List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part III

Disagree - no card was played. It was a statement by St Muir defending a player being called trash.

Have we signed Crouch and Treloar yet?
Righto , he player the tough life indigenous card , you didnt read that bit or just chose to ignore it

Bizarre it was even mentioned. Surely we can judge a player without thinking we are doing so because of his background. Pathetic to even insinuate it.

I actually like Parker by the way, think he brings something different to the side and if he is more consistent would take Kent or Lonie's spot without a doubt - also has the height that those two don't so could do more than just sit in the forward line.

Parker being a point of difference is huge. Lonies ceiling is a poor man's Butler, Kent's ceiling is a combination of a poor man's Billings/Membrey. They just bring us lesser versions of what we already have.

Parker is a small/mid sized forward who can take a hanger, mark overhead, crumb, score miraculous goals and apply pressure.

If his 2020 form replicated his 2019 form there is no way he'd be talked about getting delisted.

Would love to see him get another 2 years, give him a clear role and time to find his feet and build the confidence from there. Most likely he is just a state level player, however from the glimpses he has shown he is one of the few players outside our best 22 who has the potential to become a gun IMO.

Geez you have put some mayo on that post mate , we cant keep everyone because they are a good bloke, dont know about you but i want to see us win a flag before i go ,

It actually shows a bit of class IMO. Lonie, Bruce, Newnes etc all gave a lot to the Saints. It's pretty shit to bag them out (which I have done too at times), they might not have been top shelf players and didn't quite get where we wished they had but doesn't mean they deserve bashing. Fans get attached to the players and having them leave can hurt for some people. It's easy to dismiss when it's a player you don't rate but at some point some player you do rate will leave and you'll probably wish they'd stay.

I'm old fashioned, I still like the characters and the identities around the club. I like Lonie as a person and he gave heaps of time to my kids at club events. I think he's replaceable on field but I wish him well if he goes and respect what he's done for us. I also see the culture guys like Lonie have helped to create and can see the potential for that to get damaged if you cut too hard into the list, so it's not that outrageous to me.

Disagree - no card was played. It was a statement by St Muir defending a player being called trash.

Have we signed Crouch and Treloar yet?
How would i know about Crouch or Treloar , you need to ask Johnny that

What did they do, make him perform one hook turn after another in a car with a dodgy transmission? Drop him on the middle of Collins St with no clothes on except for a branded pair of Adelaide Crows speedos? Dude is haunted.

Apparently as part of the Crows off season Mind Control camp they had the players attempt to make hook turns whilst the Richmond theme song was playing at full blast but even if they did it correctly a tram came down the middle at full speed and wiped them out.

He’ll be fine, just needs to avoid the CBD when the Tigers are playing.

It actually shows a bit of class IMO. Lonie, Bruce, Newnes etc all gave a lot to the Saints. It's pretty sh*t to bag them out (which I have done too at times), they might not have been top shelf players and didn't quite get where we wished they had but doesn't mean they deserve bashing. Fans get attached to the players and having them leave can hurt for some people. It's easy to dismiss when it's a player you don't rate but at some point some player you do rate will leave and you'll probably wish they'd stay.

I'm old fashioned, I still like the characters and the identities around the club. I like Lonie as a person and he gave heaps of time to my kids at club events. I think he's replaceable on field but I wish him well if he goes and respect what he's done for us. I also see the culture guys like Lonie have helped to create and can see the potential for that to get damaged if you cut too hard into the list, so it's not that outrageous to me.
Im not bagging him , i just think Higgins is an upgrade and you cant keep them all , God if i fell in love with every racehorse i have owned there would be 30 of the bastards in the paddock ( If i had a paddock )

Dunstan is the one that hurts the most IMO, real heart on the sleeve type player and seemed to completely buy in.

Was touted as a future captain.

In reality if we want to be a contender then he isn’t best 22. Would leave with best wishes from all of us I reckon and if he does go hope he makes a really good career of it (except against us).
I think you might be hanging onto old memories mate. Dunstan was captain of the SA U18 side before his draft but that was 7 years ago now. He has been in the system long enough for us to know what type of player he is and what his ceiling will be. Still had leadership qualities but for me he isn't a lock for our best 22 and I think leaders need to be that.

Parker being a point of difference is huge. Lonies ceiling is a poor man's Butler, Kent's ceiling is a combination of a poor man's Billings/Membrey. They just bring us lesser versions of what we already have.

Parker is a small/mid sized forward who can take a hanger, mark overhead, crumb, score miraculous goals and apply pressure.

If his 2020 form replicated his 2019 form there is no way he'd be talked about getting delisted.

Would love to see him get another 2 years, give him a clear role and time to find his feet and build the confidence from there. Most likely he is just a state level player, however from the glimpses he has shown he is one of the few players outside our best 22 who has the potential to become a gun IMO.
Yep I agree I like Parker's versatility, can play more than just forward pocket, at 190cm can rotate through other areas of the ground which is crucial in today's game. Feel like Lonie maybe be more talented but because of his size can only play one role. Think Parker has the ability/potential to go past Kent and again Kent is in the same boat as Lonie. They are both too one dimensional for mine.

I think we need to be done with small forwards unless they are elite with forward 50 pressure ala Higgins & Butler. Rest of them can be midfielders that rotate through. Gresham and Steele have shown they provide a POD when pushed forward.

Spot on. I fu**in' love Matty Parker, up there with one of my faves. He has the excitement and X-factor about him, I just think he has to work hard to unlock it and find some consistency. Maybe some confidence in the role too - both games he played this year for us he walked off the ground with his head in his hands pretty much knowing he wasn't going to get another game based off the performance (even though we won). Fingers crossed for a huge pre season and he can come out of nowhere and just turn it on for us. If Parks was delisted I'd feel the same as the day they got rid of Clinton Jones lmao

I think Parker is at his best when he brings manic pressure inside our forward 50 - I'm hoping he can rediscover what he was doing in the first 10 rounds of 2019, because I liked what I saw then, and think it's a dimension we'd benefit from seeing more of, which he'll hopefully be good for after a full pre-season, and with some opportunity to play seconds should it be needed.

Another thing too is that we don't exactly know how this season affected the players despite us making the finals and winning one. Some of them could've really been struggling so I would probably give all of them a pass this year and look towards 2021. If we thought we were fast under the dew in QLD imagine us under a track like Marvel. That place will be rocking next year with the amount of speed we have in the side. Reminds me a bit of the 2005 side under GT.

It looked more insult than an opinion.
I included indigenous to emphasise the greater challenges he faced. Social disadvantage is a challenge.
Anyway, just my opinion.
All subjective just didn't think it was necessary. Only need to look at the stick some of our other players got this year. Wasn't because of race I can tell you.

Crows fans telling us that Brad Crouch secretly loved the Crows and was doing this whole Free Agency thing as some sort of drawn out display of his love so he/they could test whether they would get pick 2 or not was some next level delusion on their part.

I can honestly say we’ve only seen this level of delusion and denial from Essendon fans at the height of the drug saga. It would be funny if it wasn’t scary. How can a whole group of people be that easily whipped into a frenzy by some media reports and sound bites from their “leaders”?

Absolute cultists the Bombers and Crows fans. No wonder people called them“Crowbots.” Not a brain between them.
Are there any crows fans in Melbourne? I loved there for 8 years, met a few Melburnians who were fans of interstate teams and a few interstate migrants who were residents of Melbourne but loyal to their original state team...
Never once met any Crows fans.

if that happens, theyve smashed this trade period out of the absolute park
May as well give it a crack! I think we wouldn't be doing our jobs if we didn't at least have a go at it if the club pretty much knows a few salaries of ours will be off the books.