List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

0b13ed0bc025b3c6d4ca4eb13f7fe995.jpg

Hard as nails replacement for Long who can provide some grunt on the wing. You’d think a 3rd rounder gets it done.
if they make a certain pope a saint,who covered up what we know he covered up,preached against condoms in the age of aids,promoted a boston cardinal,who covered up for 4 decades,to a cushy job in rome,to see out his working life,retirement then death,then shes a shoe in

taking the above into account,dont discount her lining up in red white and black either,the above set of circumstances make near anything possible

I think what this season showed is that Chris Scott is a fantastic coach and their coaching group are top class.

Their discipline, buy-in and intensity are all things you don’t need skill to execute. But ALL of their players do it, from the best player to the 22nd player.

Their coaching leaves us for dead. Yes, they have some brilliant and talented players. But they execute the team based skills better than any other club.

I don’t like Geelong but I greatly admire the way they play, year after year. It is driven from the coaches box.
They also have heaps of guys who've played together for years. That has to help.
We've turned over most of the list in the past three years.

Well mine were in 09 and 10, reckon last night would have been great being a Sainter.
G'day mate. Yes it was.
I enjoyed myself, met lots of interesting people, I was just sad for my partner and her Brother and several mates of mine.
They looked off/ nervous in the first few minutes, and everything Geelong did worked. Then it all turned to poo
Went to the Prelim in Sydney, and the Qualifying final in Melbourne this year both were cracking games.

For whatever reason we obviously just don't rate Clark.

Back to trade period

Clark for future 2nd and 3rd? Hard no.

Long for Bowes and 7 ( with little sweetners if need be) hard yes.
DeGoey unlikely but yes.
Hill, can stay but if we got a future second and they take his salary, fine by me.

Anyone else? Would like a key defender, and some hardness around the mids ( Step up Lenny).
More support for Max, Billings to pull his finger out.
Major improvements from Windy, Owens, Clark, Coff (injured) Gres (injured) DMAC (injured), input from Hayes (injured), support for Sincs.
Not much I know, do that and we make finals.

7 take the best mid
9 take the best mid
I was lucky enough to meet Jack Billings last weekend. He said he is recovering well from his back operation but he can’t do any running whatsoever for eight weeks - then he can get stuck into a decent pre-season. He seems like a really nice bloke. I hope he can have a bit of luck on the injury front and fulfill his potential over the next few years.

Reflecting on Hunter, I think it speaks volumes about his character that he’s requested a trade at this stage of his career. Further, from what I’ve heard from people involved with the club there’s been a lot of questions about his commitment to getting himself into AFL condition. No one doubts his skill and bravery, but he’s got the body of a 15 year old and if you want to get the best out of yourself that won’t cut it.
At the end of the day he’s also requested to go to a club that’s basically irrelevant, in the midst of potentially losing their Messiah coach, because his best mate who he has a surf with plays there. Personally I won’t be losing any sleep over him going, I’m just disappointed we wasted a pick on him.

Gags after he drops him off at Arden St.

giphy.gif

We have quite a few ITKs re the Saints, however do we have any ITKs as to which of those ITKs are really ITKs?
I am more of the IDK type lol..
However I was told a couple of stories about Saints last night.
(I just deleted one that I wrote coz my partner just reminded me that the source said don't quote me ...I am half deaf so I must of missed that caveat lol)
He also said Ratts seems to play favourites with players, which I have heard mentioned on here before, and some other things about a bit of disharmony amongst players with regards to a player I have mentioned before.
Thats all I know.
I was told by another mate on Friday that apparently K. Sheedy got a tip off about the Clarkson allegations before he announced he was choosing North's coaching job.

Thanks and this has been reported since the news broke. Clark is happy to stay, fans are happy for him to stay and if what I have been told club happy for him to stay if they can't get a really good deal for him.
Now depends what a good deal is, in isolation Norths 2nd and 3rd futures look a bad deal,.
But say we land pick 7 with the Long deal and get Bowes, we have pick 7 pick 9 and 27, this year, a first and 2 seconds and 2 3rds next year
We have currency to get say another pick in the first round this year

So let's say we have 7, 9, and 15 this year, have lost Long and Clark.

Does 3 firsts in the top 15 compensate for the poor return for Clark? To me yes, to others they will moan about what we got for Clark for sure.

I want to keep Clark BTW.

Excellent summation.

However I just have a hunch that this may jolt Clark into action. I still hope he stays.

Did they have an opinion on what caused our disastrous second half of the season?
Nope...we didn't get that far, he has a had a bit to do with Lenny H and reckons he will be a great addition to the coaching panel also spoke highly of C. Enright.
Then we started talking about lots of other stuff coz of what he did for a job, what I am doing as my hobby and how f*cked up the last fed gov. was.
Very interesting and lovely bloke.

Which ever way ‘d be insisting we either get a top 10 draft pick or he stays.
Hunter you have a year to prove your worth.
I don't think there's any way we get top ten for him.

Having said that, this second round PP idea is crap to me, unless it's part of some bigger picture deals that ultimately improve us.

Trout and Libba are both gone now so how do you propose to make them accountable?
Well dont think that's right, Gallagher joined August 2018 as list manger and i believe Trout left at end of 2018. Hill joined Saints end of 2019 for the 2020 season, the 2 people that were in charge of getting Hill were Gallagher & Leathlean

I know that everyone’s going to be hung up on wanting pick 7 to take on Bowes salary but let’s be honest I think they’re dangling that in the hope they could also get something decent in return .. obviously not the equivalent but soften the blow

They’ve got 3 second rounders …I wonder if we could have a crack at snagging 2 of them with long going the other way and we keep our second rounder that way …

Brisbane will be an interesting watch with 15 I doubt they want to keep that so having 3 second rounders could give us some room to do something with them for 15…

You’re pretty much on the money with this post
I mentioned at the start of the year players were annoyed with Ratts and how he plays favourites with a few players and few players told Ratts this in their exit interviews last year
Doesn't this happen with every coach and isn't there always a few players that feel like they are getting shafted at the selection table for the coaches favourites.

It is inevitable and true at every club as much as they say we pick on performance some players get second third and fourth chances because the coach wants them in the team and some players get marked way more harshly because the coach doesn't rate them. Happens at every level of the game.

To me selection was not an issue with us this year we picked the best team most weeks. Byrnes was not up to it when given a chance. Highmore flopped when given a chance and Bytel didn't hit his straps until the season was all but over. I wanted them to play Sharman more but that was based on last years form, this year I reckon he probably played more than his form deserved. Not sure who else had cause for complaint.

I have to call bull/hit , last year the injuries were so bad at one stage the only guys we had left in one game was Cavarino and that ruck who never played a game - so dropping Hill to bring in a complete spud would of been the same as shooting yourself in the foot.
I don't get the hate for Ratten.
Who you calling BS on ?

She's a bit conservative with her decision making, and can only play one position, but has the ability to rule the central kingdom through a long career... But its a no from me, she's a bit too much like Seb Ross and we already have a King, the only other Monarch I will accept at the saints is a second King.

How progressive of you