List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread - Part IV

Clearly Bruce is going for whatever we can get. Ryder has taken his spot in the side. There's no way known we keep him now.

We'll be trying to engineer his pick for Jones as we're opting out of the draft. It's why I believe Geelong is more likely to come involved in pick trades with the Swans and Freo to sew up Hill and Port was the isolated for a static pick so that we end up with Jones and Hill and Freo, Cats and Swans shuffle picks with Freo getting 10 from us and cats ending up with Steven.

We then use Bruce as an isolated pick if we want to opt in via the Dogs for example or keep on the list for a year.

I start Bruce at CHF.

If King is as great as he is made out to be he shouldn't have any issue forcing out Ryder.

It seems obvious that the plan is to play Membrey as a third tall, with two KPFs, one of whom is a resting ruck.

I would start the year off with Marshall, Bruce and Ryder in the 22.

King plays when we think he will play as a better forward than Bruce or that he will be enough of an improvement on Ryder that we can justify having Bruce be a less effective second ruck.

If we find that King is keeping one of those blokes out or he is being held back in the VFL, we let Bruce walk out at the end of 2020.

We are going into next year with King the only genuine KPF on our list. I don't think this is a smart move at all.

i think you’ll find we plan on playing Marshall/King/Membrey forward.

More info please mate

I don't think he was saying that Acres was still in Melbourne. It seems like one minute there were reports of Acres about to get on a plane for a medical and then 20 minutes later there were reports he was already there.

Later posts have suggested that he was already in Perth. When the media heard he was going for a medical they probably just assumed a flight would be involved.

People need to stop blaming Richo for Acres continually being a mediocre player.
Maybe if Blake actually dominated a game in a position he would have cemented a spot, as it is he is so up and down, Need to stop this thinking he is going to be consistent all of a sudden

Jack Steven, Josh Bruce & Blake Acres - all under contract but it seems there is no value attached to that when you are a St Kilda player.
So in light of that what do you reckon we could get for Howard next year? Straight swap for crouch?

I don't think he was saying that Acres was still in Melbourne. It seems like one minute there were reports of Acres about to get on a plane for a medical and then 20 minutes later there were reports he was already there.

Later posts have suggested that he was already in Perth. When the media heard he was going for a medical they probably just assumed a flight would be involved.
Media flogs

I’m of the opinion we should have kept bruce and not got Ryder. Bruce is gone because he is no value at sandy
I'm happy enough to get Ryder in for peanuts as we need back up in the ruck!
Agree with you on Bruce though and if it works out that we have given him up just to get Jones then
Let's just say............

Sorry i was just spewing up...Couldn't finish my sentence!

I always forget we have Paton on the list. I was super impressed with him at times but for some reason never consider him as a part of our future. If he takes another step in 2020 he could be a nice bonus.

I really rate Paton, although he seems to have one bad clanger a game. Hope he continues to come on.

I just spent a few hours listening to Trade Radio and it's interesting how different clubs views are on the next 2 draft years. We hear from well connected people that the Saints dont rate either highly, yet clubs like Melbourne, Fremantle, Port and others must rate the talent reasonably highly with their trading approaches.

Then you look at what North did being happy to trade out of the 1st round, to hold 2 x firsts next year.

Obviously our list dynamic has affected our decisions, but it will be interesting to see in a few years time who took the right path.
I think in Melbourne's case it's more due to the fact that they are desperate for a small forward and will likely target Weightman at 8.

As for Freo, we'll they didn't have a lot of choice, they had guys walk out on the club so they were always getting draft picks this year.

From what we hear this years draft isn't amazing after pick 2. It is very even though. It would have been great to end up with a pick in the 20'S but that looks unlikely.

Next year is littered with father sons or academy's, but as long as they aren't all up the top end of the draft it shouldn't hurt us too much if we have a pick around 10 hopefully.

I'm happy enough to get Ryder in for peanuts as we need back up in the ruck!
Agree with you on Bruce though and if it works out that we have given him up just to get Jones then
Let's just say............

Sorry i was just spewing up...Couldn't finish my sentence!
I said that is what would happen 2 weeks ago. Nothing has changed. And I agree we need back up rucks. The problem is we got one that will play in the 22

i think you’ll find we plan on playing Marshall/King/Membrey forward.

Incredibly risky strategy. King is completely unproven and might really struggle. Ryder is the wrong side of 30 and not the player he once was and Membrey is a third tall.

Giving up Bruce for the price we'd get for him next year seems short sighted to me.

I was really excited to hear the future 3rd in the port deal. Means no future 1st round

Nope, traded future 3rd. Future first is safe!

Is it that we can’t trade two future picks in one trade year?

Cornes and Wallace seem to be pretty confident all our deals will go through, don’t know if that’s a good or bad sign 🤔