Paul Hunter

Traded;
Luke Dunstan

Retired;
Jake Carlisle
Dylan Roberton
Shaun McKernan
James Frawley

To see the full playing list list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – Monday November 15

List Lodgement 1
Friday October 29

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
Wednesday November 3 - Tuesday November 9

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
Wednesday November 10

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
Thursday November 11 - Monday November 15

AFL Pre-Season Commences (First to fourth year players)
Monday November 22

National Draft
Round 1: Wednesday November 24 (7pm)
Round 2 – completion: Thursday November 25 (7pm - late)

Preseason and Rookie Drafts
Friday November 26 (3.20pm)

Final List Lodgement
Monday November 29

Pre-Season Commences (All other players)
Monday 6 December

Pre-Season Supplemental Selection Period (SSP)
December - March (tbc)

Pre-Season Christmas Break
Sunday 19 December - Sunday 9 January

Last edited by a moderator:
We need a key defender so the idea is to see if Battle can play that role. If he or Joyce or anyone we pick up in the state league can do it well I dont see how we are over loaded. It's good to have an area with a bit of depth.

It means Wilkie and Highmore can play the third tall role rather than on the monsters.

We've talked about how much of a difference Petty makes to Lever

Coffield would be starting on the bench, not the wing. Most clubs have an extra defender on the bench.

Ideally Hill can get back to playing good footy in his best position.

Still need to play a back six with some wings drifting back for cover or something though. At the moment the numbers are going to push good players out of the side. Battle, Howard and Joyce plus a potential state league for KPs. Highmore, Wilkie and Coff as intercepting markers, Webster, Geary and Paton as the small accountable types, Hunter Clark, Hill, Sinclair as running rebounders plus often send a new kid to HB to ease them into AFL. 12 to 14 players for 6 to 7 spots sounds over stacked to me. Plenty are going to be too good to play VFL most weeks.

Would be close to the player I’m most excited about next year . His footy brain combined with a full pre season and actually looking slightly fit . I think next year is gonna be massive for him .

If we can get another 25% out of him and Butler can rediscover some goal kicking while Sharman and King continue their progression we should be a very formidable forward line next year. If we get 50 to 60 goals out of King, 40+ out of Coops, 45 out of Membrey and 30+ each from Butler and Snags and some midfield goals we will be a pretty scary forward set up. We kicked ourselves out of games in 2021, hopefully we can step up next season.

Still need to play a back six with some wings drifting back for cover or something though. At the moment the numbers are going to push good players out of the side. Battle, Howard and Joyce plus a potential state league for KPs. Highmore, Wilkie and Coff as intercepting markers, Webster, Geary and Paton as the small accountable types, Hunter Clark, Hill, Sinclair as running rebounders plus often send a new kid to HB to ease them into AFL. 12 to 14 players for 6 to 7 spots sounds over stacked to me. Plenty are going to be too good to play VFL most weeks.
I don’t like Clark as the running rebounder. He plays there cause there’s no room in the midfield but he’s only decent there because he’s a talented player not because he’s particularly good as a defender. I’d rather Connolly as the Sinclair/Hill type running rebounder. Clark is midfield or nothing I think.

He played midfield against Richmond and some against Port and Hawthorn. I was at the Hawks game and t was very noticeable that when he played on ball that he gave up chasing very easily and looked really really slow unless we had the ball. I can almost guarantee that his fitness is holding him back from playing full time mids. His numbers in that period were very good, in the Hawks game he drifted forward and put on a highlight reel worthy display, against the Tigers he got 33 possessions.

Just because Battle ends up training with the defenders that won't guarantee him a game in defence.

Based on what we've seen so far I'd rate him as form and injury cover only behind Howard, Wilkie, Highmore and Coffield.

He's slightly ahead of Joyce and any sort of form from Allison (and if we pick up KPD as a DFA) will see him slip even further down the order.

J
There are a few obvious ones in there that won't be best 22.

As I said, Hill has played his best footy on the wing so we'd be hoping he can find form there again and earn some of his 900k.

It's time Clark moved into the middle.

Nothing wrong with having a bit of depth. You seem to be suggesting that is a bad thing.

Just because Battle ends up training with the defenders that won't guarantee him a game in defence.

Based on what we've seen so far I'd rate him as form and injury cover only behind Howard, Wilkie, Highmore and Coffield.

He's slightly ahead of Joyce and any sort of form from Allison (and if we pick up KPD as a DFA) will see him slip even further down the order.
I haven't read anyone suggest Battle will be guaranteed a game.

It makes sense to try and find another key defender to go with Howard though.

Whether Battle can become that is the question. Same with Joyce or anyone we pick from the state league.

Either way we'd be a better side if we can find another good key defender in our 22.

Not sure how much of Allison you saw last year but he's a long way behind all of them right now. Played mostly as a third tall type in the VFL and I don't see playing as a key defender at AFL level next year.

J
There are a few obvious ones in there that won't be best 22.

As I said, Hill has played his best footy on the wing so we'd be hoping he can find form there again and earn some of his 900k.

It's time Clark moved into the middle.

Nothing wrong with having a bit of depth. You seem to be suggesting that is a bad thing.

Hill was so bad on the wing though. He's going to have to turn his form completely around and at 29 next year we might need to start winding him down to a more flat footed role anyway. He's actually added value as a back-man, he's about the only one that can actually run to give options to team mates. Our midfield seems to prefer to move the ball long and direct rather than pinging the ball around to each other.

I didn't say it's bad thing, just mentioned that we are over stocked for defenders. It's a shame that we have too many of some types and not completed the line up still though. The forward line is stacked as well and we really need to chase genuine gun on ballers now.

They should follow Clark with a cattle prod and make him keep running until he's as fit as a bull.

Hill was so bad on the wing though. He's going to have to turn his form completely around and at 29 next year we might need to start winding him down to a more flat footed role anyway. He's actually added value as a back-man, he's about the only one that can actually run to give options to team mates. Our midfield seems to prefer to move the ball long and direct rather than pinging the ball around to each other.

I didn't say it's bad thing, just mentioned that we are over stocked for defenders. It's a shame that we have too many of some types and not completed the line up still though. The forward line is stacked as well and we really need to chase genuine gun on ballers now.

They should follow Clark with a cattle prod and make him keep running until he's as fit as a bull.
Hill is just such an ordinary one on one defender though.

He only looked much better as a defender because he was so poor on the wing compared to his best.

He's a worry IMO. At 29 next year he's still got another 4 years at 900k.

He played midfield against Richmond and some against Port and Hawthorn. I was at the Hawks game and t was very noticeable that when he played on ball that he gave up chasing very easily and looked really really slow unless we had the ball. I can almost guarantee that his fitness is holding him back from playing full time mids. His numbers in that period were very good, in the Hawks game he drifted forward and put on a highlight reel worthy display, against the Tigers he got 33 possessions.
Well either he gets his fitness up and plays midfield or he’s sitting in the 2s. We have genuine half back options like Connolly, Coffield who play their best game there. Can’t babysit him there. Same as hill, he’s gotta play in his best position

He only looked much better as a defender because he was so poor on the wing compared to his best.

He was pretty good though playing in defence. I had a few rage episodes that we played him as a defender while paying him to play on a wing but he played some good footy down back. Freo ended up sitting a player of him to stop his impact. He always gets on his bike to give a handball option too which gives us a chance to clear cleaner. He's atrocious as an accountable defender but that's not why he's there. He runs the ball out.

Well either he gets his fitness up and plays midfield or he’s sitting in the 2s. We have genuine half back options like Connolly, Coffield who play their best game there. Can’t babysit him there. Same as hill, he’s gotta play in his best position

I reckon Connolly will probably have to develop his game to play wing as well. He's got skills but he's going to have to take a spot off someone to play regular footy. DMac and Byrnes are probably his competition ATM. Defence seems stacked and one of the NGA or our top pick may need to start off on a HBF.

We probably have space for one “developmental spot” in the best 22, whether that be at HB, the wing or HF. Where you put someone to give them game time and know that they’re taking up a better person’s spot.

I think there's some confusion around his contract length. Pretty sure he signed a five year deal, so three more to go. At the beginning of his final contract year he'll be 30.

Not sure but thought it was 6 years at 900k. Contracted to 2025 I think.

FMD, over 5 million bucks 🙄

Not sure but thought it was 6 years at 900k. Contracted to 2025 I think.

FMD, over 5 million bucks 🙄
To be honest, Hill didn’t lose his ability of the previous 26 years overnight. It’s just we don’t have the midfield/game plan to make his role as a wing man effective. The dumb long bomb game plan makes winger’s role completely redundant, on top of that in the midfield, we could not get any clean inside ball to the outside players on the move. It’s the combination of game plan/our lack of midfield control.. whether Hill is worth 990k to start with, that’s another question

We tried to have a more controlled ball use build up early in the season and it flopped because our skills are a bit poo. We look better dumping it in long and defending the ball coming out.

We normally 2 types of long bombs it’s so predictable
1. From kick in or anywhere in the backline to halfback/wing

2. From anywhere between the 2 arcs to the forward 50..

Both should be the last resort if no better options are available.

Wing man is best used for linking backline to the forward line, when found in space they can use their run and carry to hit up forward targets or at least kick to advantage of our forwards.. Because our long bomb game plan, when Hill does get the ball on the wing/midfield, he has no space to run or is already under pressure.. this makes him completely ineffective.

Basically we bought a ferrari, but only use it to drive in the car park.. completely pointless. Hill is role in the backline is because we don’t have anyone apart from Sinclair to provide run from the backline.. people say we have Paton. Paton was a kid that can play as a lock down defender on small forwards, not a running back like Saad or Houli.

Ratten and co obviously didn’t realise this before letting Hind go.. next year, we need to have a better plan than asking Howard to bomb long from full back.. need run and carry and hit leading targets.. Connelly, Brynes should be giving priority than players with poor skills (Geary)

He was pretty good though playing in defence. I had a few rage episodes that we played him as a defender while paying him to play on a wing but he played some good footy down back. Freo ended up sitting a player of him to stop his impact. He always gets on his bike to give a handball option too which gives us a chance to clear cleaner. He's atrocious as an accountable defender but that's not why he's there. He runs the ball out.
He runs so far that it didn't make much difference that he played off a HBF more than the wing, seemed to have more scope and more suited to the teams style of play.

Has 3 years left and will still be 30 when it ends.

We normally 2 types of long bombs it’s so predictable
1. From kick in or anywhere in the backline to halfback/wing

2. From anywhere between the 2 arcs to the forward 50..

Both should be the last resort if no better options are available.

Wing man is best used for linking backline to the forward line, when found in space they can use their run and carry to hit up forward targets or at least kick to advantage of our forwards.. Because our long bomb game plan, when Hill does get the ball on the wing/midfield, he has no space to run or is already under pressure.. this makes him completely ineffective.

Basically we bought a ferrari, but only use it to drive in the car park.. completely pointless. Hill is role in the backline is because we don’t have anyone apart from Sinclair to provide run from the backline.. people say we have Paton. Paton was a kid that can play as a lock down defender on small forwards, not a running back like Saad or Houli.

Ratten and co obviously didn’t realise this before letting Hind go.. next year, we need to have a better plan than asking Howard to bomb long from full back.. need run and carry and hit leading targets.. Connelly, Brynes should be giving priority than players with poor skills (Geary)

We also had Savage who could run the ball out. We were good last year with clean short passing but the other sides worked us out and the stand rule turned the game up faster so harder to control through precision.

He runs so far that it didn't make much difference that he played off a HBF more than the wing, seemed to have more scope and more suited to the teams style of play.

Has 3 years left and will still be 30 when it ends.

When does he come out of contract?

Point made about our midfield we were rated highly for possession but worst for midfield disposal not helping any wingman , Hill to me plays on a wing - we can't get him to the club and turn him into a halfback flanker , you can get any fleet footed player with average ability to run off halfback and not be responsible for their player - Saad , Hind etc / team who play that style of game.
Hill is a elite wing however he hasn't showed it with us - having played with teams with strong midfield's - Hawks and then with Fremantle with Fyfe , Neale and Mundy he has found it difficult with our midfield. - imo

I'd rather a guy who can run off half back and also be accountable for the player they are on.
Having Sinclair , Highmore , Coffield , Webster and the addition of Paton we have no need on playing Hill in defense - if the want run and carry they could always use Connolly for the role.
We need to fix our disposal out of the middle getting rid of Dunstan was just a way of saying they are trying to fix the problem but really they all need improvement in this area and Dunstan was seen as the worst of the lot - scapegoat maybe but things need to change in that department.
Yet to be seen if Gresham , Clark and Bytel can step up but getting first round draft pick , Windhager and Owens should bolster the position for the future years ahead.

Last year only having Jones and Clark only playing half a season worth of games and of course Gresham only playing 3 games hurt us in the midfield with only the developing Bytel , Byrne or Ross , Dunstan to fill the void

List Mgmt. 2021 Trade Thread - Part III