looking forwards not backwards.
Agree. Very childish. Footy does that to us.

I for one am shattered that it's come to this with Stuv.

Looks like we are paying $150k or so of his wage which is a pittance in reality, but there is no goodwill here from Geelong.

It's sad to see our best player over the past decade devalued to nothing. I'm torn as I'd love to see him happy and playing his best footy, but at the same time to see him do it in another clubs colours will be excruciating to watch.

The AFL should've stepped in and given us fair compensation based on our rotten off field luck with players.

I'll move on from it no doubt and I wish Jack all the best, but it doesn't sit well with me.

Watch. By round 4, they will be in love with him and be pinching themselves how they were able to get him so cheaply.
Officially been reamed.
And it could go the complete opposite way. Anyway, we won 9 without him this year, I am not too fussed given his situation and output. Again, I don't know how fits into their side, as much as we want to believe they dont care about him, I think they really have no immediate need for a player like him anyway.

I come in peace, but i ask Saints fans to think back to 2007, when a 28 y/o club captain and best and fairest winner joined St.Kilda (along with Charlie Gardiner) for pick 90 that year. Steven King was released at a peppercorn pick pretty much as a goodwill gesture as he'd been superseded by Ottens and the at that stage recently contract extended Mark Blake.

Now arguably Jack Steven has a bit more lustre in his trophy cabinet than Steven King did, but King was no slouch, and he only turned 29 in November 2007. If Geelong gets more out of Jack than the 46 games or so that King did, it may well be a surprise. Geelong was also burnt by Mitch Clarke, and i think the pick 58 is reasonable when you look at the trade from the King prism of a dozen years ago. Also, Stevie J, Chapman, James Kelly, Podsiadly and one or two others were released for negligible pick considerations too. It's just how it is, and i think it's fair in that context.
King played like a peppercorn as well.

But I'm not concerned myself what you guys gave up for Steven. In my eyes he owes us nothing and we owe him nothing. His health and well being come first and foremost. I hope he gets what he's looking for with you guys, and that's a bit of peace happiness.

Under the AFL's idiotic system we need to pay 95% of the cap.
Getting the money off the books means we need to put it on someone else.
Given our ins, I am guessing that we would’ve been at 95% no worries. Say we were going to pay 100% - getting Steven off the books drops us back to 95%. If you pay 95% for two years you can pay 105% in the third year. Which we done before, by restructured (I assume when we didn’t land anyone). 2021 potentially is a year we can pay 105%, giving us an extra $1.5mil over what we are paying this year, to chuck at someone.

Three hours remaining in the day and still nothing.

Think it's time for another thread title change.

sucks we lose stuv, but

1 - he probably won't get back to his best, the stuv we knew and loved
2 - he's getting on in years, he probably won't be around for our next tilt
3 - he opens up a spot in the midfield for guys like hunter and bytel to get some experience at the coalface
4 - Jack wasn't/isn't in a good space, we just lost Frawley to this stuff, we need to put his health first
5 - It's just the right thing to do and the entire football world knows it, the players know it, the player manages know it. If we were getting screwed over on a young gun or someone that wasn't dealing with mental health issues it would be a very different story.

Dougal Howard into the #3 please.

Hope we put a clause is saying Stuv isn't allowed to play against St Kilda. For his health I mean. I would imagine that blokes like Carlisle, Steele, Parker and Long would do his ****ing head in with the sledging on game day...

**** me! Another non St Kilda trade - what the **** is Satan doing?!!!!

Given our ins, I am guessing that we would’ve been at 95% no worries. Say we were going to pay 100% - getting Steven off the books drops us back to 95%. If you pay 95% for two years you can pay 105% in the third year. Which we done before, by restructured (I assume when we didn’t land anyone). 2021 potentially is a year we can pay 105%, giving us an extra $1.5mil over what we are paying this year, to chuck at someone.
like say an elite mid? maybe we could get jack steven!!

And it could go the complete opposite way. Anyway, we won 9 without him this year, I am not too fussed given his situation and output. Again, I don't know how fits into their side, as much as we want to believe they dont care about him, I think they really have no immediate need for a player like him anyway.
Fairly big hole left by Kelly. Reckon he slots into that role fairly well.

Thats 100% spot on , my Sauce said the same thing :thumbsu:
Its sad but true that even our club thinks that we were up against it with Jack , lets just hope he can get back on track , farewell little champ