List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part III

Brad Crouch is a good person who made a mistake. Anyone who has met him will vouch for that. Well off the mark here.

Thanks Brad.

He's good but there is a reason he's not a superstar despite his numbers. I rate him but he's more Seb Ross, Rockliff etc than Danger or Cotchin. We don't have anyone like him so he'll suit us as a better version of Dunstan.
For sure, but we're not paying him to be a superstar. He's netting Adelaide band 3 compo (lol)
He will have a number of games where he's BOG for us, and very few where he's in our bottom 10 on the ground.
That is exactly the type of player we need.

Both players had a massive drop off in form after their B&F due to injuries and indiscretions
Crouch's form did not drop off - look at his games late in 2020 after returning from injury. The Crows won 3 out of their 4 games when Crouch returned, and in 3 of those games he had 26 disposals or more in shortened quarters. Even earlier in the year, he had between 20 and 28 disposals in all but two games, one of which he sustained an injury. In shortened qtrs that is still a fair contribution, so I don't see how this argument holds any water.

Until 2020 (and at Geelong), Steven's indiscretions were very early in his career (2011 from memory), unlike Crouch.

So neither of your claims here are sound.

Both players only had one club who was interested
In the case of Crouch, that isn't what has been reported. Port, Richmond and Geelong were reportedly expressing interest at various times this year. Not including those who enquired in the 2019 trade period.

Steven nominated Geelong pretty early due to 'family' and this was back in 2018. Other clubs were hardly going to pursue someone with mental health issues who loved the Saints but wanted to be closer to home. It wasn't like any other club was going to fit the bill.

So I don't see how it similar to Steven's situation.

8 years with one player is long enough to build a successful culture and winning side it’s plenty of time to convince a player to stay ..

We aren’t talking 4 years .. if you think someone’s gunna walk free agency trade them a year before that ... happens all the time in the nba

I like that footy often has stars that play one club their whole career. It's one thing I don't like about overseas sport. You get less passion for a club and follow players more because they are transient.

Is that it? You are so wrong I don't even have the brain capacity to construct an argument

Why bother commenting at all

Billy boy you didn’t even know that Hanners’ deal is 4 years & he has no chance of getting the 5th now.

You didn’t know his deal was heavily front ended.

You think its stuffed up our cap for years to come.

You wilfully ignore what has been a common and constant theme coming from the club about the massive positive influence Hanners has had since he arrived.

Now tell me where I am so wrong?

WHERE THE CROUCH SITUATION SITS
St Kilda has lodged a five-year offer for restricted free agent Brad Crouch. Adelaide has been adamant it would match the offer if it wasn’t going to get pick 2 as compensation. It doesn't seem like the Crows will land that pick, but there are murmurings they might let Crouch walk. St Kilda is setting a hard-line stance if Adelaide forces a trade.

murmurings they might let Crouch walk.

Don’t like him at all. Looks to have an IQ of approximately 9 and seems selfish af. ‘It’s been a tough year for me’ year no sh*t mate maybe don’t get caught with drugs. The rest of the AFL players seem to manage fairly easily.

Also not that good and injury prone. Steer clear imo.

I mean there's a lot wrong with this post but probably the biggest is that he's already agreed to a contract we offered him... Might need to get used to him.

For sure, but we're not paying him to be a superstar. He's netting Adelaide band 3 compo (lol)
He will have a number of games where he's BOG for us, and very few where he's in our bottom 10 on the ground.
That is exactly the type of player we need.

He'll get lots of attention because he racks up stats, he'll be very good in our midfield because we need a ball winner, but people probably don't want to get their expectations up that he's elite either. To me the most promising thing about Crouch is that he'll help bring guys like Billings and Hill into the game.

Brad Crouch is a good person who made a mistake. Anyone who has met him will vouch for that. Well off the mark here.

Yeah, he just seems like a quiet humble country guy.

Had to laugh at this one..

"OK..Assuming we match and trade. Why could it not then involve a 3rd club in that St Kilda Get Brouch and give us pick 15. Seb Ross for example say goes to Essendon for a 2nd rounder which gets flipped to us. There are a few St Kilda players that are exploring their options and it might be that some draft capital can be generated - so St Kilda offload a few fringe players and get the extra pick(s).

I still think if we could get their pick 15 and a second, WHILST UNDERS, the extra second would allow us to bundle up with the bulldogs 2nd and maybe a 3rd for points to the dogs and that would get us pick 13"

So we essentially lose Ross and 15 for Crouch.

Talk about delusional!

WHERE THE CROUCH SITUATION SITS
St Kilda has lodged a five-year offer for restricted free agent Brad Crouch. Adelaide has been adamant it would match the offer if it wasn’t going to get pick 2 as compensation. It doesn't seem like the Crows will land that pick, but there are murmurings they might let Crouch walk. St Kilda is setting a hard-line stance if Adelaide forces a trade.

Doubt we trade for Lethlean was pretty clear you match we walk , sorry Brad .

Been pretty consistent about it , particularly with several midfielders in play for trade this year.

Would smile 😃 if Treloar makes announcement on Wednesday .

Despite widespread reports, SEN.com.au can reveal Crouch stands to earn more than $700,000 a season at St Kilda.

But the Crows have been hurt by the fact the AFL only accepts guaranteed money as a starting point in determining its compensation.

Crouch’s St Kilda contract is for four years with a trigger for a fifth. It is a low games-played trigger, but it is in the deal.

There is also games-played incentives for Crouch, which also have a low threshold, but again takes money off the guaranteed table for a player who has, at times, struggled to stay injury-free.

Despite widespread reports, SEN.com.au can reveal Crouch stands to earn more than $700,000 a season at St Kilda.

But the Crows have been hurt by the fact the AFL only accepts guaranteed money as a starting point in determining its compensation.

Crouch’s St Kilda contract is for four years with a trigger for a fifth. It is a low games-played trigger, but it is in the deal.

There is also games-played incentives for Crouch, which also have a low threshold, but again takes money off the guaranteed table for a player who has, at times, struggled to stay injury-free.

Sounds like a pretty responsible contract.

I think you’ve got them back to front.

Brad was always the more dynamic of the two... hence he went pick 2 in the mini draft & Matt went in the 20’s somewhere.

Matt’s a better version of Dunstan where Brad is more like Steeley when he’s fit & firing.

Matt looks like he has more run and agility to me and more balanced on the outside. Neither are like Steele, Steele is more like a Lenny Hayes inside/outside balanced mid. Steele has exceptional disposal for a mid as well. Neither Crouch is a great user but both have a bit more ability inside than most of our mids besides Dunny and Gresham.

The best part is that they Crows supporters have been saying how much he loves the Crows and wants to stay at Adelaide (should be red flag #1 if someone wants to stay in Adelaide .

But he and his manager have agreed to our contract and by extension have agreed to shaft the Crows.

Definitely someone they should keep around :moustache::moustache:
But he wants to stay a crow...

Whilst agreeing to a low trigger deal that screws them out of any major compo

If reports are true, i think we've structured it really well considering we're dealing with a player prone to injury.
And someone who could still be charged for possession if he does the wrong thing as part of his diversion program.

Message of the contract structure is play and behave - reap the rewards.