List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

I agree he will go within the next 18 months but the people who hired him extended his contract and then get rid of him will still be there

A few have had a crack at me for my dislike of Leathlean but he is nothing more than upgrade of Pelchin

The board and president need to be seriously looked at too. These are the people who keep employing these frauds and allowing the footy department to operate in a completely unaccountable manner.

Ok, I was referring to Mitchell and Hardigan.

I think most fans were coming around to DeGoey. That move made a lot of sense to me.

Other things we are being linked to at the moment have me a little confused though.

Hopefully it's all talk though.

Then there is the talk about Tom Mitchell... the accumulator

If we are going all in with the retirement fund pitch to Tom Mitchell, then all wages get paid at St Kilda (plus bonuses) because of Gill got the $4.5 billion Broadcast deal and we just make up the numbers

Didn't we give up pick 6 and a couple of seconds Acres and Bruce for Paddy, Hill, Jones, Butler, and Doogs?

We only had one first rounder and got 5 players with it if I recall.

We never had problems accumulating GOPs. Instead of going to the front end of drafts where you find cream. We gave our golden ticket away to pick in the bin.

2 seasons of missing finals.

Twice we have gone missing for half a season and no one has stood up to stop the rot.

But a name gets linked for a trade and big footy freaks out.

A player gets linked to us and they won’t add any value to the list/they are trouble/cost too much

😂 😂 😂

Don’t change fellas.

10 years with one bullshit finals in an off year and still nowhere near it and the Saints still looking like we have NFI what path we're on. We look no closer to a flag than 10 year ago. Don't change Saints.

Absolutely nothing we've been linked too solves our issue..

We're playing 2016 chip chip footy in a league that requires fast ball movement and aggressive defending...

We don't have an intercept defender, and we move the ball slowly...

Should be focused on getting our game plan right rather than selling low on blokes like Clark

I think we need one more good draft year like last and then go out looking to top up again with some big names as long as we can nail those picks.

Keep the 25 and unders that are clearly best 22

Richmond managed to have some pretty good kids coming through and then had a very good draft year last year.

We have to do the hard work and stop trying to cheat the system. Someone has to sit them down and do a list assessment and commit us to a direction. We seem to flip flop by the season.

It's like DeGoey was Ratts saviour and once that didn't happen we have to start again. We had the same shit with King. Maybe if they just did the hard yards and paid up for top recruiters instead of Gubby Allen, we might start to find kids like we got last year every year. That should be normal not an exception.

There it is.

"we didn't make the 8... so let's move on players a b c and d"

Our biggest problem is Brett Ratten.

But we'll shake everything else up which will put us even further behind. Why?... because if we're making changes it shows we're doing something? Not if we're not focused on the right area.

Ratten will go eventually, it's just a matter off how much damage is done before we see the back of him.

Tired of the stupidity to be honest.
Yeah me too.
I had high hopes for this administration and it looked promising to start with but they've fumbled at critical moments and are at serious risk of imminent failure.
We look like losing some promising young players which is to be expected when you've been at the top end for some time but as a middling team it should be setting off alarm bells all over the joint.
If they mess up this off-season I'll check out or start supporting Gold Coast. We'll see.

Yeah me too.
I had high hopes for this administration and it looked promising to start with but they've fumbled at critical moments and are at serious risk of imminent failure.
We look like losing some promising young players which is to be expected when you've been at the top end for some time but as a middling team it should be setting off alarm bells all over the joint.
If they mess up this off-season I'll check out or start supporting Gold Coast. We'll see.
shocked eric cartman GIF by South Park

They've done the hard work to refresh through the draft and their recruiting staff is actual quality and not just some guy that we got out of the cleaning staff to take over the role. Other clubs create their own momentum. They were where we are now not that long ago. We have made our own bed and lie in it. No-one at the club gives a s**t about improvement. They think the fans don't care. They are wage earners who think that we are some special needs supporter group that doesn't care about being shat on.

Player movement wasn't like this back then though.

The AFL business is about so much more than getting paid.

I legitimately think we are on the verge of becoming like the NBA with very clear "small market" teams in Melbourne who's existence is to make sure there's enough games to sell for TV.

It's insane to do the ground up rebuild now. Richmond have drafted well in the last few years like Sydney did, they are now adding two star quality young mids and all of a sudden look closer than us again.

If the Saints refresh they need to get serious and trash the people that stuffed up the last one up. Cut back on numbers of footy department staff and only bring in quality. Start with a quality coach who is there to build the list properly. To me we need to get rid of just about everyone in the footy department if we start over. I'd probably boot the entire board and clean out everyone from the president down too. They've had a go but they aren't up to it.
Richmond won the flag in 2020 and finished one game behind us last year. I don't think we had whizzed past them just yet.

I legitimately think we are on the verge of becoming like the NBA with very clear "small market" teams in Melbourne who's existence is to make sure there's enough games to sell for TV.

The last 10 years has been the decade of perennial failures to rise to the top. We are the only loser that has stalled. The system is still there to equalise. Some clubs gets free hits and more than others but you can only do your best to make your own luck.

We have done everything in an unsystematic and erratic way. It doesn't look like we've ever really had a strong road map since Pelican and his was one of those kids pirate maps that Mc Donalds used to use as place mats.

Most other sides have risen and fallen and risen again before we have got out of first gear. Carlton and Essendon were both perennial failures because they refused to do it by the book and tried to buy their way out a proper rebuild. Trying to make it quick usually makes it take longer.

Selling a full rebuild would be commercially disastrous. We probably have to try to do what the Tigers have done and draft in a layer of talent then in a year or two go back to topping up.

I used to get laughed at for complaining about selling off our second round picks for years but this is the result of a side addicted to trying to fast track.

Richmond won the flag in 2020 and finished one game behind us last year. I don't think we had whizzed past them just yet.

They were in rebuild since and look like they are ready to climb, we've got tired and gone for a lie down. Sydney and Geelong have also rebuilt without having to spend years down.

King, Membrey, DMac, Steele, Crouch, Marshall, *Gresh, * Coffield, *Clark, Battle, Sinc's, * Doogs.
Potential: Windhager, Owens, *NWM, *Sharman, *Hayes.

* = Debatable for various reasons.

Looks like Long will be going otherwise he'd be in there too (with as asterisk)

The rest are chips to use. We're a middling crappy team that makes watching footy unenjoyable. If the offers are good, if they net us picks to trade up, or actual high picks then we take them. If there is a player that is worth having then we take him...but be smart about it.
No selling the farm for a magic bean.
The guys mentioned are a solid core, some of whom will be there for a proper tilt, and others that are good solid players with a bit of heart and soul about them. They can carry the torch for a little while whilst we ACTUALLY get our shit together.
Draft...key backs, and mids, and use the other drafts for state league diamond in the rough types (like we've been doing, which is commendable)
Also, I think this sign should be hanging over the door at Moorabin over the summer.
Stop the f*cking around, make better choices and win games of football.
This will pretty much summarise the whole review process and the thousands spent on it.

Who watches it outside of the southern states, nobody. So how in the hell can Melbourne have small market teams when you can’t give away tickets to gws etc. That and the not inconsiderable difference that we’re not privately owned and have a must pay of what 95% plus of the cap.

They were in rebuild since and look like they are ready to climb, we've got tired and gone for a lie down. Sydney and Geelong have also rebuilt without having to spend years down.
Sydney being able to get Mills, Heaney and Lizard while still contending helped. Half their rebuild was done before they even got down.

What they've been able to do with their 2nd rounders and rookie picks is impressive though.

We never had problems accumulating GOPs. Instead of going to the front end of drafts where you find cream. We gave our golden ticket away to pick in the bin.
Yeah that has nothing to do with the post I responded to but anything to further your insane agenda of apocalyptic doom .

Pick 6 Bruce and Acres would have had us rocketing up the charts, with Lonie at Kings feet and Austinn Logan as our fullback.

Happy days.

It’s always the same we continue to screw up off the field and it’s reflected on field. I don’t care were you look in sport the successful clubs are the well run clubs. Even money won’t win you games if you’re rubbish off the field.

gringo2011 see your man Reece Mathieson has been dropped again, not a favourite with Ratts I mean Fagan?
A year to go on his contract, would we ask the question?

Sydney being able to get Mills, Heaney and Lizard while still contending helped. Half their rebuild was done before they even got down.

What they've been able to do with their 2nd rounders and rookie picks is impressive though.

Chad Warner pick 39. Yep, they are good.

Yes they have but where are the saints? Not at afl house with facts and figures asking for a fair go. Ashcroft no worries, McKenzie jog on. They should have been there with every club and every pick via father son and academy’s arguing our case, nah looks like work.

Absolutely nothing we've been linked too solves our issue..

We're playing 2016 chip chip footy in a league that requires fast ball movement and aggressive defending...

We don't have an intercept defender, and we move the ball slowly...

Should be focused on getting our game plan right rather than selling low on blokes like Clark
Coffield.

Swans never count, they have the academy cheat code.
We need to get crafty with our own CottonOn type operation.

The introduction of the plastics absolutely rooted us. Add to that heart attacks, concussions and the sads and it’s bloody hard to be any good.

This years kids marks the first time I’ve been excited in a long time about young midfield potential.