List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part I

I saw a trade suggestion that was Laird to GC suns. He's been outstanding as a mid this season and still only 26. Surely we'd chase him if he's on the market. Absolute top shelf player.

Weren't you banging on about not trading away our first round selection the other day though?

I doubt Adelaide trade a contracted All Australian for a bucket of chips.

Hed be great as a FA, but not sure he's worth chasing otherwise.

Weren't you banging on about not trading away our first round selection the other day though?

I doubt Adelaide trade a contracted All Australian for a bucket of chips.

Hed be great as a FA, but not sure he's worth chasing otherwise.

Only for top shelf players. He's close enough to elite and still young. I said you wouldn't want another one like Hill/Howard where he's good but not elite. Laird has 5 plus years left and would be only behind Steele at the Saints and even then not by much. How often do you get a chance at top of the tree talent. Neale cost Brisbane plenty but I bet they haven't regretted it once. If he was available you'd be nuts not to look at it. He's better than Williams by a fair margin.

Agree, but Hill was elite before this year, hopefully will get back to his best soon and thought he was good against GWS. I'm glad we have Howard only played 50 odd games and this year will be a huge learning curve for him as the main man, has huge upside

The purple flog saying Cale Hooker a chance to leave the bombers. Hooker might be worth a look. Don't imagine he'd cost much in terms of a trade or salary. We would also play him in his preferred position down back.
Hooker is 32 , I think we better stick with Carlisle he is 3yrs younger and if right could well have a very good couple years left.

Once again 2m tall key defenders a few and far between - good ones are anyway , we need to keep him unless we find a Weitering or pick up a Sam Taylor or Alex Pierce and if not wait until Clavarino develops if he ever does.

Hooker was a very good player but he is finished , if he can't get a game in a under performing Bombers he needs to retire.
Our Nath Brown had more life in him - same age - and proved it by running his best time trail last year.

When he plays his natural game as a intercepting defender he is one of the best in the game , he also makes the backline keep better structure and Coffield , Long , Wilkie , Hunter and Paton feed off him.

If they trade Carlisle he needs to be replaced with someone as good and you will be lucky to find someone available.
He hasn't yet turn 29 so he has easily 2 years of football left.

Having Ryder in the team will hopefully keep his mate Carlisle in check - and another thing we need someone with a little bit of mongrel in the team.

Agree, but Hill was elite before this year, hopefully will get back to his best soon and thought he was good against GWS. I'm glad we have Howard only played 50 odd games and this year will be a huge learning curve for him as the main man, has huge upside

Hill was elite for a wing I guess but I would have said A grade but not quite elite. He was a step down from Fyfe and Walters at Freo who were elite but around the level of Mundy who is a top tier player but not elite. Laird was always a gun but at half back where it's pretty easy to rack up cheap touches. This year he's moved into the mids around the time Adelaide surged and has owned the midfield with Crouch and Sloane around him. His stats are nearly identical to Steele this season.

Bit harsh on Hill there Gringo. As Mowman said, Hill was elite in previous years. Granted he hasn't been at his consistent best( that's what happens when you're learning a new system and given the current environment), we can't say he's no longer elite. That's like saying Cripps isn't elite as he has had below par year himself.

Howy will be elite. I have no doubt about that

The purple flog saying Cale Hooker a chance to leave the bombers. Hooker might be worth a look. Don't imagine he'd cost much in terms of a trade or salary. We would also play him in his preferred position down back.

Same age as Brown, why bother?

Hill was elite for a wing I guess but I would have said A grade but not quite elite. He was a step down from Fyfe and Walters at Freo who were elite but around the level of Mundy who is a top tier player but not elite. Laird was always a gun but at half back where it's pretty easy to rack up cheap touches. This year he's moved into the mids around the time Adelaide surged and has owned the midfield with Crouch and Sloane around him. His stats are nearly identical to Steele this season.
Yeah was classed as an Elite wingman, I hope/think we have a lot improvement from within next year with the midfield Clark - Bytel and give Sincs a consistent run in there

Bit harsh on Hill there Gringo. As Mowman said, Hill was elite in previous years. Granted he hasn't been at his consistent best( that's what happens when you're learning a new system and given the current environment), we can't say he's no longer elite. That's like saying Cripps isn't elite as he has had below par year himself.

Howy will be elite. I have no doubt about that

I was fine with us chasing him being the best player we'd been tied to for years but I said before we got him he's not elite. He's a gun at his best and his recent form has been great but I'd put elite as top 25 players AFL type quality. He's never been close to that, easily top 100 and might tip into top 50 at times though.

Absolutely he has. Not in the top 100? Surely you jest?. I know it's subjective but name your top 30

Yeah was classed as an Elite wingman, I hope/think we have a lot improvement from within next year with the midfield Clark - Bytel and give Sincs a consistent run in there

I reckon to be a serious premiership side and not arse a GF we need another top flight mid at least. Hanners isn't likely to get back and Bytel is still a baby. It took Jack Steele another 4 seasons and 75games to hit top shelf level. Bytel looks the goods but probably not the short term answer.

Absolutely he has. Not in the top 100? Surely you jest?. I know it's subjective but name your top 30

I said easily top 100, not top 50 but might tip in depending on seasons. Gaff and Whitfield are probably the two best wing/ outside running mids that I can think of both are probably better than Hill but still not unhappy with how Hill has gone when we ned players to stand up. Playing like a leader in the last few weeks.

Wasn't Sinclair classed as an elite wingman as well?

Why?

Most of our backline is already filled with them.
Because there are players we will want to get game time.

For example clark might not get full midfield minutes. Someone like cadwell might be coming in and playing off the bench.

If clark does get full midfielf minutes then someone is going to have to leave the midfield and get dropped.

Theres not enough room to be bringing in williams unless we want to drop someone. So if you think there's room for him I'm interested in hearing who will be dropped.

B Paton Howard Wilkie
HB Coffield ? Long
C Hill Steele Hanners
R Ryder Ross Jones
HF Billings Membrey Gresham
F Butler King Marshall
I/C Clark Caldwell ? ?

Last three spots?

Because there are players we will want to get game time.

For example clark might not get full midfield minutes. Someone like cadwell might be coming in and playing off the bench.

If clark does get full midfielf minutes then someone is going to have to leave the midfield and get dropped.

Theres not enough room to be bringing in williams unless we want to drop someone. So if you think there's room for him I'm interested in hearing who will be dropped.

We must be going pretty well if Williams couldn't get in our best side.

D Barrett believes we are a chance for Corr.
wXx2hMb.gif

I said easily top 100, not top 50 but might tip in depending on seasons. Gaff and Whitfield are probably the two best wing/ outside running mids that I can think of both are probably better than Hill but still not unhappy with how Hill has gone when we ned players to stand up. Playing like a leader in the last few weeks.
Yeah sorry my mistake.

We must be going pretty well if Williams couldn't get in our best side.
I think what we will get out of the existing back six will be on par with Williams maybe a bit under but the cost benefit for paying extra for Williams doesn't add up

You dont improve a side by getting an extra 5% out of the HBF

We need to address our midfield not the HBF

So if williams is coming in whos going out?