Unofficial Preview 2020 Draft Discussion

I know I'm repeating myself, but there are literally 2 key talls predicted to be in to the top 20 for 2021 at this stage....it's a draft year that will be packed with mids. This year, there's a lot of talls scattered throughout the top 15.

I don't think any club is taking a mid in the first 5 picks of 2020 unless all of McDonald, Thilthorpe and DGB are all gone.
the 2021 draft has not played since 2019 so who knows what the top 20 will look like

Put it this way, by all reports if Holland’s doesn’t do a knee, and VIC footy was played this year at U18 level, he’s a unanimous pick 1.
If he’s available at our pick, it would be astonishing if we don’t get him.

What about the “change of direction” ACL? Doesn’t bode well. I guess the doctors would have been all over it to assess stability.

Put it this way, by all reports if Holland’s doesn’t do a knee, and VIC footy was played this year at U18 level, he’s a unanimous pick 1.
If he’s available at our pick, it would be astonishing if we don’t get him.
Even more so it will be astonishing if he's still there when we pick

Is he a key defender? Or more of an interceptor? Hollands is a generational talent from all reports.

In fact, if we pass on Hollands for DGB, I'll be staggered.

How often do we hear this?

Every year there are 3 or 4 "generational" players.

Hollands may well turn out to be but the over use of this term is annoying.

What about the “change of direction” ACL? Doesn’t bode well. I guess the doctors would have been all over it to assess stability.

This kind of thinking frustrates me a bit. How about the other 100 games + 300 training sessions the kid would have done over the previous few years where he DIDN'T rupture his ACL.

We don't know the full story (and likely never will). Maybe there was an impact earlier in the game (or a previous game) where the knee was damaged but it wasn't a full rupture? Maybe he stepped on a sprinkler head?

Speculating over a single injury is a little silly.

This kind of thinking frustrates me a bit. How about the other 100 games + 300 training sessions the kid would have done over the previous few years where he DIDN'T rupture his ACL.

We don't know the full story (and likely never will). Maybe there was an impact earlier in the game (or a previous game) where the knee was damaged but it wasn't a full rupture? Maybe he stepped on a sprinkler head?

Fair enough, but we ignored them before and it didn’t end well.

He did his knee in a training drill , running backwards with the ball about to go over his head his leg just buckled under him .

True... they don't just tend to rupture. Their us a wear and tear factor. A lot of people are even aware of strains and ignore before the inevitable.

On Nokia 6.1 using BigFooty.com mobile app

It's boring but the Hawks will pick best available talent, regardless of position, at pick 4. Who that ends up being is interesting to debate, but if they rate Hollands as the best available talent, they'll choose him regardless of who else is available.

Can you imagine picking the best available is 'boring.' I think whomever we pick up will be great - which is the benefit of having a high pick for once.

Im just wrapt to have a high pick , after a crap season to be honest its exciting to have a decent choice of the best young talent going .

Ill back us to select a ripper with our first pick then nail the rest.
Reckon Downie will be a very good get .
I think we are going to have a great draft .

If I can be annoying - doing an ACL (without trauma) suggests that Holland's leg mechanics aren't ideal. Having said that, its a huge positive because he's already a really good athlete, so if the club are happy to take the risk and can correct his mechanics, there's the potential there to become an even better athelte.

Sent from my SM-A515U1 using Tapatalk

If I can be annoying - doing an ACL (without trauma) suggests that Holland's leg mechanics aren't ideal. Having said that, its a huge positive because he's already a really good athlete, so if the club are happy to take the risk and can correct his mechanics, there's the potential there to become an even better athelte.

Have you watched enough vision of him to suggest what the specific issues might be?

TBH i havent but I'll have a look! The majority of non-traumatic ACLs are generally a mix of stiff ankles, tight hips, and some low back dysfunction shutting down normal hip function. Bottom line is that an ACL is often an expression of broader leg function and if the focus is just on the knee (which it can often be) its easy to miss the hidden underlying issues.

You are never annoying with this stuff. Always valuable to our board

TBH i havent but I'll have a look! The majority of non-traumatic ACLs are generally a mix of stiff ankles, tight hips, and some low back dysfunction shutting down normal hip function. Bottom line is that an ACL is often an expression of broader leg function and if the focus is just on the knee (which it can often be) its easy to miss the hidden underlying issues.

I am sure everyone would appreciate your views. It looked to me like his knees roll in a bit under pressure and I thought maybe a large movement like that could lead to a rupture but obviously I lack your trained eye!