Preview 2022 Round 3 Carlton vs Hawthorn Sunday April 3rd 1.10PM @ MCG - Team Post #1413

I don't want to sound cocky, but why are some afraid of the Hawks in here.. sure they've started off well but they've beat a lowly North side and a injury riddled Port team who are on the slide anyways.

I see this game as a % booster. Gold Coast scares me more next week.
Think that's underselling them. The way the game is being played now suits the Hawks, the same as it suits Carlton

We've had a great start to the year, sitting pretty at 2-0 after putting away two very decent teams.

But this is the game I've said all along is the real test for us.

Not because they're also 2-0 and have started the season well, but because this is a game we deservedly enter as favourites, and a game we should be winning.

The old Carlton likely shits the bed and lets a mediocre team walk all over us. What is the new Carlton made of?

It's great to beat the teams we're not expected to. We've done that twice this year already. But it counts for little if you can't consolidate by beating the sides you should, and over the next two weeks we face sides we should be beating in Hawthorn and the Suns.

It's exciting to go 2-0 but I've kept the lid relatively in check. Win this week and I'll really believe. Walk away from the next fortnight with a 4-0 record and we're the real deal.
We’ve beaten dogs 2 (3?) times in last few years so for me beating them wasn’t a total surprise even though they are last years GFs. Their current team not too different to last few years.

However I do see the win against tigers as significant because we haven’t beaten them in a long time. I see this weeks game similarly to tigers. Hawks have had the better of us for some tine so both a physical and a mental hurdle to get over and hence another real good test.

Hawks game will be a challenging and demanding contest, have no misconceptions.
Disciplined , focused and driven young team, lead by a hard nosed champion footballer. I respect what Michell is doing quietly.
We’ll have many great contests with the Hawks over the years to come
Baggers to bring the 4 points home in a very hard fought & close contest , momentum is with us & we have superiority in skill now, our time has come.
Go Blues

We’ve beaten dogs 2 (3?) times in last few years so for me beating them wasn’t a total surprise even though they are last years GFs. Their current team not too different to last few years.

However I do see the win against tigers as significant because we haven’t beaten them in a long time. I see this weeks game similarly to tigers. Hawks have had the better of us for some tine so both a physical and a mental hurdle to get over and hence another real good test.

Both were significant wins, for different reasons. A win against Hawthorn would also be significant, but for different reasons again.

We beat Hawthorn last year so I'm not so worried that they've had the better of us in recent years - most teams have in the same time frame.

I am looking at this only from the perspective that we are now a better team than Hawthorn and should have their measure. And we should be putting them away despite their impressive start to the season.

Hawks will be a challenging and demanding contest, have no misconceptions.
Disciplined , focused and driven young team, lead by a hard nosed champion footballer. I respect what Michell is doing quietly.
We’ll have many great contests with the Hawks over the years,
Baggers to bring the 4 points home in a very hard fought & close contest , momentum is with us & we have superiority in skill now, our time has come.
Go Blues

Get on top of them early and they'll be soft as a marshmellow in no time.

Blues by 49.

We've had a great start to the year, sitting pretty at 2-0 after putting away two very decent teams.

But this is the game I've said all along is the real test for us.

Not because they're also 2-0 and have started the season well, but because this is a game we deservedly enter as favourites, and a game we should be winning.

The old Carlton likely shits the bed and lets a mediocre team walk all over us. What is the new Carlton made of?

It's great to beat the teams we're not expected to. We've done that twice this year already. But it counts for little if you can't consolidate by beating the sides you should, and over the next two weeks we face sides we should be beating in Hawthorn and the Suns.

It's exciting to go 2-0 but I've kept the lid relatively in check. Win this week and I'll really believe. Walk away from the next fortnight with a 4-0 record and we're the real deal.

The old Carlton likely shits the bed against Richmond who went up by 20 points in the last quarter and against the Dogs who got a run on...

There's a lot of old Carlton scars... one thing about old Carlton (last year anyway) for the most part (bar a few exceptions) we won the games we were expected to win and couldn't win any that we weren't expected to.

We aren't in any position to take the lid off. Even if we belt the Hawks by 10 goals... When we were in this position 10 years ago many were talking us up as flag favourites... we missed the finals...

We are not the real deal until we can finish top 4 and put in a good showing come finals.

Last year Harry was very quiet against the Hawks (shoulder injury played a part). This year I expect him to be fully firing from the get go. Charlie there as well. Our midfield should have too much class for theirs and the key forwards we have should be too much for the Hawks to handle.

So I just can't see how this game that we're expected to win is a real test. It doesn't make us look any more solid than winning against the Tigers and Dogs. Those were far more telling victories.

It's not really the one on one factor but one on ones still occur often, it's why people talk about who played on who.

What made us so good against Port was us being able to isolate one on ones, if it happens again i'd be worried Carlton wise, but it depends on pressure on the footy and whatever but still was just curious :)

Forgot Newman actually, he's not too bad.

I think you'd want Saad/Williams to be as attacking as possible so however you do that i am curious.

Idk how Gov will go on Gunston, Gunners in good form and Gov seems to run off his man, alot. From what i've watched so far.

Soooooooo you say (on your Board) :rolleyes:

Mitch Lewis to 'dominate' Weiters.

If Gov goes on Gunston, Gunston will kick 20.

You don't rate Saad & Williams defensively

Before the weekend I was more looking at this game as a test to make sure we can get up when expected to win but I don't see that as an issue now after the Hawks put away Port that will have gained them some respect and insured we don't take them lightly. Now it's more a genuine test to see if our game plan can hold up when the opposition are hunting us.

Do we give Stocker a week or two in the reserves or does he come straight back in?
100%. He's coming off a pretty long injury, 17/12/21 is when the club released the statement.

He might need more than a week or two, depending on his fitness & form. Could be a week or two managed minutes in the reserves, then put some solid form together over another week more, then he's eligible for callup.

The remnants from the 2020 game where we kicked the first 5 goals only to be steamrolled and go down by 5 goals in an insipid display after quarter time. Last year we weren't all that convincing either. I know we are looking A LOT different both in the team line up and how we are going about our football, but geez there's a lot of scar tissue amongst us supporters.
I agree there is heaps of scar tissue. Rather than deny it, wear the scars with pride, barrack hard, turn up, give them nothing.
Do you recall any oppo teams giving us a chop out?
We've been down too long to assume this will be a smooth and linear ascent.
And harking back to a previous post, its the supposedly "easier" games that you drop if you are not switched on that you curse in the run home.
We are a very different side but I need to see the plan succeed more than twice before I'm prepared to started high fiving.

Surely only change is Cerra in for someone.

Assuming Martin will come in for Fog and Cera for most likely Setters.

Setters has been doing his job so not the greatest call but there really isn't another like for like match up and Cera has to come back in.

Otherwise Cera for Fog and Martin misses out (more likely this won't happen as Martin was going ok and offers more in the front half than Fog)

Edit: As others have noted, depending on Vossy's passion for Martin (or not) he could come in for one of Owies or Durds. While both were "busy" it amounted to 1 goal and 3 tackles.

If I had to pick I would drop Owies but only because Durds has a good turn of speed, other than that I can't really separate them.

Have to say I would be reluctant to drop Setters.

Dingus of the week.

Weitering held Lynch to 1 goal (not counting the push in the back not paid in goalsquare goal.) 3marks.
Weitering held Naughton to 1 goal, 3marks.

Yet Mitch Lewis who has kicked a few against Norf and a severely undermanned Port will dominate an AA FB, LOL.

I'm not worried about our defence as we'll just play Walsh in there to bolster it. And the midfield will be super strong with Walsh in there. Up forward, we will dominate too with the help of Walsh. And if our rucks get tired, it's no worries as Walsh will handle it with ease.
Walsh to step up and coach if required.

Dingus of the week.

Weitering held Lynch to 1 goal (not counting the push in the back not paid in goalsquare goal.) 3marks.
Weitering held Naughton to 1 goal, 3marks.

Yet Mitch Lewis who has kicked a few against Norf and a severely undermanned Port will dominate an AA FB, LOL.

But but if Gov goes on Gunston, Gunston will kick 20.

I think that there are a few on here underestimating Matt Owies as a footballer, and a footballer with high I.Q.

Whilst he is not that young at 25 the bloke played serious level basketball in America till 2018. To have come from a cat b rookie at the end of the 2018 season to where he is now is a remarkable achievement. The bloke has played 16 games of AFL and all he has done is improve all of the time. Reckon that there is a fair bit more improvement in him yet and it would be a mistake to see him as a placeholder as seems to be the current group think on here.
Bang!

If Gov goes on Gunston, Gunston will kick 20.

You don't rate Saad & Williams defensively
On ML I said be dominant. Which in what I’m trying to say may not be by goals all the time but dominating him bringing it to ground all the time for example. Leading hard and finding space. Flying at marks.

I don’t relate Gov to one on ones I just don’t rate him in that way, he reads the play well but he runs off too much.

Yeah and I’d suspect you wouldn’t either to an extent. They can be good but are by far better offensive players.

Saad plays defence every week, avoid buying into the media bullshit. He's a bloody good footballer.
No doubt. I do remember him at Essendon struggling due to their gameplan but he’s a pretty smart player and knows when to go and whatever. My point was whether he and Williams should be released to attack and cut up off half back. With Doc.

Imagine being our selection committee at the moment? We have Cerra & Martin sitting on the sidelines but who do we omit? Can't say anyone actually deserves to be omitted, oh what a problem to have! we have not had this problem for a long time. Here is my crack of what we may do ..

In: Cerra, Martin
Out: Fog, Fisher

Any news on O'Mac? Hopefully he gets up, felt like we struggled down back when he went down. If he doesn't get up L. Young comes in for him.

Obviously it’s your opinion but I must have been watching another game last week if your dropping Fish.