• trade back in with a future second for someone else

• only take MM and keep the other spot for PSD/rookie

Results are only viewable after voting.

Our draft haul:

Pick 17 - Max Michalanney (matched F/S)
Pick 43 - Billy Dowling
Pick 50 - Hugh Bond

Rookie Pick 5 - Andrew McPherson (re-listed)
Rookie Pick 21 - Paul Seedsman (re-listed)

Where were you on Soligo last year ol mate? Predicting him to be terrible before round 1 I suppose? What about Taylor, shouldn't have even bothered? Go back a lot of years, Laird, Sloane?? We have one of the best records, if not the best in the comp with late picks.

Sloane was over a decade ago and Laird there abouts. You can't get a free ride off that forever.

none of these three are playing in 2023 let alone round 1
You couldve said the same thing about Soligo this time last year.. and been wrong.

I hope MM will get a run at some stage but wont be holding my breath given his current body shape.. he’s a bean pole. Could see him getting absolutely ragdollled at AFL level..

Dowling and Bond look more developed body wise so I wouldnt exactly be putting lines through either of them for next year.. one of them could easily suprise and do a “soligo” next season and end up getting half a dozen to a dozen games..

ROB turning 28 at the start of next year. As eveyone has already mentioned a ruck pickup would've been perfect timing. I'm super bearish on players 30 onwards. But it's likely they will play him to 31/32, so I can see their rationale that they can wait another year - not that I agree with it.

I'd suggest next year if we want a ruck, we could easily trade for one with one of our 2nds and no doubt get some reasonable change back

People rating our draft poorly (and other teams) seem to rate them because we didn't get a top 5 quality pick, when we in fact did not have a top 5 pick to use, as opposed to teams that did and were rated well
A ruck is not an immediate need
Got a big bodied mid who looks promising
Got a versatile mid sized def who is a father son
Got what i think will be a lock down defender or tagger. Yeah could've gone elsewhere here maybe
Got elite talent Rankine as well don't forget
Can't get elite mids when your best pick at the start of the draft is a 3rd rounder
Dowling’s numbers are elite at least

We basically came out of trade and draft with 2x 1st rounders Rankine / Michaelanny thanks to the Father / son rule

We are going to hit a strong draft pretty hard next year by the looks

When does Straughans contract end ? Maybe close to end of it we trade or draft in a ruck . Not sure on this one , you’d hope there is a plan

You couldve said the same thing about Soligo this time last year.. and been wrong.

I hope MM will get a run at some stage but wont be holding my breath given his current body shape.. he’s a bean pole. Could see him getting absolutely ragdollled at AFL level..

Dowling and Bond look more developed body wise so I wouldnt exactly be putting lines through either of them for next year.. one of them could easily suprise and do a “soligo” next season and end up getting half a dozen to a dozen games..
Will Day was at least as stick thin and played plenty in first year

Parnell is still built like a 14 yo and played plenty

Michaelanny is ahead of both at same age by already playing senior league footy for a good side and even reserves ‘mens’ footy

Can see him playing early if his form warrants it , can see him learning concepts of what coaches are telling him very quickly as he’s a smart player

Are you watching Newchuch's trajectory tho.
Two seasons ago he look like he'd be lucky to even get above SANFL reserves level.

This season just gone he made a hell of a jump to being serviceable SANFL and borderline AFL at his upper level. Its strange too, because a lot of his poor performance seemed attitude related, but he came out day one of this season and looked way better from the get go. I doubt that was an attitude thing, I reckon it was more a confidence and strength thing. At least strength is very controllable, so too is attitude (work rate) (if that was the issue but I doubt it) so its likely he keeps improving.
If he improves again even half or qtr as much as he did in the last season, with his attributes of speed, speed of hand to foot and snap goal kicking proficiency, he potentially makes a deadly little forward.
Hope he does make it, the more quality in the squad the better!

From 2015 to 2020, top 30 picks, 188cm+:
Setterfield
Brodie
Lipinski
LDU
Coffield
Bonar
Brander
Constable

Tarryn Thomas
Hately
RCD
Ely Smith

Anderson
Green
Day
Bergman
Cooper Stephens
Kemp
Hollands
Stone
Fin Macrae
Brayden Cook
Poulter
Yikes. That is an average at best list.
Hamish is a genius avoiding them?

the fact he will be playing is why these ones wont

We played & debuted both Rachele & Soligo in round 1 this season...

Perhaps 1 will play, but unlikely all 3.

Actually, unless any of them are smashing the door down in the Sanfl, I can see none of them getting a game. The development requirements on our list is such a fair chunk of players will be commanding positions who have had more preseasons and bigger bodies.

Hugh Bond will put most of them boys to shame, just ask the RAD Centre guys here in Ballarat..

Will Day was at least as stick thin and played plenty in first year

Parnell is still built like a 14 yo and played plenty

Michaelanny is ahead of both at same age by already playing senior league footy for a good side and even reserves ‘mens’ footy

Can see him playing early if his form warrants it , can see him learning concepts of what coaches are telling him very quickly as he’s a smart player
the fact he will be playing is why these ones wont
We tend to be very conservative when it comes to blooding our defenders.

I reacon Bond and dowling are more of a chance than MM.. but I hope we see all three..

Parnell was picked up in the MSD not the national draft in his draft year… and then wasnt given a debut for another 12 months after he’d spent more than a year playing against fully grown men in the SANFL to prove his body was up to it..

I know you have thoughts about young Bond being thought of as a back pocket, what sets him apart in your opinion having watched him from the others on our list in that regard as to why he would make a better long term option there
Played midfield all year for the GWV Rebels but obviously the VC coaches loved his defensive/tackle qualities so they played him down back on the dangerous small/medium forwards at the Nationals and he did a stellar job especially considering he was new to the role. Our guys won't have missed that because it was late in the piece that they put time into him re interviews etc.

Sloane was over a decade ago and Laird there abouts. You can't get a free ride off that forever.
If you try yourself you can get a few more. Admit we're in a bit of a lull now, but I think that was a bit of bad selection for 2-3 years there 2-4 years ago and now with the team being so young, it'll take longer for them to shine than going in to a in contention team.

Anyone over 193cm according to the old metric. Ed Allen and Henry Husthwaite this draft. Mitch Knevitt the year before. RCD in 2018, which who started the line of conversation. I'm sure there are others in the subsequent drafts but i'm too lazy to go any deeper.
Not many of those taller type mids are making it at afl level

RCD really struggled , I also saw him play VFL where he struggled

Hustwaite I see playing half back like a scrimshaw , maybe a wing

Knevitt is a watch and see

As is Allen , nice size and speed but didn’t see him use speed much in small but I saw of him

We tend to be very conservative when it comes to blooding our defenders.

I reacon Bond and dowling are more of a chance than MM.. but I hope we see all three..

Parnell was picked up in the MSD not the national draft in his draft year… and then wasnt given a debut for another 12 months after he’d spent more than a year playing against fully grown men in the SANFL to prove his body was up to it..
I’m going to say

Michaelanny 6-8 games

Dowling - 3-5 games

Bond - not next year

It’s a wild guess admittedly

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft Discussion