List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part III

Am I missing something here?

I thought free agency meant a free hit for the receiving club without needing to give anything up, that's what compensation is supposed to do, surely.

Is Brian confused or am I?

Brian is an idiot

In a strange twist, Adelaide to receive pick 2 from the AFL if brad crouch reconsiders and signs with geelong, also 2 match ban waived. The saints will pay half his salary.

I think it depends if he is a RFA or not - I think if a club matches an RFA the player can't walk to the PSD. Might be wrong through.

If that's not the case then yeah I agree, take him in the draft.

Correct me if I'm wrong but my understanding is that:
- that the Crows can match the offer we have made
- that Brad (prefer first name, now that he is coming to us) can accept, or reject, the Crows offer on the same terms we have offered him
- If Brad accepts the Crows matched offer, then its Groundhog Dog again (& he is back to being called Crouch), with 4 more long years in Adelaide
- If he says no, Brad will go to the Pre-Season Draft (PSD)
- Any club can then bid on him in the PSD

A few things on this then:
- Will Adelaide do everything possible to talk it up in the media and pressure St Kilda and the AFL to ensure they get pick 2 - YES
- Will Adelaide accept start of second round pick (23) in compensation, or will they take the risk of losing this guaranteed pick? 50/50
- If Adelaide match the bid, will the Saints look for other trade options that do not involve our first round pick? YES
- If Adelaide does not agree to any trade scenarios that the Saints put forward, that do not involve our first round draft pick, will the Saints true to their word, walk away from the trade and go to the PSD - YES
- Adelaide has Pick 1 in the PSD. Will they waste that pick on a player who does not want to play for them? NO
- If Adelaide were to take Brad with Pick 1 in the PSD, would the Saints trio of negotiators encourage Brad to challenge this in the courts as a restraint of trade, allowing him to come to St Kilda at no trade cost - YES

Welcome to St Kilda Brad

Just one other thing. All this, "he loves the club", "he wants to leave the club" is all so much tosh. Very few players love a club like a supporter thinks. There are some, but most see it is a business opportunity. It's a profession.

Crouch will come to us and play his best, Crouch will walk back into Adelaide and play his best, it matters little to most players. He wanted 5 x 600, he gets 4 x600 with triggers. he plays well for four and he activates the triggers whomever he plays for.

Enough of the he loves/hates the club, it is irrelevant to this business decision

That is true to some extent, but equally players can definitely not like, or even hate a club or aspects of it (coach, support staff, medical/rehab dept, admin, fellow players, weather etc) and want out, ie Ryder, Carlisle, Saad, Daniher, Fantasia

The reality is that the Crows did not see a long term future for Brad and did not offer him a contract. To now feign shock at his leaving and their strong desire to keep him is not believable. This is like the home owner, that has to sell at auction and is bitching at what he considers to be low ball bids well under what he wants / needs. This is the market and this is what the market considers to be his value. Suck it up, accept it and move on.

Unfortunately you do have the very dubious honour of having him as a supporter of your club.
We all feel deeply sorry for your misfortune. 🥴

Hey, if I have to chose between two shades of sh!te then I'll take him over Caroline Wilson.

All clubs have knob supporters.

Am I missing something here?

I thought free agency meant a free hit for the receiving club without needing to give anything up, that's what compensation is supposed to do, surely.

Is Brian confused or am I?

The matching aspect to free agency is dumb because clearly by that point the player wants out.

If Adelaide genuinely want to keep him then we’ve done them a favour by making a reasonable offer.

I think I’m the only one not happy about this whole thing.

Free Agency is an absolute sh*t show of the AFL’s making.

Of course when we are looking to get someone for free this sort of stuff happens.

I don’t really care about getting one over on another club or revelling in Adelaide’s melts (as delusional as they are). I just saw in Crouch a player that will improve our list without spending a draft pick.

Just so typical (sigh).

It's a weird decision by the Crows to be honest. They need a rebuild by bringing in players and play existing kids, still have quite a few contracted older players have moved Laird into the middle.

You get the Giants matching for a marquee forward who's trade value would be a couple of firsts but Crouch's true value would be a pick around 15 to 20. He's like a slightly more inside but less physically resilient Seb Ross, not peak Dangerfield. He's not even the best of the two brothers. He's still a player you hope has some ability to step up at a new club, not a finished article.

Crouch may have to agree to be traded.

Currently he has nominated Saints as a free agent and any move is based on that premise.

Point being he will have a say in any next transaction.

If Adelaide match I hope he accepts.

That is quite a long bow to draw IMO. The club has improved immensely due to better coaching and the kids maturing. The Saints being a more attractive destination has nothing to do with Hanners. He has played very few games and is well past his best. You can play the leadership card, but at the end of the day, that is hard to measure. I doubt anybody is coming to the Saints because Hannebury started some kind of trend. They come for money, opportunity, to win, or a combination of all 3.

The only thing I would say is that bringing in high standards at training does show the kids the required level. You look at the Dees and their inability to move forward and wonder if there is some psychological damage by years of accepting low standards. Essendon too, their list should not be bottom 8 but the drug saga seems to have broken them.

Hanners has been a big disappointment as far as his ability to make it onto the field but his knowledge and experience will have some benefit. We broke up the social group who seemed to be content just coasting along and have targeted successful finals players. It is what it is now and we just have to keep targeting quality.

Coffield is elite in traffic. He could easily step up to a part-time mid role also if required IMO. He almost looked like our best player in patches this year. Huge upside.

I reckon we keep him as a back. That said he is not getting the love he deserves, was barely best 22 at the start of the season, ended up at the top of the total marks and intercepts in the whole comp by the end of the year. Hunter looked like he'd be ready to step up and become a star, he took small steps forward but Coff took a leap. I would say he was easily in our top 5 players in 2020, probably only bettered by Steele and Butler at the Saints this year.

This whole Crouch thing is madness.
Love Crows just pay more Saints 800k for 5 years just so we get what we want pick 2. Come on Saints play ball so we get what we want however without paying for it.
Imagine negotiating with managers to keep Clarke Coffield Marshall King etc in 2 years...well your paying Crouch 800k better match it or we walk that 250k we save by playing hard ball with the Crows want will be pretty handy and ensures better negotiation in future.

Also paying Crouch a lazy 250k more as a throw away line for a pick upgrade....ah that's 3 times the Australian basic wage extra....let's get a grip when it comes to money and players. The AFL and some clubs are on their arse with Covid and the supporter bases are likewise not flush with cash. Time to not get extravagant with money...

On SM-G977B using BigFooty.com mobile app

The matching aspect to free agency is dumb because clearly by that point the player wants out.

If Adelaide genuinely want to keep him then we’ve done them a favour by making a reasonable offer.

No they don’t genuinely want to keep him.

They whored around a guy who is (was?) a club champion and wanted to be a one club player so that they could take a huge gamble on improving their draft hand.

What complete utter ****wits they look like now.

Hadn’t had many dealings with Crows supporters before this and thought they were generally reasonable but their Brad Crouch thread is an absolute car crash.

Genuine band 1 compensation nuffies.

I think I’m the only one not happy about this whole thing.

Free Agency is an absolute sh*t show of the AFL’s making.

Of course when we are looking to get someone for free this sort of stuff happens.

I don’t really care about getting one over on another club or revelling in Adelaide’s melts (as delusional as they are). I just saw in Crouch a player that will improve our list without spending a draft pick.

Just so typical (sigh).

Is the best footy he’s played any better than what Zac Jones was playing earlier in the year? Or Hannebery in the elimination final? Hunter Clark will be a better midfielder than him sooner than we realise as well. Crouch is also very injury prone.

Firmly in the nice to have but won’t lose sleep if he stays at the Crows category.

Not sure who said what but Kornes loves winding up Crows supporters. He'll be setting them up to **** themselves regardless. If they match they'll be morons, if they let him walk they'll be weak. He can't lose.

There is some truth to what that posters says to be honest. Whilst I understand the argument to only pay him what it is worth. In this instance, overpaying slightly and retaining the 1st draft pick should be a no brainer. Unfortunately this is when stupid trades like what we did with Hannerbury come back to bite. We bought him here on big coin and were also dumb enough to give him 5 years, creating cap issues for years to come. All this despite his body being cooked and not playing good footy for years now. He is borderline best 22 next year if Crouch comes. Not sure we can have 3 one paced mids all in the same team.

Anyway, the point is, Lethers was more than happy to pay massive overs in this scenario, despite zero competitive market pressure. Now we find ourselves in a situation where paying overs could have saved a first round pick, but we now choose to be responsible.

The club is moving in the right direction, so I don't want to be too critical. However, trades like Hannerbury can simply never happy again, there are always knock on effects.

Not sure which error to point out first in that one Bill.

But they’ve been pointed out to you numerous times previously & you still regurgitate them regularly.

Enjoy your holiday you moron

Don't worry mate, you have lived with these clowns for 30 years, all their bragging, their bravado, their entitlement, their delusions.

Just smile and nod all the time thinking about Saints winning for the first time at Adelaide Oval against them ( and indulge yourself with the thought of doing it again 5 days later), watching them becoming wooden spooners, and now the Brad Crouch issues.

Good times and just remember

RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME :)