List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III

Clark and 9 for 3 is an appalling deal.

Two first rounders for one. Fair dinkum what a bunch of absolute spanners.

Thank god Norf were even stupider than us not to take it.

Hmm wonder why they are last while we are permanently 10th. Both spud clubs.
Agree, but i think there is an expectation we get 2 of 3 of Cadman, Sheezer and Wardlaw after we got pantsed by Port (again) . Clarke would be great but we dont have the currency if we intend going to the draft with 2 and 3.

Really hope someone takes the keys off Brady before he does something silly.

Package up Billings, Clark, Hill & pick 9 for Jed Anderson, & picks 2 & 3

5:35pm - What Saints said about Clark earlier

Saints list boss James Gallagher said earlier this afternoon he “expects” Hunter Clark to stay at the club.
“We’ve had a number of conversation with Hunter over the last couple of weeks in particular and fully expect him to stay at the Saints at this stage,” Gallagher said late on the final day of Trade Period.
“We’ve had a conversation with North, but it feels like we want to keep him. We want to keep investing in Hunts.
“He’s had a bit of bad luck the last couple of years; there’s a really talented player in there, we want to explore that.
“We’re going to need something significant in a trade for hm and that doesn’t feel like that’s going to be part of what happens in the next few hours.”
Clark has managed just 68 games in the past five seasons after struggling with injury, including two sickening head clashes.

Absolutely wouldn't be okay with giving up next years first. Could be from pick 3 to pick 12 in a much stronger draft. Could easily see us having another poor year and going backwards, and in that case we've just traded Clark and a top 5 pick for pick 3

Saints list boss James Gallagher said earlier this afternoon he “expects” Hunter Clark to stay at the club.
“We’ve had a number of conversation with Hunter over the last couple of weeks in particular and fully expect him to stay at the Saints at this stage,” Gallagher said late on the final day of Trade Period.
“We’ve had a conversation with North, but it feels like we want to keep him. We want to keep investing in Hunts.
“He’s had a bit of bad luck the last couple of years; there’s a really talented player in there, we want to explore that.
“We’re going to need something significant in a trade for hm and that doesn’t feel like that’s going to be part of what happens in the next few hours.”
Clark has managed just 68 games in the past five seasons after struggling with injury, including two sickening head clashes.

Is that the state of play before Barrett and Twomey broke talks are happening?

WHY SAINTS DECIDED AGAINST GRUNDY PLAY

St Kilda considered making a play for traded Collingwood ruckman Brodie Grundy before deciding to install Rowan Marshall as the club’s No.1 ruck for the foreseeable future.

Ruckman Paddy Ryder has retired and the Saints decided they would prefer to lock in a partnership between Ryder and key forward Max King instead of bringing in the dual All-Australian.

They were unapologetic about their quiet trade period, adamant they wouldn’t go “throwing draft picks (and) money out just to finish sixth”.

They signed lockdown defender Zaine Cordy (Western Bulldogs) as a free agent, who could free up Callum Wilkie to play on a third tall forward and take more intercept marks.

Cordy will also help shelter the Saints’ baby key defenders before they are ready for the rigours of regular AFL football.

List boss James Gallagher said supporters, who would have to be in their late 50s to have seen the club’s only premiership in 1966, wouldn’t mind waiting another 12 months to ensure the Saints spiked sharply.

“There’s a real sense of urgency at our footy club to get better and go up the ladder. But we’re not trying to go up the ladder to finish sixth,” Gallagher said.

“We want to be a team that plays at the real pointy end of the year. If that takes a year longer, that’s OK.

“Our supporters are unbelievably patient. They’re passionate, they are loyal and they are patient.”
Gallagher said most of the club’s improvement in 2023 would come from their nucleus who missed large chunks of the year through injury.

Top-10 picks Jack Billings and Hunter Clark played just eight games while captain Jack Steele missed a month mid-season.

“All I know is we’ve got a number of good players that we didn’t get a lot out of in 2022 primarily through injury that are going to come back into our side in 2023,” Gallagher said.

“So there’s a lot of growth there. We played some pretty good footy in the first half of the year. We played some pretty ordinary footy in the second half of the year.

“We’re not miles off.”

The Saints had a red-hot crack at free agent Jordan De Goey, but after missing out Gallagher said: “We’re not just going to throw money at getting other players in or another player that becomes available. We’ve got to be really strategic about that”.

Gallagher said picks in the top 25-30 – and the first six – were being tightly held, but he was content with the draft hand and backed recruiter Chris Toce to nail the talent call.

The Saints hold picks 9, 28, 32 and 47.

“We might have a pick inside 10 and then a couple of picks in the second round, which based on what I’ve seen of this year’s draft, that’s a pretty good hand,” he said.

Don't know but if we give them anything else along with pick 9 and Clark for pick 3 then we're getting absolutely reamed.

That deal already values him as low as pick 25, the more we add the worse that value gets.
Draft points mean nothing

As has been said a number of times, no side would be stupid enough to trade 3 for 9 and 25

You'd need a pick around the 12 mark for any team to even consider that, especially in this draft

Would rather give them pick 9 instead of pick 6
I would rather tell them to phuk off to Tassie & stop annoying us.

Agree, but i think there is an expectation we get 2 of 3 of Cadman, Sheezer and Wardlaw after we got pantsed by Port (again) . Clarke would be great but we dont have the currency if we intend going to the draft with 2 and 3.

Really hope someone takes the keys off Brady before he does something silly.
lol - it's a cripple fight between Brady and Gags. Both sets of supporters sphincters are as tight as drums at the moment awaiting the inevitable from our recruiters.

Then they offer to package him up with 9 for 3. If true, it's ludicrous

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III