PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 0
The Golden Ticket - MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
Also, we were bad the GC/GWS compromised draft years.Yep, same as when we had the number 1 pick in 2020 and it was the 1 year when there was no elite mids available.
Walsh, Rowell, Anderson, JHF were available the years before and after our draft. The highest rated mids in our year were Will Phillips and Holland's who are nowhere near the quality of the above guys.
I agree but it doesn’t look like there’s much talent we can get this yearWe need talent now.
Not next year. Not in 2025… NOW.
If we dont make the 8 next year then nicksy, roo and half their henchmen are goorrne..
They simply cannot survive yet another year without finals. You could actually argue they shouldnt have survived this year.
If we do make the 8, then our future 1st will be outside the top 10… and Tyler is looking like a top 10 prospect at this stage.
So.. if you are Nicksy and co, what are you thinking right now?..
I know what I’d be thinking..
“All in”
There’s little to no point loading up on next year.. when it could simply have us having to trade back out of it again if tyler has a big year..
Then we end up kicking the can further down the road.
Once again.. we find ourselves in a ****ed position!..
What may happen is welsh does kick on next year but if the depth of top end mids is as others have mentioned, it might mean welsh drops down the order unless he truly dominates the U18's..therefore getting in before he is projected to go may alliw us to grab one or 2 of these mids and get welsh. It will be interesting to see how our team handle things this off seasonok so please tell me if i've got this correct;
next year, we will probably have to match a high bid on a full forward, may have to match on another Michelanney....and the draft is dripping with quality mids...
And this year, we HAVE a decent draft hand, and there's no good mids around our pick and/or they're all from tassie or academy.
I know but he just looked slow yesterday but if he was injured no surprise. Probably shouldn't have played.Welsh ran a 2.9 20m at preseason testing so he most definitely is not slow, far from it
If push comes to shove, let him go and draft an elite mid.ok so please tell me if i've got this correct;
next year, we will probably have to match a high bid on a full forward, may have to match on another Michelanney....and the draft is dripping with quality mids...
And this year, we HAVE a decent draft hand, and there's no good mids around our pick and/or they're all from tassie or academy.
We probably would've lost Toby to a Melbourne club along the same lines as DangerfieldYou know what's sad?
In 2011 we should have had pick 4 but ended up with pick 10, which we traded to get Brad Crouch.
Pick 11 was Toby Greene.
Our club was a train crash during those yearsGWS managed to retain him
First three years at GWS Greene won 7 games and lost 46.Our club was a train crash during those years
Davis, Cameron, Lever, Dangerfield
My guess is more Vic clubs would've been going a whole lot harder after Greene than at least 3 of players. And certainly a lot harder than any of them went after Sloane
Caddy Wilson maybe Windsor deammata I like wa kid r naked 19 by call but forgotten his name think be ripper and hopefully Moir just talent in spadesSo if we end up with picks 9 and 10 in the open draft, who de we take?
I like DeMattia’s profile. But is he too similar to Pedlar and Berry (bash and crash). Or does he have pace to burn?Caddy Wilson maybe Windsor deammata I like wa kid r naked 19 by call but forgotten his name think be ripper and hopefully Moir just talent in spades
be happy with wilson and leakeSo if we end up with picks 9 and 10 in the open draft, who de we take?
he's hamish style i reckon, bit more speed than berryI like DeMattia’s profile. But is he too similar to Pedlar and Berry (bash and crash). Or does he have pace to burn?
caddy too similar to welsh, possible but i doubt itCaddy Wilson maybe Windsor deammata I like wa kid r naked 19 by call but forgotten his name think be ripper and hopefully Moir just talent in spades
spot on re RogersI'm sold on Caleb Windsor .....IMO has real upside, and a great combination of skills we need
Would have loved Jake Rogers .....so clean with his hands ...and smart !
Speculation that if WB get pick 4 then 10 goes to GCS who on trade itcaddy too similar to welsh, possible but i doubt it
where this pick 10 chat from anyway?
Would you take him at our first?More Pedlar than Berry, Harry has genuine top end burst speed...Accelaration for a mid is probably more important than straight line speed not that DeMattia lacks either on that score.
I agree with your thoughts, except DemattiaMid/Forward Darcy Wilson and KPP Connor O'Sullivan both have plenty of talent and should be around our pick, even Caleb Windsor though he's very outside so wing might be as close to the midfield as he gets, this is the best draft for potential athletic rucks that I've ever seen, most who will a chance to be there at our 2nd picks. Harry DeMattia another that suits our needs, utility james Leake goes alright too.
Nah ! .....again you get too wrapped up in under-age form / role .....I look more at AFL skill-sets & rolesHe's outside as they come...wingman, won't have the time and space at AFL level he has at U18's level to set up his kicking.
He’s very classy but very outside !I agree with your thoughts, except Demattia.....but I think you're seriously under-valuing Caleb Windsor ....because he has great speed, doesn't automatically label him as an outside player .....If you like, Windsor has the capability of being a Will Day type player
Very low percentage of contested ball , just makes him more a risk as a 1st rounder compared to others . That’s just a factNah ! .....again you get too wrapped up in under-age form / role .....I look more at AFL skill-sets & roles
He's tougher than you think
TWT JeffHe’s very classy but very outside !
My main concern with him is there ain’t too many pure wings at U18 level that make it at AFL level
NWM is one , it’s more rare than common. Alot of the time they end up playing half back roles at afl level
I like him more as early 2nd round pick