24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

There you go. Never heard of him and that’s partly because I have such a desire for Sonsie that I’ve barely cared about anyone else.

I’m really interested to see how we play this draft.
Lets hope our recruiters don't have the blinkers on like you do , surely you need to keep an open mind and not be fixated on one player , what happens if someone takes him before we get the chance , what's the back up plan if you have only been watching one player

We would need the ladder to look like this for us to be a chance. It’s not unrealistic

Bottom 3

Stkilda
North
Imagine this board if we finish third last. Not worth it even for a good pick.

Lets hope our recruiters don't have the blinkers on like you do , surely you need to keep an open mind and not be fixated on one player , what happens if someone takes him before we get the chance , what's the back up plan if you have only been watching one player
Last I checked im not a recruiter. I’m a fan who really hopes a kid lands at our club.

View attachment 1151353
View attachment 1151354
So we potentially let Billings go to get another younger version?
he probably more a Dal and has some toe to break lines unlike JB. He is also more a mid then a forward unlike the others.

you can also watch box hillv Werribee on Kayo where Sonsie dominates. So wouldn’t put too much onus on the above. He is a 17/18 year old kid. He will be as consistent as the senior bodies around him allow him to be.

So as a result of that article about Port’s reset in 2018 (not having a top 20 pick in any of the prior five years), and the stavro#4 argument re getting another early draft pick, I actually had a look at what Port did in 2018.

Essentially (as things get complicated):
They traded Polec and Pittard for the pick (eventually #6), they used for Rozee.
They already had the pick (eventually #12), they used for Butters.
They traded Wingard for the pick (eventually #18), they used for Duursma.

That’s some impressive trading.
We might argue about the merits of each trade, but they did move out three of their best 22, and got a couple of really good kids in return.
Either Duursma or Butters would walk into our best 22.
As would Rozee, but he was drafted.
Plus they addressed their list issues.

Then consider what they did in 2019 (with us) ultimately turning #10 and Howard/Ryder into #12 and #18, becoming Bergman and Georgiades.
Georgiades would walk into our team too.
Not sure about Bergman.

I think it‘s entirely plausible that we could match that.
It might not be a North trading to bolster their list, or a Hawthorn trading to extend their window, but there’ll be someone interested in a deal.
It just depends on the offer and for whom.

Or, as Stavro has suggested, we wait and see what free agency offers.

If Band #1 compo does become available it might be as low as #6.
Would we use that, or leverage it like Port into a #10 and #16 for example?

I guess what I am saying is that based on what Port achieved in 2018, there is no reason why we cannot adopt a similar strategy and get a similar outcome.

Ultimately the success of doing so will depend on three factors:

1. The quality and depth of quality in this year’s draft.
2. The List Manager’s ability to negotiate a strong trade result.
3. And the Recruiting Team’s ability to identify and select quality players with the hand they are dealt.

I reckon this year will be a great test to see how well our trade and recruiting team actually perform.

No excuses.
Good post mate.

One thing's for sure, this is crunch time for our list team. I've always believed our "reset" was working towards this year becoming the final product.

We'll see how it all goes...

It’s probably likely if the pies get a bounce. I think people are coming around to our situation and accepting it’s going to be tough to win games with 15-20 listed blokes unavailable

Well that was Coffield last year. Better to save ourselves a draft pick and just figure out how to get him back to that.
Coffield isn’t a lever/Stewart/Doedee/Sammy Fisher

he is more a Vlastuin. Nothing wrong with that. I really rate Vlastuin. But I want someone bigger near him that dominates the high ball and makes clubs brick it to pump it in long.

We would need the ladder to look like this for us to be a chance. It’s not unrealistic

Bottom 3

Stkilda
North
I like Callaghan who looks made for us, it will be interesting to see how the rest of the season and the championships change the rankings.

All I know is if we have two high draft picks we better be picking kids who are the complete package. Too often we’ve picked kids with obvious flaws

I like Callaghan who looks made for us, it will be interesting to see how the rest of the season and the championships change the rankings.

All I know is if we have two high draft picks we better be picking kids who are the complete package. Too often we’ve picked kids with obvious flaws
Ideally if we have 2 picks. We are probably taking the 3/4th best pure mid if we fall down far enough - which is why I’m keen on Sonsie who is a mid forward. X factor and really damaging - with one of the first picks.

I’m abit worried about 2 pure mids. Because I really like Bytel/Byrnes and don’t want to have 2 highly rated pure mid kids infront. But at the end of the day if that is the best available scenario - then no issues.

View attachment 1151353
View attachment 1151354
So we potentially let Billings go to get another younger version?
I wouldn't read too much into one guys thoughts on him.

He's been doing pretty well in the midfield according to other draft watchers. He's not a contested beast like some but he does win his own footy.

The fact he can also play forward is an added bonus.

The game for Box Hill showed he can already match it with men.

This year is a write off. Poor start with injuries and poor prep for the new rules put the line through us early.
Now we can barely field a team.
Start sending blokes to surgery, playing blokes in different positions etc.

Let Billings walk. We will have pick 5 and 6.

....and we will waste them on a half back flanker and an undersized forward.

Draft Central and Knightmare both rate Sonsie at 3 and both seem to rate him highly as a mid.

Billings who didn't really play as a full time mid in his 18's is a really poor comparison IMO.

3. Tyler Sonsie
The MVP for Vic Metro during the Under-16 Championships, Sonsie is a classy midfielder and forward. One of the premier contested ball winners in this year's draft, Sonsie plays with an attacking flair and can change games in a matter of minutes. He is one of the best kicks inside-50m in this year's draft pool, with his ball use, composure and decision making under pressure among his greatest points of difference. Sonsie also displays a burst of speed and has some line-breaking capabilities. With his 24-disposal, two goal performance for Box Hill in the VFL against Werribee where he featured among the best players on the field, Sonsie has only enhanced his reputation and drawn closer to this year's top-2.

#3 Tyler Sonsie
Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro | Midfielder
27/01/2003 | 181cm | 76kg

Snapshot:
A smooth-moving midfielder with terrific poise and class, Sonsie opens up the play with his clean disposal and ability to kick goals.

One of the most highly-touted Victorian prospects before a ball had been bounced in 2021, Sonsie’s best has been exceptional thus far. The Eastern Ranges prospect was Vic Metro’s Under 16 MVP in 2019 and is one of the few 2003-born NAB Leaguers to have already experienced the Under 19 competition. He was part of his region’s 2019 minor premiership-winning side, rolling forward off a wing. Now a draft eligible talent, Sonsie has moved more permanently into midfield and while he is developing his defensive running, has plenty of attacking traits to offer. His ability to exit stoppages with poise and make good decisions with ball in hand is top notch, with that exceptional skill level also translating to dual-sided finishing in front of goal.

Season so far:

Sonsie made a hot start to the season as Draft Central’s Round 1 NAB League Player of the Week. He hit the ground running with 34 disposals and two goals, proving damaging when on top. Across four NAB League outings this year, the 18-year-old has snared five goals from an average of 25 disposals and while he has not always been the best player afield, his class shone through in promising patches. Sonsie also represented Box Hill in the VFL, showing good signs in his state league debut with 24 touches and two well-finished goals, warming to the level steadily. His best has been great to watch, hence his current ranking, but sustaining that impact and doing it both ways is the next step.

Draft Central and Knightmare both rate Sonsie at 3 and both seem to rate him highly as a mid.

Billings who didn't really play as a full time mid in his 18's is a really poor comparison IMO.

3. Tyler Sonsie
The MVP for Vic Metro during the Under-16 Championships, Sonsie is a classy midfielder and forward. One of the premier contested ball winners in this year's draft, Sonsie plays with an attacking flair and can change games in a matter of minutes. He is one of the best kicks inside-50m in this year's draft pool, with his ball use, composure and decision making under pressure among his greatest points of difference. Sonsie also displays a burst of speed and has some line-breaking capabilities. With his 24-disposal, two goal performance for Box Hill in the VFL against Werribee where he featured among the best players on the field, Sonsie has only enhanced his reputation and drawn closer to this year's top-2.

#3 Tyler Sonsie
Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro | Midfielder
27/01/2003 | 181cm | 76kg

Snapshot:
A smooth-moving midfielder with terrific poise and class, Sonsie opens up the play with his clean disposal and ability to kick goals.

One of the most highly-touted Victorian prospects before a ball had been bounced in 2021, Sonsie’s best has been exceptional thus far. The Eastern Ranges prospect was Vic Metro’s Under 16 MVP in 2019 and is one of the few 2003-born NAB Leaguers to have already experienced the Under 19 competition. He was part of his region’s 2019 minor premiership-winning side, rolling forward off a wing. Now a draft eligible talent, Sonsie has moved more permanently into midfield and while he is developing his defensive running, has plenty of attacking traits to offer. His ability to exit stoppages with poise and make good decisions with ball in hand is top notch, with that exceptional skill level also translating to dual-sided finishing in front of goal.

Season so far:

Sonsie made a hot start to the season as Draft Central’s Round 1 NAB League Player of the Week. He hit the ground running with 34 disposals and two goals, proving damaging when on top. Across four NAB League outings this year, the 18-year-old has snared five goals from an average of 25 disposals and while he has not always been the best player afield, his class shone through in promising patches. Sonsie also represented Box Hill in the VFL, showing good signs in his state league debut with 24 touches and two well-finished goals, warming to the level steadily. His best has been great to watch, hence his current ranking, but sustaining that impact and doing it both ways is the next step.
He is a mid who can play forward rather then a forward who can play mid like Billings.

he can break a line(not saying he is super quick, but a trait that Billings doesn’t have) and he can comfortably when his own contested ball (again this isn’t a Billings trait)

This year is a write off. Poor start with injuries and poor prep for the new rules put the line through us early.
Now we can barely field a team.
Start sending blokes to surgery, playing blokes in different positions etc.

Let Billings walk. We will have pick 5 and 6.

....and we will waste them on a half back flanker and an undersized forward.

and Bulldogs staff will be snickering , " I told them we were going to take XXXX with our first pick, and they fell for it "

Well im glad about that .
Ps , the kid does look good in the Box hill game although he is not big
The thing that i am really drawn too is he is a damaging mid forward of the centre. A lot of people say that in minutes he can change a game because he has the ability to do maximum damage - whether that’s putting the ball on a plate for a forward or scoring goals himself.

so he isn’t reliant on someone winning him the ball.

I'm the head of the negativity department and I won't complain. I think we look bottom 4 with how we are playing generally and because we have 2 winnable games coming up in Adelaide and Collingwood with injuries hitting at the wrong time. Realistically only 4 potential wins left for the whole year.

Against Adelaide we won't have a side capable of putting up a fight so extremely unlikely to win it. Collingwood will bounce for pride so meeting them at the worst time as players tend to want to play for their futures. Then the only other winnable games are Carlton who you never know what they'll bring but look better than us this year and Freo to end the year. By then we might decide winning it is pointless and play the kids. All the other games look like losses.

Adelaide jump us on percentage after this week if they win, puts us 15th. Collingwood are a game behind us but if they can beat a banged up Freo in Melbourne they break even.Their draw is pretty hard too, us, Carlton and the Hawks to come but the rest are harder games. If they beat us and beat Freo that puts us third last with a terrible percentage.

Collingwood or the Saints will have pick 3 IMO. Just depends what the coaching changes do for their form. Our injuries have hit right when our easier run is happening.

Joffaboy one for you.

Would you trade the Billings compo for Cerra and something back if it’s a top 5 pick?

That's a hard one, I heard that Cerra wants big dollars and that probably puts us out of contention. The top end of this draft looks tasty but Cerra looks like he's a Jack Steele type of trade where someone's done all the hard work for you so we can't ruin his development. Do you take home the fridge or do you pick the mystery box that could have $500k in it?

Coffield isn’t a lever/Stewart/Doedee/Sammy Fisher

he is more a Vlastuin. Nothing wrong with that. I really rate Vlastuin. But I want someone bigger near him that dominates the high ball and makes clubs brick it to pump it in long.
Battle did not bad for a 20yo doing that.. I reckon him and Highmore with Doogs in between would be formidable..