Resource 2023 AFL Draft Discussion...

Anyone know about this 207cm player from a basketball background - Taylor Goad - who can run 2.92sec and is built like a brick shithouse from SA.

Has not played any AFL yet but all clubs are keen according to report on 5AA.

Is he available as a category B player or does he need to be older than 18 to qualify?

Looks like he will play for South Adelaide this year, which would mean he would need to go through the draft as soon as plays one game
One of the qualifications for Cat.B selection is:

* has not registered in an Australian Football competition for three years immediately before inclusion on the Rookie List;

So he probably flunks that requirement.

Are we allowed 3 cat Bs?
Five-minit-fireman says no but as it's Kornes, take it with a grain of salt...

w-shutterstock-com-25680233-white-salt-crystal-rock-e-jpg.911645

Jeffcrowe Danger in Texas WaynesWorld19

My boy Kane looking good, the big bodied left footed midfielder we need? Clayton Oliver perhaps ;)
Something about us Port Augusta blokes LOL.
Kane's underselling his sporting abilities at both cricket and basketball too.
Already training with us throughout the season and has come through our junior Academy.

Pt Augusta huh ? .....they've produced some good footballers

Where's Mcauliffe go in the draft ....range, 10-20, 20-30 ?

Looks and speaks a little like Bernie Vince

Jeffcrowe Danger in Texas WaynesWorld19

My boy Kane looking good, the big bodied left footed midfielder we need? Clayton Oliver perhaps ;)
Something about us Port Augusta blokes LOL.
Kane's underselling his sporting abilities at both cricket and basketball too.
Already training with us throughout the season and has come through our junior Academy.

Yep I really like his fit for us. Need someone who really takes advantage of their height and size in the contest

I think now he's got his groins right it will be an upward trajectory so you'd definitely think 1st round would be in his sights.
I'm listening ATM .....sounds like he has some work to do on his tank, by-product of the groins probably

Anyone know about this 207cm player from a basketball background - Taylor Goad - who can run 2.92sec and is built like a brick shithouse from SA.

Is he available as a category B player or does he need to be older than 18 to qualify?

Looks like he will play for South Adelaide this year, which would mean he would need to go through the draft as soon as plays one game

There's this one I saw on AFL site, could people be getting their wires crossed?

Might be some good ruck options in the draft these forthcoming couple of drafts. Maybe that's why we stayed out of it last draft?

There's this one I saw on AFL site, could people be getting their wires crossed?

Might be some good ruck options in the draft these forthcoming couple of drafts. Maybe that's why we stayed out of it last draft?
different players Carmo

2023 AFL National Championships – U18 Boys​

Teams: Allies (comprising ACT, New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland and Tasmania), South Australia, Victoria Country, Victoria Metro and Western Australia

DATEHOME TEAMAWAY TEAMVENUE
Sun, June 4South AustraliaAlliesThebarton Oval, SA
Sun, June 11South AustraliaVictoria MetroThebarton Oval, SA
Sun, June 11AlliesWestern AustraliaThebarton Oval, SA
Sun, June 18Victoria CountrySouth AustraliaIKON Park, VIC
Sat, June 24Western AustraliaSouth AustraliaOptus Stadium, WA
Sat, July 1Western AustraliaVictoria CountryTBC, WA
Sun, July 2AlliesVictoria MetroBrighton Homes Arena, QLD
Sun, July 9Victoria MetroWestern AustraliaRSEA Park, VIC
Sun, July 9Victoria CountryAlliesRSEA Park, VIC
Sat, July 15Victoria CountryVictoria MetroIKON Park, VIC

I've not seen a fixture so open before.

When was the last time the fixturing wasn't so boxed in?

I know this kid from basketball. Big lump.
Not the most coordinated you will see, but not the worst either.

Why, Lucas and Rory are both brothers of our players...

Lucas has already played 6 senior games for the Shepparton Swans in 2022 after tearing up at underage levels. ...

Lucas has a twin Isaac too who broke his leg last season and he's supposed to be quite talented as well, strangely Lucas broke his leg the season before, they also have a couple of cousins Liam Rachele and Christian Georgiou that go alright too up there apparently
Of all the families to hitch our recruiting wagon onto. The Rachele's is 1 I can certainly get on board with.

I'll keep an eye on them

No mostly forward thus far, Ryley Sanders looks a dead ringer for JHF out there, same blong locks and burst.

Sam is a Stingray, they play Sunday.

Sorry thought you were talking Watson, yeah Ryley is playing mid with Levi Ashcroft
Ahh got it mixed up re: Frangalas, my bad

Good stuff re: Ryley, reckon he's a sneaky chance to go high if he can produce as one of the main cogs in that Dragons midfield

Eastern vs Sandy

Watson had a pretty good game. When he went into the mid he had some nice moments including a smooth clearance where he was able to have a bounce and put it i50.

I50 u don't want to fumble within his vicinity, he just pounces on u. My only concern with Watson is his height. He gets away with it at Coates level by dropping his knees to get high tackles. He does get a lot of free kicks that are questionable. At AFL he wont get away with that. Having said this he makes things happen. His pressure acts are good and he looks like his fitness has improved. And he's only one of a few in the entire comp that can run and bounce at speed. Still sits at around the 12-15 mark for me, but thats not a bad thing.

Watson, Anderson, Weatherall and Smillie were Easterns best.
Watson - as above
Smillie - kicked a ripper goal on the run from outside 50. He's a big kid that will push for #1 in 2024. A little slow but gets away with it with his skills and decision making. He went off with cramp, but thats because he works really hard (quite a few went down with cramp)
Anderson - The kid is a ball magnet. He doesn't posses a lot of speed but he's a pure footballer. Some of his decision making today was questionable but more often than not he makes good decisions. Not sure where he sits for 2024 just yet
Weatherill had a purple patch in Q3 kicking 3 snags. He looked dangerous all day taking some really strong contested grabs. He kicked the ball really well today, probably the best game I have seen him play. He showed some nice athletic traits today as well. Another one to watch that has the ability to be a high draft pick. But consistency has been his problem in the past.
Cooper Trembath took some really impressive contested defensive grabs. But he also dropped some grabs he should have taken. Kicking is not his strong suit but he's one I will continue to track.
Nyko was ok out of defence. His numbers maybe inflated due to taking kick ins. He does some really nice things but has a habit of turning the footy over.

Riley Sanders was bog up until HT, but was a little less noticeable in H2. He looks at home in the mid and won a heap of the footy. His decison making and skills are good. He kicked a nice goal in Q2, slick movement. He moved well out of congestion and I reckon he maintained his spot in the top 20.
Charlton Harrop had some nice moments. He didn't waste too many opportunities in front of goal kicking 2 snags in Q2.
Ashcroft hit the scoreboard with arguably goal of the year and he also had the best point celebration :) The kid can play. U can see the same traits that Will has in him. He kicked the ball well today and is always looking to involve his teammates.
Cooper Lord, I liked his game. A really consistent 4 quarter game. He's hard at it, used the ball well and was able to get into some good spots. One to watch.
Archie Perkins like Nyko kicks in a lot so his numbers maybe inflated. Perkins got a lot of HB receives but he does use the ball and is trustworthy. I do like his traits and can see why he is regarded as late rnd1 or rnd2 pick. Some kids just standout and he's one those.
Taj Hotton could be my new favourite Sandy player. His hops were on show today with a nice pack mark and almost mark of the year. He showed a bit of his speed today and for a bottom ager he made really good decisions.
Special mentions (all had moments that were noticeable) - Harvey Johnston 2 goals, Billie KcGee, Justin Krok, Calsher Dear & Will Brown

Harley Reid trying to do too much and not showing the Rebels mids enough respect in the 1st quarter.''Rebels up by 3 goals.
I watched the last 3 quarters. I think Bendigo tried him everywhere but he he can't be everywhere at once. Leave him fwd I say. That's where he looks dangerous. Pinch hit in the mid. High HF is his go. He'll kick another tonne playing fwd. Today in the mid he looked slow and lost. Just my opinion. Still easily the #1 pick.

Resource 2023 AFL Draft Discussion...