• trade back in with a future second for someone else

• only take MM and keep the other spot for PSD/rookie

Results are only viewable after voting.

Our draft haul:

Pick 17 - Max Michalanney (matched F/S)
Pick 43 - Billy Dowling
Pick 50 - Hugh Bond

Rookie Pick 5 - Andrew McPherson (re-listed)
Rookie Pick 21 - Paul Seedsman (re-listed)

Bangers Says - Tony Bamford's assessment of Harry Barnett​

”He’s definitely our most promising tall in terms of performances this year.
”Harry has improved in leaps and bounds since 2021 when we first noticed him.
”To his credit, he’s taken his game to another level and was able to experience national level football as well as senior level football here with the Bloods and whatever level he played at, he played well.
”That is a good sign, when you can elevate up a level and still play well.
”He was the best performed ruck in the National champs, which is probably why clubs have been doing a lot of homework on him.
”He’s ultra-competitive and he’s got a big thick body for an 18-year-old ruckmen. A lot of the high-performing 18-year-old ruckmen are still a bit skinny but Harry is built like a man now.
”He can run, he can get around the ground like some our midfielders so that separates him the other ruckmen in the national competition.”

Bangers Says - Tony Bamford's assessment of Max Michalanney​

”It’s a great story for Max, his Dad, the Norwood Footy Club and the Crows.
”Max is a very composed 18-year-old. He’s got a very level head. He doesn’t get overly excited by things and doesn’t get too down on things.
”He’s got a very stable mentality emotionally which is going to be a great asset as an AFL footballer.
”He sees the game early – is very, very intelligent in offence and defence, can play one-on-one against talls and the smalls.
”Norwood obviously has a high opinion of him because he was training with and playing League football late in the year.
”The Crows are going to get a ripping player and a ripping person.”

Bangers Says - Tony Bamford's assessment of Billy Dowling​

”He’s a ball-magnet Billy. He’s always been that way, he’s never had any trouble finding the footy.
”He turns up at contest after contest so he is a good midfielder who gets up and down the ground.
”Some midfielders, you will find they will only win the ball between the arcs but Billy wins the ball in the D50 and the Forward 50 which is proof he gets up and down the ground.
”For a guy who is pushing close to 190cm (tall) now, to be winning the ball at ground level often is a good sign.
”He’s a smart player who will guarantee you 25 possessions and 12 of those will be contested and five or six of those will be inside 50s. He will turn the numbers over really well.”

Bangers Says - Tony Bamford's assessment of Adam D'Aloia​

”Adam was our (SA U18) captain this year and was the U17 captain last year.
”He is one of the most honest footballers I have ever worked with and been lucky enough to be involved with.
”He’s just an exceptional young man. I was lucky enough to meet his parents at the (State U18) presentation night and you meet his parents and realise this is why this boy is the way he is.
”They are great people with great values and Adam is the same.
”He was voted in as our captain by the players and coaches unanimously this year – there was a massive gap between him and the next player.
”I liken him to (Tom) Liberatore – he’s very inside and tough. He does all the dirty work which then makes other midfielders look good.
”If you were to ask Mattaes (Phillipou) who he would like to play midfield with, I am pretty sure he would be saying Adam.
”Adam made Mattaes look pretty good at times this year, both in National champs games and at the Eagles.”

Bangers Says - Tony Bamford's assessment of Isaac Keeler​

”Keels is clearly, in our eyes, the most naturally gifted footballer in his age group.
”Isaac needed to learn at the start of the year that he needed to pull his finger out.
”And to his credit, he did it which was great.
”We started to see some more consistency in both contests, whether it be an aerial contest or a ruck contest.
”We saw him gut running 30, 40, 60m in games which we hadn’t seen before.
”Credit to North Adelaide and Brooksy (U18 coach Craig Brooks) for getting Isaac up around the ground in the ruck and not just leaving him as a forward.
”That has certainly helped his football. Isaac going up into the ruck allowed him to be around the contest more often which required him to defend early by tackling and harrassing, instead of just waiting for his teammates to give him the ball.
”Sticks (Brenton Phillips) and I and Brooksy were pretty hard on Isaac at the start of the year. To Isaac’s credit – I take my hat off to him – he took that feedback on board. When he came into the State program his training intensity grew and rose to a level it needed to be at and we saw that transfer into his game. He’s matured a lot so I am really proud of him.”

Bangers Says - Tony Bamford assessment of Mattaes Phillipou​

”He’s an ultra-professional, very driven young man.
”He’s your prototype AFL midfielder. He’s 192cm and still growing so he will probably get up to 194cm.
”He can mark it, take the ball at stoppage, accept the tackle and still get the ball off, shake a tackle and still spread.
”Ground level hands are very clean, he kicks the ball beautifully. He can sneak forward and take marks.
”He’s pretty much what every AFL club is looking for, based on what (Patty) Cripps and (Marcus) Bontempelli are doing at the level at the moment.
”His biggest challenge, when he gets into the AFL system, will be (having) patience because he’s so driven and he wants to be the best player tomorrow.
”He just needs to chill.”

Speaking to reporters, Hewett said he’d “recently” spoken to new St Kilda coach Ross Lyon ahead of the draft.

“The prospect of playing under Ross is there but there’s a lot of other clubs that are around that mark as well,” he said.

Despite the uncertainty around his AFL future, Hewett said he was “confident that I’ll be in the first round”.

“It’s a matter of the pick right now, I just don’t exactly know where,” he said.

“I’m thinking around the eight to 12 mark, within there. You just don’t exactly know and I could go a bit behind there.”

View attachment 1559544
WaynesWorld19

Bangers Says - Tony Bamford's assessment of Will Verrall​

”We didn’t know what was going to happen with Will because he had a really interrupted preseason with some injuries to his groins and hips which he carried through the back end of his U17 year.
”We thought he had gotten over that but as he started to come back into South Adelaide’s preseason in February last year, some signs of aggravation reared again so he had to stop training altogether and restart his rehab.
”That really hindered his ability to get on the track and get his match fitness. ”Had Will Verrall been fit and firing, on all four cylinders, like he was as a 17-year-old, we would have played both rucks at the Nationals.
”Because at his best, Will Verrall is as good as (Harry) Barnett. So (AFL) clubs are doing some work on Will Verrall now based on what he did as a 17-year-old, knowing it was at a really high level.”
You can tell Bamford loves him , also with previous comments

maybe he's just a dickhead
Lol, TBH I kinda feel like this might be the case. I think most people have played with one of those types. Better then everyone as a junior and walk around with a air of prickly superiority that they are allowed to get away with.

Then you meet them 15 years later and you realise they weren't ever superior, just a dickhead who was good at footy in high school.

Tale as old as football itself.

Bangers Says - Tony Bamford's assessment of Max Michalanney​

”It’s a great story for Max, his Dad, the Norwood Footy Club and the Crows.
”Max is a very composed 18-year-old. He’s got a very level head. He doesn’t get overly excited by things and doesn’t get too down on things.
”He’s got a very stable mentality emotionally which is going to be a great asset as an AFL footballer.
”He sees the game early – is very, very intelligent in offence and defence, can play one-on-one against talls and the smalls.
”Norwood obviously has a high opinion of him because he was training with and playing League football late in the year.
”The Crows are going to get a ripping player and a ripping person.”
Sensational

Ability to play on smalls and talls is definitely what he’s got . Will start on smaller types

Is like an ice man out there , sometimes you don’t notice him because of it

Lol, TBH I kinda feel like this might be the case. I think most people have played with one of those types. Better then everyone as a junior and walk around with a air of prickly superiority that they are allowed to get away with.

Then you meet them 15 years later and you realise they weren't ever superior, just a dickhead who was good at footy in high school.

Tale as old as football itself.
Last night we had what was the opposite of that at the Rostrevor graduation dinner, Callum Wilkie of St Kilda (ex Rossie student) was asked if he would like to come back and give a speech and he came over to do it. He gave one of the best speeches in terms of humility and how people should not be defined by set backs and to chase the dream. He was highly touted as a junior and excelled with North Adelaide but injury hindered and he said he was overlooked in 4 different drafts before finally getting a chance as a mature aged player and that came about after taking pressure off himself and getting back to really enjoying his footy.

There were a few aspiring footy players in the audience and plenty of other kids besides that would have heard that and taken a bit from it.

Bangers Says - Tony Bamford assessment of Mattaes Phillipou​

”He’s an ultra-professional, very driven young man.
”He’s your prototype AFL midfielder. He’s 192cm and still growing so he will probably get up to 194cm.
”He can mark it, take the ball at stoppage, accept the tackle and still get the ball off, shake a tackle and still spread.
”Ground level hands are very clean, he kicks the ball beautifully. He can sneak forward and take marks.
”He’s pretty much what every AFL club is looking for, based on what (Patty) Cripps and (Marcus) Bontempelli are doing at the level at the moment.
”His biggest challenge, when he gets into the AFL system, will be (having) patience because he’s so driven and he wants to be the best player tomorrow.
”He just needs to chill.”
Everything about him is exactly the player we need. I really hope we're trying everything we can to get a pick for him. But I know there's no chance.

WaynesWorld19

Bangers Says - Tony Bamford's assessment of Will Verrall​

”We didn’t know what was going to happen with Will because he had a really interrupted preseason with some injuries to his groins and hips which he carried through the back end of his U17 year.
”We thought he had gotten over that but as he started to come back into South Adelaide’s preseason in February last year, some signs of aggravation reared again so he had to stop training altogether and restart his rehab.
”That really hindered his ability to get on the track and get his match fitness. ”Had Will Verrall been fit and firing, on all four cylinders, like he was as a 17-year-old, we would have played both rucks at the Nationals.
”Because at his best, Will Verrall is as good as (Harry) Barnett. So (AFL) clubs are doing some work on Will Verrall now based on what he did as a 17-year-old, knowing it was at a really high level.”
This is very, very worrying. I would expect nothing less than a V8 when he is fully firing. Bamford obviously has low expectations. ;)

Everything about him is exactly the player we need. I really hope we're trying everything we can to get a pick for him. But I know there's no chance.

I haven't seen 1 second of him playing footy but on paper, like you said, he is EXACTLY what we need. And we would've likely had a pick good enouugh to get him. Frustrating how these sorts of things tend to play out against us each time.

Hopefully he slips past Essendon and the Suns get him.

Then we can get him next year. :$

Two points :
1. COLL simply putting pressure on GWS to use an earlier pick on Clarke .....they probably have no interest

2. FFS lad ....get drafted first, don't talk about your celebrational dances, B4 you've even been Drafted :rolleyes:
Either you didn’t read it or you’re just a clown.
Two points :
1. COLL simply putting pressure on GWS to use an earlier pick on Clarke .....they probably have no interest

2. FFS lad ....get drafted first, don't talk about your celebrational dances, B4 you've even been Drafted :rolleyes:
Wayne you poor soul. Read the article before you make comments judging a young kid. Be better.

Maybe you should learn some respect before attacking another poster on their own forum. Be Better yourself.

As a matter of interest, I was judging COLL the club, nothing to do with the player ......now who didn't read the context of my post ??

We are certainly doing that I can assure you but Dodoro is a hard man to deal with..

As a matter of interest, I was judging COLL the club, nothing to do with the player ......now who didn't read the context of my post ??
Dont even justify yourself, the arrogance to come on our board and insult deserves a ban.

We are certainly doing that I can assure you but Dodoro is a hard man to deal with..
Last year according to Bundy, he will want to nail a pick not trade our future first in unfortunately I reckon.

Rendell SEN last night on Dodoro and this draft after speaking to recruiters ( for what it’s worth)

“Adrian is keeping his cards close to his chest”
“Dodoro will throw out Furphy everywhere so nobody knows what he is doing”

Do we even have the capital to get into the top 10 this year? Normally you would need 2x late first rounders to get a decent first rounder.

Frankly, it's comical how perfect a fit he is for us. Inside mid with height and size, confidence (leadership potential), young for his draft year (undiscovered upside).

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft Discussion