List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread II

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

I don't care who we pick as long as we don't make another huge mistake, and continue to accumulate very poor selections.

We can't afford to waste those picks as we have done so (not all, most)

We need to get better on and off the field to move up the ladder.
Our problem has been over rating our second round picks.
Picks in that range are pretty crap historically. Like 1 in 3 play 100 games.
Yet we extend them all on pretty poor form. Hopefully we improve this with new management.

Well then it’s a no deal
Trouble is a pick between 10 and 20 takes like 7 years on average to play 20 games in a year.
It's not like for like. Clark offers us heaps more than an 18 year old will next year.
It would be 2029 before they play 20 games in a year on average. I really dont want to wait that long to improve.

I reckon I could name 5 blokes who have contracts I would prefer to lose.
Love jed he is very unlucky.

I’ll give you six:

Bonar
Ziebell
Greenwood
Mahoney
Polec
Spicer

Plus the other players who are out of contract waiting for a deal as well. Give him 2 years, he deserves it. He is a barometer for us in an age bracket we’re desperately lacking.

I’ll give you six:

Bonar
Ziebell
Greenwood
Mahoney
Polec
Spicer

Plus the other players who are out of contract waiting for a deal as well. Give him 2 years, he deserves it. He is a barometer for us in an age bracket we’re desperately lacking.

I'd add lazzaro, Edward's and comben to that list.
But yes I agree.

They rejected our f2nd in a strong draft is crazy to say no
Idk I rate clark a bit higher than that.
Not much higher but a little bit.
Say 12-18ish.
We need his kicking skills.
Second round picks are trash.
2.7 picks between 20-30 are needed to get a 100 game player. Over rated on big footy.

Say 12-18ish.
2.7 picks between 20-30 to get a 100 game player. Over rated on big footy.
Ok,
18 or no deal

Say 12-18ish.
2.7 picks between 20-30 to get a 100 game player. Over rated on big footy.
Clarks as speculative as a draft pick for mine. Has had one good season. You overrate him IMO. His kicking is good but isn’t elite. Cannot stay on the park, has question marks on his work ethic and it’s evident in his progress physically since being in the AFL system (also a credit to St Kildas VAFA standard program).

Anyway, I’m glad Noble isn’t at the club anymore. He’d be holding a gun to Bradys head to use our F1. Harley Reid for Hunter Clark ✅

Clarks as speculative as a draft pick for mine. Has had one good season. You overrate him IMO. His kicking is good but isn’t elite.

Anyway, I’m glad Noble isn’t at the club anymore. He’d be holding a gun to Bradys head to use our F1. Harley Reid for Hunter Clark ✅
Noble would have got Cordy over logue for starters.
I'm so glad he is gone.

I'm probably the only person in here that feels this way but I would trade our second and future second every year.
More for logue deals then ccj deals but I think the best value from a pick like that is senior experience like logue will bring us.
Very rarely do you get a player at pick 20 who is ready to go.

I'm probably the only person in here that feels this way but I would trade our second and future second every year.
More for logue deals then ccj deals but I think the best value from a pick like that is senior experience like logue will bring us.

You need to get your talent ID and player development up to scratch first. Sydney could build a flag side out of pick 20s.

The Doc nailed it above. Richmond another.

I'd like to preface this by saying I have absolutely no credible insight on these players at all. But I've formed a theory about players' names and the corresponding likelihood that they'll succeed. To me, Sheezel seems like the kind of name that a bust would have. Wardlaw, by contrast, is a name that I can very easily envision a highly successful player having. Cadman, I don't really feel anything either way. Other players who I've used this name theory to reasonable success with are Schache (bust), Anderson from GC, LDU, Butters, and Dow from Carlton (bust). Thanks for coming to my TED talk and I hope reading this comment makes you smarter than you were before
Sheezel… like Cheezle… a long running brand of snacks
Wardlaw sounds like a dodgy accountant that takes all your money and runs…
The big Sheeze all the way

Saints apparently rejected our offer of a f2nd.
They want a first at a minimum it seems
I would have guessed that myself

Will be interesting if we bother to persist, tbh, not a huge difference between our future 2nd and a later 1st round pick.

Assuming we plan to trade pick 1 to GWS, could probably do something like 1 plus future 2nd for 3+12+Clark and 18 going to Saints

We could probably extort a bit extra out of GWS for 1 but not really a lot, it could be a way to get Clark if we really wanted.

I am not sure if we would trade out pick 1 if we aren't getting pick 2 as part of the JHF trade.

Sheezel… like Cheezle… a long running brand of snacks
Wardlaw sounds like a dodgy accountant that takes all your money and runs…
The big Sheeze all the way
Yes, but arguably Cheezels aren't very conducive to good football, for obvious junk food reasons.

On the other hand, if Wardlaw did take your money and run, at least you'd know he's a decent athlete.

Still don't believe there is anything to be gained for North to trade our pick 1 to GWS.

It's only been done once before by Freo in 2001 and that turned out to be an abject failure. They only way that Port gets JHF is if they give us pick 2 from WC plus extra 1st minimum. Why would we entertain the prospect of picks 2 & 3 thus most likely missing out on Cadman our greatest need when we can take 1 & 2. The later picks MIGHT net us some good players but much, much less guaranteed.

Either way we shouldn't entertain trading with GWS until JHF is done. If it's not done we can still trade picks with GWS just before the draft.

I think a lot of people underrate 2nd round picks. We got Curtis and Goater with a second round pick, you could imo build a premiership team around 2nd and 3rd round picks, the problem is the miss rate is much higher.

I think our strategy is we take extreme risks with our 2nd/3rd round picks, like we pick a lot of players who they think has very high potential but take a lot of development. We've been shit at developing so we usually bust those type of players.

Like we took Spicer ahead of McCreery, he was from South Adelaide in the SANFL the draft year, 19 year old, he was 184cm 84kg, Spicer was 173cm 64kg in the U18. You can go all day looking at players you have taken and didn't take, which was a good decision, which was a bad decision, but getting someone like Spicer up so he didn't die at AFL level was going to be a significant challenge in itself. I really like the physicality and pressure from McCreery, I'd like someone able to hit the scoreboard more but he was obviously an easier guy to get up to speed at AFL level.

We've taken a lot of players who are way under weight, Lazzaro is small, Phoenix is small, Mahony is small, they have a lot of challenges just on the physical side of things. I am just wondering where our recruiters are at in their head type of thing, what makes them go for the kind of players we do, etc.

Which sets us up perfectly, say if Clarko wants Wardlaw and we know GWS want Cadman then why not trade pick 1 and get another 1st round pick (and whatever else).

Only if we have pick 2 in our possession first! Then we’re guaranteed to pick two of Wardlaw/Sheezel/Tsatas. If we trade pick 1 and don’t have pick 2 we’re just waiting for the left overs, relying on who WCE pick and would’ve diluted our pick for no reason.

I heard recently GWS are VERY keen on Humphrey. If they don’t get our pick 1 for Cadman they’re considering pulling the trigger at pick 3 as they know he won’t be there by there next pick as it currently stands. They could still trade themselves back into position with their current picks but watch this space.