List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

Clearing the 800-900k a season might not be necessary but be a good benefit that we might not get the opportunity to do again.

We'll give it straight back to JDG though. Hopefully Ratts isn't gone by the end of next year and we are chasing a player like Hill for the new coach.

Precedence in these types of trades don't care that you are overrating Hill's worth or like to find excuses to sack everyone. He will got the the low amount him and his contract is worth.

I don't even know what you are saying but if these idiots have blown our 2 huge value trades, and we turn a huge suite of picks into a late 3rd rounder and pay his wage they should be moved on. You can't have it both ways. There is no other job in the world where you fundamentally stuff up your main role and get to keep your job. Part of St Kilda's issues in the last decade is that we hold staff even when it's obvious that they aren't doing it to a good enough standard.

Some expert on the radio suggested Hill to North for a token late pick and we'll pay a chunk of his salary.

Da fug?? Media treating us with disdain again. Although, our shonky trading in recent times has probably proved them correct more often than not.
Wish someone would come out and simply say that we’re open to a trade if it suits both parties. Brad is contracted and a key player for us. We’ll do what we can to accomodate a trade for him but if we can’t get fair value, we expect Brad to go away over pre season and get as fit as he’s ever been to win back his spot on the wing.

Let them know that we won’t be walked over by other teams or the player

Maybe you don't care but the players who are out there were happy to see Kent end his career reaching the 100 game milestone.

I bet they'd prefer that we were playing finals and a serious competitive side though. It's low standards stuff. Giving a guy who's played a handful of games and top up player a last game might make people happy for about 2 seconds but it would wear off very quickly. Rewarding a kid and offering hope for the future might give them a similar boost even.

We'll give it straight back to JDG though. Hopefully Ratts isn't gone by the end of next year and we are chasing a player like Hill for the new coach.
From all reports, De Goey is more likely to stay at Collingwood so how we are giving it straight to de Goey?

Even if we look to bring in a half forward/back to replace Hill's 10-20 disposals a game in 12 months time, it will be at a much cheaper rate than we are paying for now.

I don't even know what you are saying but if these idiots have blown our 2 huge value trades, and we turn a huge suite of picks into a late 3rd rounder and pay his wage they should be moved on. You can't have it both ways. There is no other job in the world where you fundamentally stuff up your main role and get to keep your job. Part of St Kilda's issues in the last decade is that we hold staff even when it's obvious that they aren't doing it to a good enough standard.
Yes we over paid for Hill 3 years ago when his output was much higher. That doesn't make his worth now more than anyone else whose large contract needs cleared. We stuffed up that trade but did a lot of other great ones in our favour that improved our list. Trades get stuffed up every year by multiple clubs yet list managers aren't replaced yearly.

Clearing the 800-900k a season might not be necessary but be a good benefit that we might not get the opportunity to do again.
The benefit of clearing his salary is being oversold imo. It will be spent on a free agent or we’ll front load a few contracts. One way or another it will be spent in line with the afl must pay % of the cap rule. It’s not going into a war chest for a rainy day that’s for sure.

From all reports, De Goey is more likely to stay at Collingwood so how we are giving it straight to de Goey?

Even if we look to bring in a half forward/back to replace Hill's 10-20 disposals a game in 12 months time, it will be at a much cheaper rate than we are paying for now.

Yes we over paid for Hill 3 years ago when his output was much higher. That doesn't make his worth now more than anyone else whose large contract needs cleared. We stuffed up that trade but did a lot of other great ones in our favour that improved our list. Trades get stuffed up every year by multiple clubs yet list managers aren't replaced yearly.

I think we are offering up big money. I can almost guarantee that we'll at least try to blow Collingwood's tight cap out of the water. This is Lethlean's pride on the line. The only reason Hill is even being considered is because they want to go all in on JDG and Ratts has a fetish for him.

We ran Hill's value down by doing what we have done with heaps of players under Ratts. We play him out of position or in ways that don't maximise performance like we did with Battle, Ross and now guys like Snags. We seem to have an issue using existing player and want to play a game style that doesn't use what we have at hand.

When he has JDG off HBF next year and he's a spud you'll be saying that selling him for 4th round pick and paying his $900k pa for 5 years is a good move.

I bet they'd prefer that we were playing finals and a serious competitive side though. It's low standards stuff. Giving a guy who's played a handful of games and top up player a last game might make people happy for about 2 seconds but it would wear off very quickly. Rewarding a kid and offering hope for the future might give them a similar boost even.
But we weren't in a position to play finals.

It is as low standards stuff to give Kent the chance to be sub to finish his career on 100 games as it would be to "reward" an extremely average half back in Connolly as sub or give it to Bytel after his lacklustre year.

The way this has been overblown as somehow impacting the future development as if two players whose form didn't warrant selection for the entire season somehow would be developing better if they got to sit on a bench in a tracksuit for half a game in a dead rubber. We got games into all the young kids whose form was good this year but someone having Bytel or Connolly sit on a bench on a Sunday afternoon would be what really give's supporters hope moving into next year.

Rivals will come hard for Essendon back-up ruckman Nick Bryan given his impressive VFL form and Sam Draper’s emergence as the clear No. 1 ruck at the Dons.

Clubs looking for ruckmen across the competition will find them in short supply as they await word about the intentions of Brodie Grundy, who has been linked to multiple clubs including Melbourne, GWS and Geelong.

Bryan played five AFL games this year but averaged 100 ranking points, 32 hitouts and eight hitouts to advantage in the Essendon VFL.

St Kilda is one of many clubs keen to secure a ruck-forward with Bryan, the No. 38 pick in the 2019 draft, contracted but with strong interest.

GWS is not sure if either of Keiren Briggs or Matt Flynn will turn into an A grade ruckman as they work through their list requirements, with Braydon Preuss enduring another topsy-turvy year.

It means clubs will consider whether they can drag Fremantle’s Lloyd Meek, Sydney’s Joel Amarty and Hayden McLean and Bryan from their clubs.

What it could take to get Brad Hill to Roos?

Brad Hill is keen for a new start in part to reunite at North Melbourne with Alastair Clarkson but also to play in a position that maximises his strengths.

The Herald Sun revealed last week Hill had been in regular contact with his former coach Clarkson about a move to the Roos in what would effectively form a salary dump.

Hill believes his talents haven’t been utilised as best they could playing half back and half forward.

And there remains some discontent about the events of the round 15 game which he missed through personal issues, with the club denying it was connected to him being at a Mordialloc pub that weekend.

St Kilda great Nick Riewoldt said on Fox Footy last week a deal where St Kilda got a mid-30s pick and paid around $300,000 of his $800,000-plus salary would be a fair swap.

Alternatively the Roos could pay more of the deal — he has three more seasons left — but only hand back a late pick.

St Kilda is being urged by past players to consider all scenarios, including even putting Jade Gresham on the table to see what rivals might throw at an injury-prone player who has managed only 32 games in the past three years.

Any danger of helping us out Nick

“It’s a first rounder or nothing, he’s contracted and probably just needs to go away in the off season and out in the work”

Our trading has been fine but we are slowly destroying the guys we took.
Snags, Jones, Hill and Butts are now all shadows of the players we recruited. Doogs probably isn't as good either.
Maybe we recruited players who weren’t that good or weren’t suited to our needs.

I think we are offering up big money. I can almost guarantee that we'll at least try to blow Collingwood's tight cap out of the water. This is Lethlean's pride on the line. The only reason Hill is even being considered is because they want to go all in on JDG and Ratts has a fetish for him.

We ran Hill's value down by doing what we have done with heaps of players under Ratts. We play him out of position or in ways that don't maximise performance like we did with Battle, Ross and now guys like Snags. We seem to have an issue using existing player and want to play a game style that doesn't use what we have at hand.

When he has JDG off HBF next year and he's a spud you'll be saying that selling him for 4th round pick and paying his $900k pa for 5 years is a good move.
Sounds like Hill is considering moving because he wants to move, not because of some De Goey fetish.

Hill hasn't played on the wing because he tried that for 18 months and he didn't impact games. Just like anyone else, he needed moved for the betterment of the other 21 players on the field. He is cant handle that the rest of the side cant accommodate him not performing his best, then it is for the best that he leaves.

Would Clarkson really want Hill at North- his best footy was before he came to the Saints, and Clarko would be looking at building a new team around young talent.
Clarkson built hawthorn around Hodge and Mitchell who were already 5 years in.
And Buddy, Rough, Lewis, Birchall and Sewell who were already there too.

First point of business once given a say was trading in Burgoyne and Gibson.
Forever trading in senior players from that point.

He’s already flagged bringing senior players at north.

But we weren't in a position to play finals.

It is as low standards stuff to give Kent the chance to be sub to finish his career on 100 games as it would be to "reward" an extremely average half back in Connolly as sub or give it to Bytel after his lacklustre year.

The way this has been overblown as somehow impacting the future development as if two players whose form didn't warrant selection for the entire season somehow would be developing better if they got to sit on a bench in a tracksuit for half a game in a dead rubber. We got games into all the young kids whose form was good this year but someone having Bytel or Connolly sit on a bench on a Sunday afternoon would be what really give's supporters hope moving into next year.

It at least shows that we are preparing for next year and raring to go. We look like we just piss around with no standards generally. If I was them I'd be so mortally embarrassed that I'd be keen to show we take the whole thing seriously. I'd be making a show of how remorseful and serious that we are and making moves to improve.

You can still bring them on at the end of the game to carry them off. It's more of a show of how we care about looking like nice guys than playing good footy.

Maybe we recruited players who weren’t that good or weren’t suited to our needs.

I think we send them backwards due to theme plan. The forward line is seriously dysfunctional. Ratts seems to get players near to broken then moving them back to where they play well.

Clarkson built hawthorn around Hodge and Mitchell who were already 5 years in.
And Buddy, Rough, Lewis, Birchall and Sewell who were already there too.

First point of business once given a say was trading in Burgoyne and Gibson.
Forever trading in senior players from that point.

He’s already flagged bringing senior players at north.
Would you build a team around Hodge and Mitchell and those others as younger guys back then, or around the Hill of 2022 who is near the end of his career?

Just saying, Clarko has always been more into trading senior guys than hitting the draft early.

Already plenty at north he will build around.
McKay, xerri, LDU, jhf if he stays, larkey, Simpkin, zurhaar.

Maybe our skills, coaching and culture aren't as good as at Richmond, Sydney, Port.
Maybe just maybe they looked better in better teams. There has been any number of good ordinary players who looked pretty good only to be found out without great players around them at other clubs. Higgins had lynch, Riewoldt and a cast of many VG players around him, butler the same thing. Hill years at hawthorn and so on, great teams don’t often loose players they want to keep.

Wish someone would come out and simply say that we’re open to a trade if it suits both parties. Brad is contracted and a key player for us. We’ll do what we can to accomodate a trade for him but if we can’t get fair value, we expect Brad to go away over pre season and get as fit as he’s ever been to win back his spot on the wing.

Let them know that we won’t be walked over by other teams or the player
This is what I'm sick of, it always feels like the expectation is on us to be accomidating, whether it is paying overs or letting somone go for unders. And they want us to have both paid overs for Hill and now to let him go for unders? Stuff that.