• trade back in with a future second for someone else

• only take MM and keep the other spot for PSD/rookie

Results are only viewable after voting.

Our draft haul:

Pick 17 - Max Michalanney (matched F/S)
Pick 43 - Billy Dowling
Pick 50 - Hugh Bond

Rookie Pick 5 - Andrew McPherson (re-listed)
Rookie Pick 21 - Paul Seedsman (re-listed)

ModernArtillery predicted Bond to us, in his Phantom Draft

I'm sure we had a list of 5-6 targets .....we just discover a couple after we catch them ......the rest escaped our net
ModernArtillery is a guru. We should place much more emphasis into his opinions and the work he contributes for a number of quality draft related publications than the self obsessed Knightmare.

Was surprised and disappointed Collier-Dawkins never even got Rookied
I'd like to see a study of how many recently drafted "tall mids" actually work out.

I feel like there's the obvious exceptions like Cripps and Bont, but in general the success rate for 6'4" or above mids isn't all that high.

I can’t believe how lazy you need to be to believe we are good at making late round draft picks or that we are better than other teams at it

I mean 2 lazy eyes that can literally not focus on other teams or the ladder like lazy
Yawn.

I know we're not supposed to respond to trolls, but for once, I'll break my rules.

Where were you on Soligo last year ol mate? Predicting him to be terrible before round 1 I suppose? What about Taylor, shouldn't have even bothered? Go back a lot of years, Laird, Sloane?? We have one of the best records, if not the best in the comp with late picks.

Its easy from the cheap seats, which is your home address right?

As for the ladder, you don't even go in the ladder prediction comps. Always captain hindsight. This is why no one has any respect for you.

So Ill take criticism for lame no value posts, from others, but not from you, the king of lame, no value posts. Have a nice day!

I'd like to see a study of how many recently drafted "tall mids" actually work out.

I feel like there's the obvious exceptions like Cripps and Bont, but in general the success rate for 6'4" or above mids isn't all that high.
was thinking the same usually they cant kick

Newchurch has a fair way to go to even be as good as Rowe imo

Are you watching Newchuch's trajectory tho.
Two seasons ago he look like he'd be lucky to even get above SANFL reserves level.

This season just gone he made a hell of a jump to being serviceable SANFL and borderline AFL at his upper level. Its strange too, because a lot of his poor performance seemed attitude related, but he came out day one of this season and looked way better from the get go. I doubt that was an attitude thing, I reckon it was more a confidence and strength thing. At least strength is very controllable, so too is attitude (work rate) (if that was the issue but I doubt it) so its likely he keeps improving.
If he improves again even half or qtr as much as he did in the last season, with his attributes of speed, speed of hand to foot and snap goal kicking proficiency, he potentially makes a deadly little forward.

This is why I think we are focussing on standard height mids. All the clubs are so obsessed with big mids, there's so much value to be had in focussing on normal mids, we've put resources into that.

TBH I'm actually fascinated about the current blend of young mids on our list. And am not against the strategy of giving them the year to further mesh.

I feel like the critical mass of games is going to see a few of these kids take that big step in 2023. Berry and Harry are the obvious candidates, but Soligo is white hot on their heels. Rotating Rachele and Rankine and maybe Taylor brings flair and footskills. And there's the wildcard in Pedlar.

And you never know about the lower totem players like Hately, Jones and McHenry. Getting closer to the delist column might actually jolt them into the footy we had all hoped for in 2019.

It's not popular, but I'm actually super excited to watch our mids develop this year. See which ones separate themselves from the group.

none of these three are playing in 2023 let alone round 1
We played & debuted both Rachele & Soligo in round 1 this season...

Perhaps 1 will play, but unlikely all 3.

From 2015 to 2020, top 30 picks, 188cm+:
Setterfield
Brodie
Lipinski
LDU
Coffield
Bonar
Brander
Constable

Tarryn Thomas
Hately
RCD
Ely Smith

Anderson
Green
Day
Bergman
Cooper Stephens
Kemp
Hollands
Stone
Fin Macrae
Brayden Cook
Poulter

Where were you on Soligo last year ol mate? Predicting him to be terrible before round 1 I suppose? What about Taylor, shouldn't have even bothered? Go back a lot of years, Laird, Sloane?? We have one of the best records, if not the best in the comp with late picks.

Soligo, Taylor, Laird & Sloane?

This is your case for why we’re the best in the comp for late picks???

Wowee. There must be drunks on barstools all over town who’ve spat out their cheap plonk reading that

From 2015 to 2020, top 30 picks, 188cm+:
Setterfield
Brodie
Lipinski
LDU
Coffield
Bonar
Brander
Constable

Tarryn Thomas
Hately
RCD
Ely Smith

Anderson
Green
Day
Bergman
Cooper Stephens
Kemp
Hollands
Stone
Fin Macrae
Brayden Cook
Poulter

So 2-3 good players and a few that aren't really midfielders. A few massive busts

One of my favorite parts of the draft period is the wrap up at completion by Ogilvie, Reid or both. I haven't seen anything yet. If any of you have I would apperchiate you either sharing it here or providing a link. Maybe it is still coming?

The longer we leave it, the more it's going to cost us as the development window will be smaller (in line with our list profile).

We will have to either cough up a decent pick in a trade or use a higher pick to draft a less speculative big man.

Or you get a ready made ruckman from a team that has excess for a 3rd rounder.

We definitely see Thilthorpe as the elite ruckman who can kick 2-3 goals when resting forward, just look at the game against Collingwood as what he can deliver leading the ruck and resting forward and Berry isn't classified as potential anymore. Gollant can actually play tall.
You didn't see what he did against Collingwood lol.

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft Discussion